We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Inverglen Love Susan and John!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverglen Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inverglen Guest House to your Saves list
Inverglen Guest House
7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 236 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love Inverglen Love Susan and John!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Many thanks to Susan and John, as they provided the best B & B experience anyone could ever have. We knew they were rated #1, so our expectations were high, yet they managed to exceed well beyond. It began with thoughtful emails answering our questions as we prepared for our trip, then giving helpful suggestions as our plans became more specific. Their recommendation for WOW guided tours turned out to be a fantastic tip. Once in Inverness, we were greeted with smiles at their door followed by delicious homemade cake and tea in the living area as we got to know one another. That was just a tease for the fantastic breakfasts which we would enjoy over the next two days. I definitely had to try the full Scottish breakfast the first morning, and hopefully you will have a big appetite if you do the same! Fresh fruit, yogurts, juice, coffee and tea are provided every morning along with the other menu choices. We thought the porridge was especially tasty. It was enjoyable talking to the other guests and exchanging ideas and stories of our travels. Every room at Inverglen is light, bright, spacious, and beautifully decorated. It just seems like sunlight comes pouring in to match the sunny disposition of the hosts. Our lovely bedroom (room 2) was very spacious with a large window overlooking the front lawn. Comfortable bed, beautiful linens, TV, WiFi, and best of all, a sunny ensuite bathroom with toiletries and heated towel rack. Cleanliness throughout the entire B & B was of the highest possible. Even though there are other guests, it is a quiet and tranquil setting. Needless to say, we were so impressed and pleased with our choice to book Inverglen, as Susan and John's hard work and gracious hospitality made our experience the best possible. Couldn't help but give them both big hugs when we left, as they already felt like long time friends.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious, sunny, and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane48130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks Mary for writing such a lovely review for us - we know you don't do them all the time, so we appreciate the time you took to do this one. We really enjoyed having you and your party here for a couple of days, and hope you had a great time when you went on to visit Skye with Gordon.

What a coincidence that you and your husband were alumni of Michigan State University, and that was twinned with Susan's former university in Surrey! Life is full of little parallels that just amaze us sometimes!!

I'm sure you'll have some fabulous photos to remind you of your trip - we're still enjoying the card from Antelope Canyon, and maybe one day we'll get there to see it for ourselves.

Best wishes, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

No wonder they are number one. John and Susan have the best B&B ever. Beside the fact that the rooms are spacious and spotless, the hosts are wonderful people. We received tons of advice for restaurants, help with transportation to the Culloden Battlefield and Clava Cairns, photography advice and of course there was Susan's wonderful baked goods that we had upon introduction as well as a wonderful breakfast menu. Can't say enough about our stay. Hated to leave. Great people. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kloobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate that! It's always great to get feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Glad you enjoyed all the baked goods - Susan loves to bake to help her relax, so we love to know that her efforts are appreciated.

We hope you had a great time on the remainder of your trip in Scotland, and a safe journey home. Please come back and visit us again if you are in the area.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

John and Susan were wonderful hosts. They suggested restaurants, pubs and places to see. We only went to Chanonry Point because Susan told us about it and it is such a beautiful place. We didn't see the dolphins but maybe we'll be luckier next time.
Breakfast was always very tasty as well as the shortbread in our room.
The guestroom was flawless. We were sorry we only stayed in Inverness for 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inês O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks so much for writing a review for us, and we hope you enjoyed the cooler weather whilst you were here visiting - I'm sure it's really hot back in Portugal! We're delighted you enjoyed the trip to Chanonry Point even though the dolphins were shy that day - the views are really worth the drive anyway.

It was lovely to meet you both, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon to Scotland and the Inverglen Guest House was the best B&B we stayed in. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is delicious, and John and Susan are wonderful people. The location is perfect for walking around town, going out for dinner and drinks, but with the ease of a parking lot behind the B&B and quiet surroundings. The homemade cookies were a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Alicia - thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you and Andrew enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that the rest of your delayed honeymoon was great too!

Looking forward to hearing that you have successfully tried to bake the Lemon Crinkle Biscuits!!!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

John and Susan were wonderful hosts and the location of the property (2 minute walk to downtown) was ideal. Our room was clean and very modern, and the breakfasts were delicious (the daily specials while we were staying there were fantastic!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Nicholas - thanks for writing a review for us, and we are so pleased that you and your dad enjoyed your stay with us.

We were so glad that the wind dropped and the sun shone for your golf day at Royal Dornoch, and hope that you enjoyed playing the next course at Turnberry after you left us. Enjoy the rest of the short season back in Canada!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

John and Susan are wonderful hosts and we felt very welcome during our 4 nights staying at Inverglen. They both were very helpful in regards to recommending places to eat and see. Our room (2) located at the front of the house was perfect - very light and airy. Ensuite was lovely and well equipped with basic amenities. Susan's homemade cakes and Scottish shortbreads are yummo! Along with her superbly cooked breakfast ( eggs are the best we've tasted for a long time ) and John looking after us at breakfast - we felt very spoilt ;) Great having a communal fridge for extra water and milk should it be required (also kept our wine chilled). A vast range of DVD's and books for guests to choose from. There is also a Communal Lounge for guests to enjoy. I felt so relaxed I read a book in 2 days! Only a short walk (a bit of a hill but nothing too strenuous) from the Train Station and a short walk into town for the restaurants and the Information Centre where all the Tours seem to leave from. John and Susan will definitely look after you well :)

Room Tip: Room 2 good size - and large bay window looking out on the quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests either on what we are doing right, or where we can improve.

We really enjoyed your company for the 4 days you were with us, and hope you had a safe journey back to Colchester - enjoy the sunny Essex weather whilst you can!! Hopefully you have some great photos and happy memories of the Highlands?

Hope you enjoy your next trip to Croatia, and that you've managed to find a travel agent to help you with your search for the perfect place to stay!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great hospitality from the tea and cake on arrival to the hearty 'full Scottish' before departure.
Good knowledge of local pubs, restaurants and attractions will enhance your stay.
A most enjoyable, if brief, stay.
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiffer_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and hope the rest of your trip went well?

Hope to see you back at Inverglen again in the future.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#3 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#7 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 236 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#4 of 236 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing