We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay in a Guest House”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathness House
Ranked #19 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First Stay in a Guest House”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time staying in a guest house, and we were very impressed. We stayed one night the 10th of August 2013. We loved the location along the river Ness, a short walk to the bridge into the center of town, very quiet, and in what we thought was the best area in town. The guest house wasn't just clean throughout, it was more like brand new. Our room overlooked the river across the street, and most important had a comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. During our breakfast our hostess continued checking back to see if we needed anything. We spent some time chatting with the proprietors Javed Hussain and Jean Smith about running a guest house and their pride as owners and operators was clearly evident. We highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semrichistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
223
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spicer, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The little things make a big difference, the attention to detail in decoration, welcome, cleanliness, etc. The Strathness has a great location right on the river Ness and a few minutes walking to the old, historic city center. The owners are wonderful about helping with everything you ask and when you look around you notice all the little things they have done. I loved this hotel and plan to come back someday. I don't usually do reviews but felt so strongly about it I took the time to write this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in August 2013. Super clean - facilities were so pristine that if you'd told me we were the first to use the facilities after remodeling I would have believed it. Turns out it has been a few years since the place was updated! You can tell great care has been taken with everything, right down to pictures hung precisely in the middle of the wall. The gentleman running the place was very helpful and friendly, making sure you got what you wanted for breakfast (continental or hot plates) and offering much useful advice for sight seeing, restaurants etc. The owners clearly are very proud of their establishment and it shows. Location is also great for accessing Inverness downtown area and walking path.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room looking out onto the River Ness - lots to watch on the sidewalks and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairie_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Strathness House B&B Inverness. 19th August
We had driven all day after visiting Castle Mey and John O’Grotes when we finally arrived at Inverness around 20:00hrs which was quite late to find a room for the night, we drove into the heart of town over the river ness and turned left in to Ardross Terrrace as there were a few hotels in this area. As we looked around a these hotels all had No Vacancies when we noticed this B&B on the corner we called in and asked for a room just as a cancellation was made, lucky us. We got a twin room on the top floor 2 floors (No lifts) overlooking the river, good size room though the bathroom was cosy. It was clean and fresh nicely decorated with Hair dryer, Iron & Ironing board brilliant. The owners were very chatty and made us feel most welcome. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and service. Ideal location to visit the town
What a great B&B one of the best I’ve stayed in..
Will defiantly stay here again when we next visit Inverness.
Well done Strathness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. We were greeted warmly, helped with our luggage, escorted to our room and shown how to use everything. We had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the river. It was very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The eggs were poached perfectly and there was plenty to eat. This is a very professional, friendly hotel and I would really recommend it to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent a night here when going for a job interview. The room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the river Ness. Good breakfast, and 5 minutes walk from centre of Inverness. He would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backyard_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place is open and honest about its hotel: centrally located, no lift for your luggage. Parking is nearby and simple, to unload your luggage, just pull up onto the sidewalk in front of the entrance. There is a decent breakfast, an easy walk into the areas you would walk as a tourist, and not difficult to get out of town to play golf. Many nearby restaurants. This is not he Four Seasons, more of B&B/hotel, but if you have any problems with stairs, find another hotel, if not, then certainly stay there.

Room Tip: A good place if you want to see the town, walk to many nearby good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegolfsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing