We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room & excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed one night in this lovely B&B. We had a twin room, on the small side, but adequate for our needs. The ensuite bath was adequate, as well. Breakfast was excellent, one of the best we had in GB, complete with cheesy scrambled eggs, choice of meat, fresh fruit salad, cereals, toast, and accompaniments. Our room had homemade shortbread waiting for us upon our arrival. There is a small refrigerator in the hall near the rooms that is available for guest use. The bed was comfortable and the bath had a heated towel rack. It was a 15 min. walk to the river, where most of the restaurants are. John gives excellent recommendations for dinner. Only negative was a small TV placed on the side of the bed, which would have made it very difficult to watch. We didn't turn it on, so it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraveleurope_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi guys

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback on your stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the home-made biscuits, and that John's restaurant recommendations were helpful to you.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Scotland, and maybe we'll see you again if you're back in the Highlands.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 520 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights here and we really liked it. Susan and John were fantastic - - as we were leaving and saying goodbye I felt quite sad like we were leaving good friends behind. Susan is so friendly and sweet and serves up some awesome breakfast. John is so nice and is extremely helpful in assisting in planning your outings. Because Inverness is a central Highlands destination, a lot of tine is spent tooling around to the differerent things to see, and John patiently helped guest after guest with detailed directions and suggestions. As far as the actual lodgings, they are extremely nice - everything is immaculate. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very up-to date and modern, and the downstairs rooms including the dining room are beautiful period architectural rooms - but fresh and bright. They take very very good care of you here - I highly recommend. Inverness has a LOT of B&B's but I can see why this one is top rated. Handy rear parking area, close walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wweezzyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi guys - thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We love this house, and the area is so quiet and beautiful, so it's a joy for us to share it with other people!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our holiday plans had to change at the last minute because my husband
was not able to walk far. Instead of a walking holiday we had to hire a car.
This was not a problem as there is adequate parking on the premises.
My husband was well looked after. The beds were very comfortable
which helped with a good nights sleep. The breakfast had lots of choice
we could not have asked for more. We had a very nice time.
Very central location and we would have no hesitation in booking another
break. Well Done

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review for us, and we hope that your husband's back problem is getting better with all the physio treatment. Glad he found our beds so comfortable - most of them come from a local company that employs people with visual impairments called Blindcraft. You'd be surprised how many people ask where we buy them!

Maybe we'll see you again for a golfing holiday once he is fully recovered?

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel alone for work and have always stayed away from guest houses and B&Bs, I don't really know why, maybe I thought hotels were safer?
As the prices of the Holiday Inn express and Premier inn keep creeping up, I decided, upon recommendation to try the Inverglen.
I am so angry I did not stay here before as I had nothing to worry about. I arrived at 8 pm and was made very welcome by John. I was shown to room 4 and John carried my bag up for me which was a welcome change from being left in a foyer wondering where to go!
The room was a twin room and was extremely well decorated to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. There are lovely little extras in the room, a sewing kit, free wifi, toiletries in the bathroom, and really big fluffy towels which went all the way round my vastly increasing jelly belly.
I was asked to per order breakfast which I did and it was ready at the exact time I had asked, really good quality food and excellent coffee. I met Susan in the morning at breakfast and again, she is as lovely and as accommodating as john. The very best part is Susan's super scrumptious shortbread, I would def go back, and def recommend to anyone, business people, couples and families.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a twin room, very spacious and very well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaSelbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Samantha

Thanks so much for writing a review for us - we're glad we managed to cure you of your B&B fears at last!! So glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the shortbread biscuits, and we hope the little stash you took home for your son got to him intact!

We look forward to seeing you again if ever you come up to Inverness on business.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thank you John & Susan for your wonderful Guest House. We appreciated your amazing hospitality, great travel advice, and all the little extras that make it special. Susan's shortbread was delicious, and it was lovely to curl up in the guest lounge and watch one of your DVD's after a hard day of sightseeing. Location was perfect with an easy walk to the town centre armed with a map and good advice from John. Breakfasts were lovely - Susan's orange French toast is delicious! 2 nights was definitely not long enough. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thanks Julie for taking the time to write a review for us, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We've started putting some of Susan's recipes on our Facebook page, so if you're looking for a breakfast treat now you're back home, the Orange French Toast recipe is already on there! Enjoy!!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

John and Susan have a special place in Inverness -- truly worth a visit ! They made our family of four feel right at home and well pampered. The rooms and all the little extras are so appreciated after regular hotel stops! The tips on local attractions were welcomed. All breakfasts after Inverglen could not compare -- best oatmeal and full breakfast choices ! Both Susan and John put so much of their time and heart into this place and it shows! Thanks for the wonderful memories for the Scott clan!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi Scott Clan! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay here.

We hope the rest of your trip was just great, and thanks very much for the lovely Canadian maple soaps.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed with John and Susan for two nights and had a wonderful time. They are very gracious hosts and the guest house maintains high standards. We got great recommendations for restaurants and hiking. Their location is convenient to the main part of town and yet peaceful and quiet in a charming residential area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hi Linda

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and your walks in the local countryside. It's so beautiful in the Highlands, and every season here brings a new perspective on the landscape.

Please come back and see us again if you ever visit Scotland again.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 234 in Inverness
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Beach Cottage B&B
Beach Cottage B&B
#4 of 234 in Inverness
319 reviews
0 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 234 in Inverness
451 reviews
0 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 234 in Inverness
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $84 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing