We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking here is a MUST -fantastic and wonderful experience”
Review of Heronwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heronwood B&B
Ranked #194 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at Heronwood for a family long weekend and were blown away with the beauty of the property and its surroundings (online photos do not do it justice). We had full access of the whole property as a self catering rental. Angela could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed and more. This is very much a home from home property with Angela's own art work on the walls making us feel warm and welcome. There were dressing gowns in the rooms and Angela kindly showed us round and advised us how everything worked. Always at the end of the phone if you ever needed her. It is a property that you would be more than happy to make your own family home. Already recommended Heronwood House to both family and friends. Thank you Angela, we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Every room is spacious and very welcoming. Beds allow for a wonderful sleep
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Heronwood B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Before our visit to Inverness, we were browsing the net for a nice, small B&B - the one we found was full because of the marathon that weekend: fortunately, Heronwood was recommended to us! Wasn't that a stroke of luck? We arrived late afternoon on the Sunday, and were warmly greeted by Angela, shown to our room overlooking the River Ness and allowed to settle in with a nice cup of tea. We asked for an earlier than usual breakfast the following morning, which was no problem at all, as we were heading by train to Kyle of Lochalsh. The breakfast we chose of fruit, the usual bacon etc and salmon with scrambled egg, toast and tea/coffee set us up for the day (as it did on the Tuesday and Wednesday mornings). Our bedroom was tastefully decorated, had a huge king size bed, and a lovely bathroom with shower. The night-time views across the Ness to the "Island" were beautiful, with coloured lights on the footpaths clearly visible from the room. What a setting - no, or very little, traffic noise, just the gentle sound of the Ness flowing towards Inverness. This is a little gem of a B&B in a beautiful location, only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, and beautifully kept by Angela, whose art is to be found around the house. I think the saying in Scotland is "Haste ye back" - we certainly will.

Room Tip: One is en suite, one with private bathroom - take your pick!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n10tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice little B&B and a perfect hostess. Clean and lovely house and rooms. Nice breakfast with many options. Just 10 minutes to the city centre by a nice walk at the river. Car parking directly at the house possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

When we first stayed in Heronwood it was lovely had lovely breakfast lots of fresh fruit for your breakfast, There was two dressing growns in private bathroom down the hall.

The second visit on Saturday 18th June there wasn't any dressing growns when I told the land Lady she said they were in the wash, she got bit funny and said she will dry them. They should of been ready on the bathroom door.

The breakfast wasn't very nice hardly any fresh fruit just one egg, one bacon few beans it was like child's breakfast. I wouldn't go back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janevirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandhome, Owner at Heronwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We are delighted that you loved your stay at Heronwood on your first visit.
It was disappointing that on your second visit , you were not offered the complimentary bathrobe when you arrived.
We now have an extra stock of bathrobes to ensure all our guests have one on arrival.
It is most important to hear from our guests about our food and we regret that you were not given a satisfying breakfast on your second visit.
At Heronwood we provide a healthy option of fresh fruit, home-made bread and toast, tasty home-made jams and marmalade as well as a quality choice of cooked food.
Please accept our appologies and we would like to offer you a free breakfast on your next visit.
Best wishes,
From the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The B&B is an excellent choice for families. It is located next to the river Ness and the Ness islands, a wonderful place for a walk. young children could be taken to whin park (15 min walk). Walking along the riverside is a must experience. The city centre is notfar. The host was incredibly helpful and we felt like we were staying at our own home. Having breakfast overlooking the river was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our room was beautifully appointed and the B&B meticulously maintained. Angela makes her own bread and jams for breakfast.

Angela is a wonderful hostess, helping us with directions, locating an open gas station. We had to leave very early in the morning and Angela accommodated.

Nice walk along the river to several interesting restaurant choices.

Only minor niggle is parking is tight.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tezza2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

What a lovely bed and brekafast. Angela, the owner, was welcoming, friendly and polite and the property is lovely, very nicely decorated with a lovely lounge and decking over looking the River Ness. We never normally use the lounge in B&Bs but we did here and the decking area. The bedroom was comfortable, nicely decorated with a big private bathroom. Breakfast was also delicious. We stayed in several B&Bs during our trip around the highlands, including some 4* ones, and this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onlyscreennameleft30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
772 reviews
6.8 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
85 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heronwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heronwood B&B

Address: 16A Island Bank Road, Inverness IV2 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $102 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heronwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heronwood B&B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing