We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room more like a boutique hotel than a b&b!”
Review of Dunhallin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunhallin House
Ranked #6 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great room more like a boutique hotel than a b&b!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in the double ensuite room with living area for two nights. Very plush modern and comfortable.
Service was very friendly and breakfast amazing.
Will defo stay here again when back I'm inverness

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    41
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
228
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

First time I've stayed in a B&B and admit it felt a wee bit odd to begin with but the lady who owns it was lovely and welcoming. After reading all the reviews I wanted to love it and I'm sure I would have but our bed was so uncomfortable that my boyfriend and I hardly slept a wink between us which made us very sleepy and grumpy.

It's also a fair trek into town (45 mins or so) but it doesn't claim to be city centre so can't really complain.

My boyfriend had the 'Highland' breakfast and was suitably full for most of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S-M2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Totally delightful stay-wish it could have been longer. Friendly, spotless, comfortable, charming decor. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Fantastic guest house with a great homely feel. Room was brilliant but in the morning I did notice the bathroom was a little colder than I would normally like but that's just being over critical. The guest house owner Margaret was very friendly and made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. The breakfast was awesome!!! Large choice of DVDs stored in the hallway which can be viewed in the comfort of your own room. Tricky parking at times but managed to park on all occasions. Safe area that's for sure as I left car window down all night and car was not tampered with. I would certainly recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here in Sept 2011, arriving after a long tiring (but beautiful) train journey from London. Margaret is very friendly and made us feel at home. The room itself felt more like a flat - nice and big, velux windows, etc. Good veggie breakfast, good telly in the room, nice selection of dvds to use. Gay friendly. We'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Dunhallin Guest House in Inverness was very comfortable, provides first class amenities and breakfast was excellent and varied. The only shortcoming for this guest house is its location, which requires a short drive to reach the town center of Inverness. Driving into town requires finding parking places, which in the center of Inverness is not always easy. If I were to stay in Inverness again, I would look for a place more centrally located where I could walk to restaurants and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckvjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconara Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Simply amazing! we loved everything; the room, nice and clean, was very comfortable. the breakfast was rich and very good. The service was excellent and the hosts Margaret and Sandy were helpful and friendly. Seems to stay at home, with all things that you need. Free parking available, with Inverness centre 5 min by car. We strongly recommend this place to everyone! Thanks to Margaret and Sandy.

Fabio & Giulia from Italy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FABIO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhallin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhallin House

Property: Dunhallin House
Address: 164 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunhallin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunhallin House is a newly refurbished, child-free, 4-star guest house set in the heart of the city of Inverness. Our aim is to deliver exceptional service in comfortable and relaxing surroundings and to ensure our guests feel they are visiting a 'home from home'. Rooms are en-suite with TV, DVD player & hair dryer. Free internet access. A comfortable lounge is available with books, games and magazines. Ample off-street parking, drying facilities, locked cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dunhallin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhallin House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing