We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathness House
Ranked #21 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were a bit surprised at how easy Strathness House was to find. Once there we were warmly welcomed by our host Javed. Our room overlooked the river and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, great variety. Most sites withing walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 467 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the service. Stayed 3 nights and had wonderful breakfasts + packaged cookies in the room every day. Found the room somewhat smaller than we expected and no elevator in the building. All in all a good experience - we may stay there if we end up in Inverness again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What can one say about this guest house that hasn't already been said time and time again.
It has been almost if not already 4 years since my last visit to Inverness and this quaint guest house on the River Ness. When I knew I was able to get away for a bit I knew my first choice was Inverness as location and The Strathness Guest House as choice of accommodation.

Four years ago (2010) is when I wrote my last review for this guest house praising every aspect of the guest house, from the accommodation and tasteful decor and quaint quiet charm, to the staff and owners hospitality, to the quality and quantity of the breakfast to the overall location where the guest house is located and the spectacular views and transport and walking distances from it to the main shopping thoroughfare.

That was then and can with all honesty, integrity and heartfelt sincerity guarantee you that today in 2014 (four years later) not one aspect has changed.

It is still the same spectacular little guest house that it was in 2010, the hosts are as charming as ever and are most welcoming helpful and pleasant to chat with and offer advice as to where to dine, visit around the area and more. It is not surprising that they have been awarded the much coveted "Trip Advisor Award", it is highly deserved, I have never been to another hotel or guest house where you feel valued as a customer and not treated as another punter at the reception desk like you would in another un named well known hotel in Inverness.

In summary I don't just recommend this guest house I urge you to book here as this guest house is part of the great holiday experience that is Inverness, this is Inverness hospitality at its very best.

Thank you so much once again Joan and Javed and hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best :)

Room Tip: • Be wary if you are infirm as there is no lift (elevator) and the stairs are more tough than you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanarkshiresBrettney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The entire staff was top notch! Friendly, helpful, and kind, they made me feel at home. My room was small but exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect, an easy walk to the bus/train/city center and located on the river.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose this guest house based on top recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were fortunate to have a lovely room overlooking the River Ness. The view of the river, castle and people walking along the river was wonderful and peaceful. The room was quiet and beautifully decorated with careful attention to details and in keeping with the building's historic architecture. The bed and lighting were good. The bath was small but fully functional. The service was exceptional. Javed and Joan were super-helpful in giving directions, arranging activities, making reservations, getting same-day laundry done, etc. They gave us instructions where to park the car in a lot a block away. The breakfasts were excellent, served in a beautiful room. The location was perfect, an easy walk to restaurants and tourist sites. We initially planned for a one-night stay, but upon arrival were so taken with the town and hotel, we stayed two nights and loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to get a larger room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Strathness is located right on the river, within walking distance of everything. Immaculate rooms, though small by American standards (but typical for European hotels). Great breakfast, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very helpfull owners-staff provide great support.
They willl seekout and find what you are looking for to help.
The rooms are clean and reasonable size. Bath is standard, but quite nice. All rooms are upstairs without elevators, but the staff will offer to carry bags and the staircase is wide.
5-10 min walk to city center, but faces the Ness River on a limited access street so it is quiet except for a few oyster catcher birds. The walk path to the islands that starts in front of the hotel along the river is a must-do in the summer. The gardens are a short worlk on the same road.
Parking is not-so-great. There is 4.5 pound/24 hour parking about a block away at the cathedal. No easy unload location on the narrow road in front of the hotel unless you score a street parking spot around the corner. We did get such a spot at 1 pound per hour before moving to the 24 hour parking.
Still, the location is great and the hotel is clean and the staff are extreemly helpful.
A very good full breakfast is included, and they will make up almost anything you request.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 232 in Inverness
221 reviews
0 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballifeary Guest House
Ballifeary Guest House
#27 of 232 in Inverness
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $81 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing