We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer Happi-Ness”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #17 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sheer Happi-Ness”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This review is long long overdue, since we visited Strathness over a year ago, but if we are ever in Inverness again, we would pick this place in a heartbeat. The most wonderful part of this converted-mansion is its location. Situated right on the banks of River Ness, the hotel is walking distance from the train station, the bus stations, the Inverness Castle and all the famous markets and pubs in Inverness. Just walking along the banks of the river can make for a lovely evening.

The next best thing is how wonderfully pampered you feel when you get there. Joan welcomed us with a warm greeting when we arrived late in the evening and led us up to our room on the second floor. The rooms are quaint, cosy and beautiful. We did not have a room overlooking the river - but the view of the city rooftops was beautiful as well. Javed was a lovely host and helped us plan our trip to nearby Whiskey Breweries.The chef was a dear lady who brightened up our mornings with a lovely breakfast, and even packed us a delicious lunch (complete with a juice box and crisps) one day for us to carry when we were out hiking.

The third best thing are the beds - we have lived in hotels across the world, but rarely have we come across beds as comfortable as the ones in Strathness - we slept like babies!

After 2 days in Strathness, we weren't ready to leave and asked for an extension. Though they were booked out of double rooms, Javed helped us move into a single room with an extra bed- which, also, was very very comfortable.

Strathness still remains one of our favourite places to stay - can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
219
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Although we visited Scotland in the winter, the atmosphere and our welcome was warm and friendly at the Strathness House. When we got in that evening, we were met by Joan, a wonderful gal who co-owns the hotel with her spouse Javed, and were made to feel so welcome that we knew immediately that there would be a return trip here. Joan showed us to our room on the second floor of this castle-like structure, and we were treated to an immaculately clean room with a beautiful new en-suite bathroom. Everything was right about the room except that we were in the rear of the hotel but that mattered little as we were just inside to sleep and shower. We went back downstairs and Joan met with us and gave us the low-down on the town, including a number of restaurants which we ate at during our stay. Joan inquired whether we had any dietary or special requests for breakfast, and mentioning that my wife is vegan, she stated that she would whip up a perfect breakfast treat. That was no understatement! Her husband Javed met us in the morning with a splendid Scottish breakfast for me, and a fantastic assortment of greens, fruit and cereal for my wife. They could not do enough for us. They are a first class team and are two very perfect hosts. Brilliant effort and we WILL be back, if there are vacancies! Thank you both!

Room Tip: Because of the location on a quiet street, any room is a hit, if you don't go out much opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NY-Hormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't have been better really. The house is in a good situation close to the river and the centre of town, with welcoming and informative proprietors, a comfy room with recently refurbished shower room and an excellent breakfast. Would certainly go back again and happy to recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Due to the fact that we decided very late to go to Inverness at the height of the tourist season, we feel extraordinarily lucky that we could get a night at the Strathness House. With such a limited time in this charming town, the location of Strathness House was important. Our two rooms did not have a view (they were the last two rooms available) but they were terrific accommodations. They were spacious, modern and still in keeping with the historic charm of the building.

That was true for everything. The building and facilities were clean and fresh and clearly upgraded...all with an attention and care for the historic integrity. Oftentimes, "historic" is a code word for old and dreary and dilapidated. Not here. The visitor to Strathness House makes no sacrifice in terms of the comfort or quality of the stay.

Our hosts were also a delight. We took a stroll around town after check-in, using a map with their custom restaurant suggestions (tailored to each of our various preferences) as a way to give some structure to our wandering around town. They were very interested in getting debriefed on our walk when we returned. Later, I spent a considerable amount of time at the front desk discussing various and sundry things that I'm sure kept our host from attending to. Maybe he's a procrastinator and welcomed the conversation...but judging from the extensive work done here for guests in-season and to the facilities off-season, he doesn't strike me as the procrastinating sort. Yet I merited his full attention when the house was full, as though I was the only guest.

I wish we could have stayed longer but if I return to Inverness, I wouldn't even bother scouting for other options (unless Strathness House was fully booked...and even then I would first consider changing my travel dates). I am not suggesting that you shouldn't look any further. I'm just saying that, right now, you're looking at the place you'll probably make the wise, well-informed decision to contact about vacancy.

A word to the wise about checking in and parking: it's waaaay simpler than it seems if you pull up cold (as we did...to the rear no less!). To unload your baggage and check-in, you drive down the one-way riverfront street until just before you reach the far end...and then you pull up at the break in the curb onto the wide pavement, and out of the way of the light traffic, right in front of the entrance. That's right: you just pull up onto the sidewalk exactly where you want to put your car if you had your choice. Normally I wouldn't pull up like that, but it's extremely wide and you're not in anyone's way if you load and unload in front of the door.

As for parking, there's a (seemingly) safe and well-lit parking lot behind St. Andrew's Cathedral, which is across the street. It's quite reasonably priced. Parking time can be purchased for up to one day, but we parked our car on a Tuesday after the time for monitoring payment had ended, paid for a day (4 Pounds, I believe), and that gave us 24 hours...but because the payments were not monitored until the following morning, our one day parking on Tuesday was valid until Thursday morning. And the parking lot allowed for in-and-out access during that time.

During our stay it pretty much rained the entire time...but the rain broke very late, after the family had gone to bed, and I was able to steal outside with my camera and take advantage of the lights and water right in front of the inn, so I've shared those photos here.

Room Tip: Make sure you know in advance where to pull up to check-in. It's exactly what you'd hope for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DyerMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Joan and Javed made us feel like members of their family staying at their home. We had wonderful rooms with plenty of space, nice bathroom, and easy access to power for charging our items.

Good location on the Ness in easy walking distance to all the town sites, shops, and restaurants. Beautiful lounge, easy to climb stairs, and quiet location for sleeping.

Breakfast included and very good. Javed always seemed to know when we were ready to eat and waited on us with just the right amount of attention to make us feel special. Ham, salmon, cereal, juices, toast, fruits, tomatoes, and many other selections each day.

They helped us with directions, recommendations, and just generally made our stay in Inverness that much more delightful. We shall return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank dmcronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

An excellently located B&B, with easy pedestrian access to restaurants, bars, shopping in Inverness. Well decorated and maintained. Lovely views from some bedrooms and from the lounge and dining room across the river. The owners were very attentive and all staff were very friendly. Clean towels provided every day.
Two points of criticism - breakfast is only available until 9.00 on week-days - which is too early if, like us, your stay is recreational and you don't need to be up and about too early. Bedside lights make reading in bed almost impossible as they are so dim as to be virtually useless.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Where to start from? We are a couple from Malta, Stayed there for two nights. We were welcomed by the owner of the hotel. He is an extremely nice, funny and helpful guy. The rooms are very nice with a very comfortable bed. The view of the loch river is absolutely tremendous. It is right beside the river.

Perfect place for parking as well round the corner. The breakfast is also top notch. It is not a cheap hotel neither expensive. But it is worth visiting.

The only let down is that there is no lift but the owner/receptionist will surely give you a hand.

Excellent. Will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven_Cortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing