We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want to stay in the best B&B, then look no further: Inverglen is definitely the best B&B I have ever stayed in. My girfried and I had the pleasure of staying there for 2 nights during our road trip to Scotland and the Highlands, and everything was perfect. The house is located in a very quiet residential area, just an easy 5 mins walk to the city centre and it has a private secure parking. The rooms are all great: spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable bed, nice and big windows. We had the Superking room and it was lovely, spacious, with plenty of space and a very nice bathroom. But apart from the lovely accomodation, a great advantage is also the hospitality of the owners that produce excellent service for everyone. Both Susan and John are very nice people, polite and are great hosts. Susan is a great cook and she prepared a delicious full scottish breakfast, well cooked and very tasty. John is a great photographer and he was also kind enough to provide us valuable information about things to do in the area, and especially a fantastic scenic route round Loch Ness and, in particular, his recommendation to find Dores and have lunch at Dores Inn next to Loch Ness was fantastic. So were his dinner recommendations. In general, if someone stays here easily understands why this place is No1 and I am sure that it will continue to be like this. Everything is immaculate and if I ever return to the Highlands, I will definitely stay here again!! Thank you Susan and John!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello there

Thanks so much for taking time to write a review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests - helps to know what you're doing right, as well as what could be improved!

Glad you got a table at the Dores Inn - the food there is really good, but generally you can't rely on just turning up, especially in the busy summer months, as It's popular with both visitors and the locals! We love it there!

Hope to see you again if ever you venture up to the Highlands again.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 519 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. From the location (10 mins walk max to town centre) hospitality and food, to the comfortable clean room this b & b is faultless. Before arrival we were e-mailed a list of restaurant suggestions. Upon arrival - we were on the late train but that was not a problem- we were warmly greeted by John and familiarised with the B&B and the town.
The room was beautiful - well equipped, clean and comfortable.
The next morning we had a delicious breakfast, cooked by Susan, chosen from a good range. John sorted out our restaurant reservations and also the booking for a boat / coach trip.
( We would recommend booking as the good restaurants do get full and we also had the last place on the Jacobite boat tour).
Throughout our stay both Susan and John we always friendly and accommodating.
We loved our break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello the Gregorys!

We're so pleased that you had a great time whilst you were with us in Inverness, and thanks so much for taking time to write a review. The boat trip on Loch Ness is certainly not to be missed if it's a lovely day, as Urquhart Castle is definitely best photographed from the water! Sorry that Nessie was in one of her shy moods the day that you went!!

Hope to see you again in the future if you decide to take any more spectacular train journeys.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've just come back from a magic tour in Scotland, and we stopped for one night by Inverglen Guest House…unfortunately one night only! The house is very nice, everything is perfect, our room was big, perfectly clean and with any comfort you need. Not to mention the dining room next morning: we had breakfast in front of the window, with a view on the nice and quiet residential street. Food itself was delicious, the homemade banana&chocolate muffins especially…Susan, you're a great cook!!
The house is just few minutes walk from the centre of Inverness, where you can find also a lot of restaurants, pubs, etc.
But what makes this b&b even greater is the welcome beyond description of Susan and her husband John. They are so nice, available, kind and always with a smile on their face that you feel at home as soon as you arrive. They also provide you with all the information you need about the place and the surrounding. Thanks to their advice we follow a scenic route that we would have missed…and it would be a real pity!!!
Thank you for everything, Susan&John!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Ciao Federica

Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and indeed the chocolate and banana muffins! Check our our Facebook page, as Susan tries to post a new recipe on there once a month, and she only does easy recipes, so you can recreate those baked goodies at home!!

Thanks also for your tips on when to visit Rome - we may come and stay in your rental apartment when we get a chance to holiday in Italy in the future!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent two nights at John and Susan's wonderful B&B. It is located on a quiet residential street with no street noise. There is off-street parking at their house. An easy walk to the city center and most restaurants. The house is furnished splendidly and our room was beyond comfortable. We enjoyed the pressure-boosted shower! Breakfasts were excellent and varied, skillfully served by John. He is a wealth of knowledge of thing to do in the local area. Susan was able to do some laundry for us, at very reasonable cost, which allowed us to pack lightly and wash clothes mid-trip. This is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Denis & Lark

Thank you for writing a review, and we're so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Inverglen. We really enjoyed meeting you both, and really it's no trouble to do an extra load of washing for guests - it was one of the things we really appreciated when we were doing extended travelling ourselves!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland, and have some wonderful memories (and photos) to take home with you.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

People often warn against going back to a place you thought was perfect because there is a good chance you will be disappointed. Two friends and I took the risk with Inverglen and we were NOT DISAPPOINTED. We loved it just as much as last year. John and Susan have not changed: genuine, welcoming, approachable and fountains of useful and reliable information. They know how to make you feel at home straight away, starting with tea and delicious cake on arrival. It can be difficult to choose from the 5 mouth-watering breakfast options, all cooked or baked to perfection by Susan and expertly served by John, who also acted as our daily weatherman and valued advisor. Both John and Susan helped us with our choice of restaurants for the evening meal and made sure we got to the right place at the right time. I could go on....but let me finish by telling you that we had a wonderful stay and did not want to leave (I suspect John and Susan noticed). Thank you John and Susan, and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello Renate (& the Runrigers!)

Thanks for taking time to post a review for us again - it was lovely to see you all for the second time, just like having friends to stay! We were so pleased for you that the weather was so much better for this concert trip, and that you got in some fabulous walks and a glimpse of our dolphins to top off your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you all again for the next trip - hope you have a great time in North Korea, and you can tell us all about it then!!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

John & Susan run one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Great hosts and a wonderful room. Breakfast was a delight, everything was just right. John & Susan provided great advice on what to do with our day in the Inverness area and our day traveling to Isle of Skye. It was an easy walk to the center of the Inverness shopping/eating district. John made reservations for us at a great little restaurant that was excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPerkins75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi guys - thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, and we're so pleased that you had a great stay with us, and appreciated our restaurant recommendations and hints and tips for your trips.

We are so lucky to have so many great eateries within walking distance of the house, that the only dilemma on occasions, is which to choose!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland, and it would be great to see you again if ever you return to the Highlands.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I first stayed here in 2012 soon after Susan and John opened for business. It was such a great place, with wonderful hosts when I was going back to Inverness in July this year there was no other choice but to stay here again. On 2nd viewing everything was even better for being quite familiar. Susan and John were as welcoming as I remembered, the room, which was not the same one I stayed in before was lovely and what can I add about the food that has not already been said by other reviewers - just divine. Inverglen Guest House deserves its place as the best place to stay in the highlands and I would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Kerry

Thanks so much for your kind review - it was great to welcome you back to our home, and anytime you're in Inverness, you'll be more than welcome!

If you can always bring with you the fantastic weather you enjoyed during your stay, we might consider letting you move in!!!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach Cottage B&B
Beach Cottage B&B
#4 of 232 in Inverness
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 232 in Inverness
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $68 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing