We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect basecamp for the Loch Ness marathon”
Review of Bluebell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell House
Ranked #16 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the weekend of the Loch Ness marathon. First of all, the place is very comfortable and clean, the breakfast ample and well-prepared, and the hosts - Neil and Margaret - a delight. Their house is also conveniently located within walking distance of all major attractions in the town of Inverness. Another bonus is the convenient, off-street parking.

In addition, I couldn't imagine a better base for running the Inverness marathon, and I think getting a good night's sleep was a major factor in beating the 4 hour target I'd set for myself: As I said, everything was very cozy, and the the B&B is about a 15-20min walk to Bught Park, where the race is staged. To boot Neil and Margaret rose early to get me some breakfast before my 6:30am departure; they also introduced me to Scottish oatcakes, which I think make ideal fuel for a long run.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you found Bluebell House well placed for your needs. Especially glad that you were pleased with your marathon time and I'm sure that those Scottish oatcakes had something to do with it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 361 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been staying with Neil & Margaret for many a year now and their hospitality is always and, without exception, brilliant. The rooms are spotless, fully equipped and warm and although the house is on a main road, not as noisy as you might fear. Breakfast is beautifully cooked with not a trace of grease on the plate which is still quite a rare thing these days. Even has a small car park which is worth its weight in gold. Can't really add much more but would just tell you not to swither, just go and stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review - and what a super review it was! We're always delighted to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before and it's so good for us to know that what we do is what you want. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent B&B with a cosy atmosphere, extremely friendly hosts, great rooms and first-class breakfast with a huge variaty to choose from. It was the nicest place of our holidays in Scotland! almut & Fabian

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fabilaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our home at some future stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are a Family of 4 2 adults and 2 Children, and recently had the pleasure of staying with Margarot and Neil at bluebell house. They were very helful and accomodating. The rooms were of a high standard and had everything you needed and more. The home itself is very central and within walking distance to the city centre and has a tesco supermarket across the road.
The breakfast is amazing.....highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris19692009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The host, Neil, was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and nicely furnished, the bathroom was small, but modern.

We only had a five minute walk to the city centre and we could park our car in the rear, which was very helpful as the B&B is located at a main street.

The breakfast was excellent and although the breakfast room was full, Neil found the time to talk to everybody.

We can recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to stay in Inverness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mareen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Inverness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There are dozens of B&Bs on the road into Inverness, but we simply liked the look of this from the car. We weren't disappointed. Traditional rooms and décor, which may not be to everyone's taste if you're looking for light & airy modernity. But we weren't and it was perfect. Not a sound from the busy road outside, and outrageously clean (not so much as a drip in the shower). Breakfast superb, and fresh fruit a lovely touch. Private car park a winner. Looked on Tripadvisor after we'd left to discover it was No.15 in Inverness, The other 14 must be very special indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcreteBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review and for the kind comments that you made about our house. It's interesting that you should note our position and yes, there are some truly special b&b's in Inverness that offer a wonderful service and fully deserve their position ahead of us. However, we were at number 6 until someone tried to extort money out of us and wrote us a truly horrid review to spite us when we refused their financial demands. Such is life but sincere thanks to you anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bluebell is a lovely B&B in a wonderful location. We stayed in the ground floor room "Bluebell Room" which was large and the 4 poster bed was extremely comfortable. The off-street parking on the side of the house was a real bonus. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, especially the fresh fruit in October (raspberries, blackberries and blueberries)! Both Margaret and Neil were exceptional and welcoming hosts. The location is excellent, near to beautiful walks, shops and restaurants.

We had been traveling for over a week and found an outstanding service laundry only two blocks away - New City Laundrette - - highly recommended and my clothes have never been as professionally folded. Also, please don't miss eating at the Oakwood Restaurant, 6 miles out of town - - especially great if you are looking for a reasonably priced and delicious roast and yorkshire puddintg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Power18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magneil31, Owner at Bluebell House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello. Thank you for a great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so convenient. I'm also really pleased that you enjoyed the Oakwood restaurant as it's one of my favourite places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
0 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 232 in Inverness
802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#12 of 232 in Inverness
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#10 of 232 in Inverness
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell House

Address: 31 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebell House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebell House is a traditional Scottish, family run guest house. Our aim is to provide an excellent standard of food and accommodation. Situated only four minutes walk from the town centre and with off street parking we are the ideal base from which to enjoy the town centre amenities and restaurants and also explore the beautiful highlands. Our king size four poster beds are very popular with those planning something of a romantic style getaway. Come and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluebell House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing