We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Inverness”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We only spent one night here but boy was it fantastic. Arriving late in the evening on Friday was no trouble for Susan and John who greeted us warmly and offered cake, tea and sweets.
The B&B itself is beautifully kept and our room had those extra special touches to make our stay great. The bed was amazing, the best bed I've slept in so far! The room had plenty of pillows, warm duvet and even though it was June we had the heating on.
The shower was all new and perfect for massage of the back with cute Nessie shower gel.
Breakfast was incredible, the french toast was to die for and the portions more than ample.
I can't recommend this place more, only wished we had more time to stay longer!
Thanks Susan and John!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmookshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and that our investment in the new water system produced such a memorable shower for you! It's always reassuring to get positive feedback from our guests, so thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Glad you enjoyed the french toast and that the bed was comfy - I guess what most people want from a B&B is a good night's sleep and a good breakfast. So glad we ticked both of those boxes.

We would be delighted to see you again if you are back in Inverness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
286
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Arrived for a two night stay (Sat/Sun during golf at Castle Stuart) after 9pm to be welcomed with cups of tea and homemade flapjacks for my wife and I along with juice for the children. One of the boys was fast asleep so Susan helped us in with our luggage. Very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was superb. As your average meat loving male the cooked breakfast was delicious and the home made muffins went down a treat with my wife. Susan was excellent in making sure the boys (ages 1 and 3) got something nice for brekkie too. Private parking great for peace of mind, space so close to town centre (5min walk with kids). The family room was spot on too, spacious and cot ready for the youngest. The room was slightly away from the other rooms too which gave us peace of mind with a crying baby. There were a few others staying and didn't see any with bags under their eyes so couldn't have caused anyone a sleepless night. Thank you both for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: See previous comments regarding the family room off the first landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for writing a review for us, and we are so happy that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. Glad my cooking and baking went down so well, and that the children had a good time, albeit that they were sleeping in a strange room, in a strange house! Victorian houses are fabulous for their thick walls and sturdy structure, so rest assured no-one would have been disturbed by any noise - in fact they were both really well behaved, and I even got a smile by the last day!!

Hope your trip back to Lewis was good, and maybe we'll see you next year if the golf is here again?

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The B&B is really excellent; the rooms are confortable and clean, the breakfast is outstanding and the hospitality of John and Susan is very warm!
Very nice and quit position at just 5 minutes walking from city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Inverglen, and hope that if you choose to come back to the Highlands again, you will return to stay with us! It was lovely to meet you, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the Highlands.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Inverglen on our way to & from Wick. John and Susan could not have been more accommodating, allowing us to leave our car on their property and keeping our room for us when we spent one night in Wick. Full marks for unobtrusive friendliness and first class service, excellent breakfast and a lovely room. The Inverglen is in a quiet residential area, 10 minutes walk from the town, restaurants and railway station. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your train trip up to Wick.

Thanks as well for the help with identifying the plants that we liked in our neighbour's garden - maybe we will have some on display if you visit us again!!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A friend and I stayed here as part of our cycle trip from Land's End to John o'Groats, stopping off at ten B&B's in total. I hadn't used trip adviser before this, but was soon persuaded of the benefits of seeing other visitors' reviews when booking accommodation. Anyways, to cut a long story short, this was the best place we stayed at - so I've decided to create an account and let them (and potential visitors) know!

Here's some of the main points as to why... first, John and Susan are the incredibly accommodating hosts. When we turned up exhausted and dirty, responded with revitalising tea and (very tasty) homemade flapjack and muffins. They sat us down, chatted to us, and were patient with the fact we needed a breather before going through the standard B&B house-keeping matters. Simply put, John and Susan couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome - and we felt as though we could say if there was something they'd missed.

The twin room we had was excellent, big enough for two smelly cyclists who want some space, including a TV with excellent receptions/range of channels etc. The complimentary homemade shortbread was only bettered by the wonderfully hot power shower, fitted as part of a very clean, spacious en suite bathroom.

That evening we ate out - at a place recommended by John, who gave us a range of close-by options with pocket map showing how to get there etc.

Finally, the breakfast was by and far the tastiest we had on the whole trip. Everything homemade, everything wonderfully cooked - we certainly set off with full stomachs that day!

All in all, I highly recommend a stop here - great location, splendid B&B, and the nicest hosts you will meet!

As I write this I notice that it echo's much of what has been said already - so in attempt to try and add something of value, I'll also explain that there is plenty of room for bikes to be left in a safe, secured area behind the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were in some small way a part of your tremendous cycling achievement.

We try to make sure that every guest feels welcome and tea (or coffee) and cake is often most appreciated on arrival. This affords us a little time to show you where things are on a map and give a few recommendations on where to eat, drink and maybe even dance (not that many long distance cyclists have enough energy for the dancing).

As others have mentioned we believe a good quality breakfast is an essential start to the day and we cater for a wide range of tastes and appetites.

It's good to know that our new high power showers are being appreciated.

If you find yourself back in Inverness then we look forward to seeing you again.

Susan & John - Inverglen Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nighs at the Inverglen Guest House this week. We were greeted by John and Susan with a lovely welcome and offered tea and home baking on our arrival which was wonderful. We were then shown to our room which was absolutely delightful. The room was clean, warm and extremely tastefully decorated. John and Susan had obviously put a lot of thought into the rooms as everything was perfect - from the comfortable bed to the toiletries supplied. The towels were also large and very fluffy. The hospitality tray provided gave a choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate and home made shortbread which was replenished. Breakfast was of a very high standard and the waffles with berries were absolutely fantastic. We felt that nothing was too much trouble for John and Susan and if we are in Inverness again that would be our first choice of accommodation. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Inverglen Guest House. Thanks to John and Susan for their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests! We're so pleased you enjoyed your trip to Inverness and your stay with us, and please do come back and see us again next time you are visiting your family or attending the golf. We will make sure the waffles and berries are on the specials list again for you!!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Tom and I stayed with John and Susan for a couple of nights on the way up to Orkney. A quiet location only a 10 minute walk from town/bus and train station.
We were by impressed with the warm welcome, advice on where to eat, organisational detail and quality of breakfast.
We enjoyed an opportunity to chat after breakfast and find out more about the photography workshops on offer. Hope to return to follow this up.
Thanks so much for a great start to a holiday...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a great time with your friends up in Orkney, and we look forward to seeing you again if you decide to come back for a photography workshop. In the meantime, I hope you manage to take some of those photos of familiar places again, with a twist or different perspective!

Happy snapping, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,706 reviews
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Property: Inverglen Guest House
Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing