We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen and Steve - fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Dunhallin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunhallin House
Ranked #9 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Karen and Steve - fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Dunhallin Guest House for a week, it was the best guest house we have ever stayed in! The room was beautiful and a massive comfortable bed. The room was modern and very clean, all those little touches to make it a good stay like little complimentary shower gels, shampoo and soaps etc. Tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and soft fluffy pure white towels. Breakfast choice wide and all the food very tasty! Margaret was so warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble whenever we asked for help or information! I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Inverness and will be going back myself! Thank you Margaret and Sandy, and for all the laughs we had!

Room Tip: Ask for room one, it is the biggest room, with a TV area and sofa and the only room with a bath, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review. We are happy the you enjoyed your stay here with us at Dunhallin. I enjoyed our little chats each morning they always put a smile on my face. Sandy and I really appreciate people taking the time to write reviews. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    42
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
246
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came from the airport in Edinburgh late at night for a 2 night stay in july.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and cofortable. Our host friendly and welcoming.
The breakfast was the best on our Scotland vacation this time.
We can higly recommend Dunhallin House and a visit to Inverness.
We will surely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks very much for the review. We very much appreciate it and are glad you found your stay enjoyable.
Thanks again,
Margaret & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just made our first visit to Inverness where we spent the weekend. This B&B is a lovely place to stay. We were given a very warm and friendly welcome from Margaret. The room was immaculate, all ensuite and have everything you need. The brekkies are fab with loads to eat. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your first, but hopefully not last, visit to Inverness. If you do plan subsequent visits, we'd love to welcome you back to Dunhallin.
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dunhallin House for seven nights. We equate this facility to a luxury hotel with first class service. Extremely clean, comfortable, spacious, and modern. Sandy and Margaret were gracious hosts and delightful people who made us laugh everyday. Dunhallin House is ideally located to the primary road systems out of Inverness for all points North and South into the famed Scottish Highlands. Additionally, great restaurants with outstanding food are located nearby. Walking into town takes one through a delightfully quiet, beautifully flowered, and wonderfully fragrant neighborhood. If driving into town is preferable, evening parking is always available. Margaret and Sandy's breakfasts are exceptionally delicious and will undoubtedly fill the hungriest tummies to capacity. If you visit Inverness, this is the place to stay. My heartiest thanks to Margaret and Sandy for making our visit to Inverness such an outstanding and memorable experience. The Jones' from Chugiak, Alaska

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskatraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Many, many thanks for your generous and comprehensive review which is very much appreciated.It's always satisfying to learn that guests enjoyed their stay with us and we're glad you had a good time. Thanks very much for chatting and exchanging stories; it was a pleasure.
Many thanks for choosing Dunhallin as your holiday base. Please come again if you ever have the opportunity to visit Scotland in the future.
Sandy & Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for one night at this guest house, after flying into Inverness en route to Dornoch for a wedding. The room was small but perfectly formed and absolutely spotless. Loved the fluffy white towels in the bathroom and these were just one of the high quality furnishings in the room.

A very warm welcome from Sandy who pointed out that we should help ourselves to the "wee dram" set out in the hallway. Fresh milk was provided with the tea and coffee in the room which made a nice change to the usual UHT cartons.

Another warm welcome from Margaret who served a delicious breakfast in the morning which again was plentiful and very good quality ingredients.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - it was like a home from home, You could come and go as you please and Inverness city centre was five minutes down the road.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely from what we could see - we had room 3, and although on a road extremely qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Many thanks for your very generous review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Dunhallin and hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding.
Best wishes,
Margaret & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Comfortable and spacious room that was well furnished and very clean. Ideal base for touring the area. Margaret and Sandy are lovely people who are only too pleased to help in any way they can. Good food and great hospitality during our three night stay. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldshedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind comments. We're delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Margaret & sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This B &B is on the outskirts of Inverness and although within walking distance it is still about 20-25 minutes trek from the centre of town. The location itself is in a quiet side road off the main road, having its own parking. Five good sized bedrooms are comfortably fitted out with good amenities' and are well serviced.

The breakfast was not as good as some that I have experienced in this part of the world with the cooked breakfast a mixture of good quality items with some that are less so. The pastries on offer were unappetising and the provision of other items were of a convenience nature rather than fresh produce.

The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful making for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay at Dunhallin and, overall, enjoyed the experience.
I'm sorry you were not completely happy with the breakfast. We do our best to provide an appetising breakfast choice and vary the items on offer as much as practicable so that guests staying for several days have some variety. During a recent no-notice inspection by Visit Scotland, in May 2013, the inspector upgraded our breakfast provision to "Excellent".
Thanks for choosing to stay at Dunhallin; I hope you will visit again when in Inverness.
Sandy Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhallin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhallin House

Property: Dunhallin House
Address: 164 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunhallin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunhallin House is a newly refurbished, child-free, 4-star guest house set in the heart of the city of Inverness. Our aim is to deliver exceptional service in comfortable and relaxing surroundings and to ensure our guests feel they are visiting a 'home from home'. Rooms are en-suite with TV, DVD player & hair dryer. Free internet access. A comfortable lounge is available with books, games and magazines. Ample off-street parking, drying facilities, locked cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dunhallin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhallin House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing