We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Guest House”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my second visit to Inverglen and it was even better than the first time. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and spotless. Susan and John are great hosts, welcoming us with coffee and home-made cake on our arrival, they were always willing to go out of their way to find out anything we needed to know to help us make the most of our stay. The comfortable guest lounge was a real bonus when we came back early on a rainy day and wanted to chill out and read our books. When Susan realised we had returned she even bought us afternoon tea with more delicious cake.
The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice and I can recommend the creamy orange French toast!
Inverglen is ideally situated for the short walk into Inverness for dinner and evening entertainment and with good bus and train links it is also an ideal place for exploring the Highlands even without a car.
We fell in love with the Highlands and will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks Caroline for taking the time to write another review for us, and thank you again for the lovely flowers! You were certainly lucky with the weather this time, even though you had a little bit of rain. Glad you both enjoyed all the walks, and you're right, even if you don't have a car, there are plenty of places to visit locally that are a short bus or train ride away.

John took one of his photographic groups on the jeep safari in the Cairngorms that you recommended, and they had a great time too - I'm sure that will be a trip to be repeated again in the future!!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
290
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the B&B in April 2013 for a photographic tour for the boys and a sight-seeing few days for the girls. The bedrooms are very clean, spacious and modern; we were greeted by tea and a home-made cake (even another option for the fussy ones who didn't eat chocolate and banana muffins!), speciality teas were even available and the breakfast and evening meals were amazing. Susan and John were very friendly and went out of their way to make our visit very comfortable and special. I would highly recommend their B&B. We even got to see dolphins jumping and playing in the water off dolphin point just as the topping on the cake for the weekend although I don't think the B&B influenced this!!!

Room Tip: We had a quick look at three of the rooms (out of 5) and would recommend all of them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us Chris - we are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time here, despite you having to go back early for work! Glad you got to see the dolphins performing, and got some up close shots with the Hairy Coos!!

Hope to see you back here in the future sometime.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed earlier this month for for a photographic workshop. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were not dissapointed we received a lovely warm welcome from John & Susan, The rooms are light, modern and very clean and I can highly recommend the little homemade shortbread biscuits left daily!
The breakfast and meals where excellent. I'd never have any hesitation in recommending the Inverglen to friends and family..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks Phil for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time on the photography course here, and hope that you will have some competition winning images and great memories of the Highlands.

Tell us, did your mum ever get to taste the shortbread biscuits that you and your dad took home??!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulsdon
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at Inverglen Guest House.

We were given a very warm welcome by John and Susan on our arrival, accompanied by tea and delicious home-made cake. Our room was warm, comfortable and impeccable, with such thought given to the finer details - including fresh flowers and Susan's melt-in-the-mouth shortbread and lemon biscuits.

John was a mine of information on places to visit both in and around Inverness, and was always willing to help us plan our days out.. As for Susan's breakfasts - they were delicious and varied .Thank you!

John and Susan are superb hosts - friendly , helpful and thoughtful. Inverglen is by far the best guest house I have stayed in, and I would recommend it highly to anyone wanting to stay in Inverness.

Kitty and Jeff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing such a lovely review.

We hope you have some great memories of your first visit to the Highlands, and that you will come back to visit us again soon. Thanks also for the tip about the restored mill at Knockando - we made a visit there last week, and it was really interesting and a lovely drive down, although we had a bit of snow and hail to contend with going through the Cairngorms!!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The house was warm and welcoming, the hosts John and Susan were incredibly nice. The rooms were big and nicely decorated, the beds were really comfortable. We had breakfast twice and both times the food was delicious, with four to five different choices on the menu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiomarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland, and that you managed to visit a few more distilleries on your journey!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the minute you arrive at Inverglen you know you have made a good choice. There is a warm welcome from John and Susan and tea with lovely homemade cake. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent - definitely among the best I have ever had in an hotel or B and B. I stayed twice at Inverglen (on my way to the west coast and on my way back) and John and Susan were happy to give advice on eating out and book me a restaurant for my return night. It is an easy walk to the centre of Inverness for restaurant or shops. You will not be disappointed if you choose Inverglen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you Margaret for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us en-route to and from Torridon, and that the weather was kind to you for this photographic trip!

We hope to see you again in the future if you are back in the Highlands.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Second stay at Inverglen. Once again our stay was excellent. John and Susan made it a home from home always going beyond expectations. Weather was bitterly cold but we always came back to a cosy room with tea and cake ready. We would absolutely recommend anyone visiting the Highlands to stay at Inverglen.
Wonderfull week

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Mike & Krys for taking the time to write another review for us, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay again, despite the cold weather! Hopefully you didn't need to deploy the emergency blankets on your trip home, although the snow further down the country did look a bit alarming for such a long drive home.

We hope you are pleased with some of the images you captured during your stay, and look forward to seeing some of the final shots. The waxwings never did come back into the garden, so you were so lucky to see them that afternoon!!

Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Property: Inverglen Guest House
Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing