We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Gluten Free”
Review of Mardon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mardon Guest House
Ranked #53 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Chris and Val were amazing hosts. They made sure every desire of our holiday plans were met. Our party of 3 had a wonderful stay. They called cabs, made restaurant reservations, site recommendations and provided me with gluten free options all without ever having to ask. They gave us insightful information for all the local attractions. We went to a local music pub on their recommendations and had a great time. Location was great and the food well prepared with plenty of options.I want to especially thank them for their offer of gluten free options and knowledge of ingredients. To find gluten free products at all is rare, but to find options that also taste good are even rarer. 5 star expeience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights at the Mardon Guest House as part of golf holiday and can thoroughly recommend the establishment. The situation in central Inverness is good and the breakfasts are the best I have experienced at a guest house. The hosts Val and Chris were extremely welcoming and helpful and I would not hesitate to visit in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Mardon. The location is convenient, our hosts were very warm, informative and helpful, and the place was spotlessly clean. We stayed in a different B&B every day of our 10 day trip, and took a vote at the end - all four of us voted Mardon's breakfast the best. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writetojennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at Mardon this summer during a two-week tour of Scotland, and we both agreed that it was the best place we stayed the entire trip. Though the weather in Inverness was drab, Mardon is a bright, warm haven to go home to at the end of the day. The hosts, Val and Chris, were generous, helpful, and kind. The house was clean, spacious, and uniquely yet tastefully decorated.

Val and Chris were indispensable as well in helping us plan our days. They helped us with places to eat, and even checked the weather for us when we were planning on outdoor excursions. Chris is also quite a cook, and the organic breakfasts in the morning were fantastic.

We couldn't possibly recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_A_Adams529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here a week whilst golfing in the area. Good base of operations. First rate breakfast and lots of helpful advice to aid our trip. Good choice and good value.

Room Tip: Front rooms face onto main road which is busy during day but quietens in evening. Singles can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blott2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hosts are very kind. Though we wanted to add one additional stay, it was fully booked. But, they telephoned to another close guest house for our booking.
The room has a bathtub and is very comfortable. We would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushibomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stay at the Mardon Guest house on a regular basis with my work at Inverness. Chris & Val are very warm welcoming hosts.
Staying away from and missing my wife and children is a lonely experience, however Chris & Val have a lovely way of making me I am one of the family and not just a paying guest, this relates to their entire guest staying with them. Chris makes his own bread and I always scoff his home made short bread biscuits left in my room each day. The Mardon Guest house is only a five minute walk to the city centre and all the shops and amenities.
You will most certainly be well looked after when you stay at the Mardon Guest House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForresterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,828 reviews
6.7 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardon Guest House

Address: 37 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Mardon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing