We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break with a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Short break with a difference”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

In addition to the excellent service and hospitality, I was fortunate to attend one of the photographic workshops. John, with his knowledge of the Highlands, took the group to some unique locations, which gave the novice and experienced members their own challenges. John was always there to give advice as required and, upon returning to the guesthouse, Sue served teas and freshly baked homemade cakes in the comfortable lounge whilst we discussed our photos and experience. I look forward to another trip in the future.
Dave (President - Brentwood and District Photographic Club)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are indeed fortunate to live close to some of the most spectacular scenery the UK has to offer. Our photographic workshops allow us to share this incredible landscape with our guests in a way that is far more intimate than the casual tourist will achieve.

On location I make sure that everyone gets a share of my time commensurate with their needs. Some people like lots of hands on advice and help, whilst others prefer to simply experiment on their own. My job is to get us to some great locations at the right time and provide the level of support and help that is needed.

However, our guests are not here just to indulge in their passion for photography, they are also on holiday. We believe that this requires that we indulge them with great food and great company. Susan's fantastic breakfasts and wonderful home baking have been much praised by our b&b guests, and on these workshops participants get to enjoy her excellent repertoire of evening meals.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first Inverglen Photography Workshop and look forward to welcoming you back for more highland excursions.

John & Susan - Inverglen Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
290
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Molly and I stayed with John and Susan in mid-June. We had just gotten engaged the previous day so we were there "first engagement". John and Susan made us feel welcome right from the start, they obviously work very hard but always have time to answer your questions. They frequently went above and beyond and never batted an eye. Unfortunately the oven was on the fritz during our visit so we missed out on the homemade cakes but breakfast was excellent. John had the perfect recommendation for a day-trip over to the west side of Scotland that resulted in jaw-dropping scenery (of course, we were also lucky enough to be there on a near perfect day, nary a cloud in sight). Here are some other things I'd want to know if I was considering booking at Inverglen:

-Easy to find
-Close to the center of Inverness, 5-10 minute walk from the train station.
-Walking distance to many great restaurants.
-Ample parking.
-Everything is new and spotless.
-Amazing hosts/owners.

Peter & Molly

Room Tip: If you go in the summer be aware that it'll still be dusk at ~11pm. Bring a sleep mask if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our guest house, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had such fabulous weather for your trip to Applecross. You'll be happy to know that the new oven has been installed, and baking has resumed! Hope that you've had a chance to try the recipe you took home with you, and got to taste the lemon drizzle cake in the end.

Good luck with the wedding preparations, and congratulations once again on your engagement! Maybe you'll come back for your honeymoon?

Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this very friendly and comfortable guest house. We were greeted with tea and home made cake and lots of info on whats in the area. The room was very clean and homemade shortbread biscuits every day with fresh milk provided and bottled water. John and Susan were very friendly and great hosts nothing too much trouble for them. Good choices for breakfast and cooked perfectly. A good location very quiet but near enough to walk into the centre. Definitely a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your review it is most appreciated, and we enjoyed your company enormously. I was always interested to find out what you had seen (or not seen) on your travels. I certainly hope you managed a few more ticks in the i-spy book of Scottish wildlife during the rest of your trip.

We take great pride in offering excellent service, and it is good to know that our efforts are appreciated. The afternoon tea and cake has gone down very well (as can be seen by all the reviews that mention it) and Susan is busy adding new recipes to her repertoire.

Most people who stay with us are first time visitors to Inverness (and often to Scotland as well), and we want to help them get the most from their time here, hence we are always happy to give advice and make recommendations.

Once again thanks for the review.

Susan & John - Inverglen Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the second we have stayed at the Inverglen but it is now under new ownership. After the lengthy drive from Manchester we received a perfect welcome of fresh coffee & freshly baked cake :-) The perfect tonic before heading out on our first Mountain Bike ride.

This place is more comfortable than ever, the food is perfect & I love the new lounge with large screen TV.

I highly recommend this place to anybody heading to that part of Scotland & would definitely head back with my wife & daughter next time.

Thanks again to John & Susan for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and all the improvements we have made since your last stay! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, and we look forward to seeing you again with your family in the future.

Susan now has a new oven too, so the cakes continue to be perfected - and of course John gets to do all the quality control!!

Best wishes, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was the cheapest, yet best accommodation on our 9 day-Scotland Trip! John and Susan gave us a warm welcome with homemade cake and lots of tips for our day around Loch Ness. The rooms were spacious, new and very tasteful. Complimentary water, milk, cookies and tea or coffee were a nice surprise. Every evening, we had to choose the breakfast for the next day - pretty difficult to decide between 5 great options including one changing special of the day! The breakfast was the best we ever had - everything was homemade and freshly prepared, there was a great choice of food besides the cooked breakfast we ordered earlier. There are no words to describe the great value you get for your money here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you took the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We really do value the feedback that we get from our guests, and it's always reassuring to know when we are getting things right, as well as when things need to be improved. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the Highlands with your new companions (the hairy coos!!) and that the cake recipe eventually tastes the same as it did when you were here! It's definitely the Scottish butter and eggs that make the difference!! Please come back if ever you are visiting this area again.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Really enjoyed the welcome from John and Susan, shown to an immaculate bedroom. Had a great shower and sleep, then delicious breakfast. Can find no fault, will be back. Thank you both.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back again when you visit Inverness and it will be lovely to see you again.

Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LERWICK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The best B&B my wife and I have stayed in. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable right down to home made biscuits and fresh milk for your tea (kept in a fridge outside your room) nice touch. The breakfast was amazing with a choice that would put a 5 star hotel to shame, the complimentary tea and cake in the aftrenoon was much appreciated. Thank you John and Susan we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALCOLM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our B&B, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here whilst you celebrated your wedding anniversary. We trust you continued to enjoy good weather for the rest of your trip, and that finally your wife managed to find something to spend her money on!! Whenever you are back this way, please do come and stay again. We hope you manage to find some of those blue thistly plants and that they survive up in Shetland!

Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Property: Inverglen Guest House
Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing