We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Highway
Ranked #46 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here 18 months ago with friends and the rooms were a disgrace.up for one night for golf trip and only hotel left so had to book it.the hotel has had a total re fit and is lovley would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deek2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 535 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in September: check in was a bit of a hassle, rang the bell and waited for 5 minutes, with no answer I went next door to the pub (same hotel) to ask about checking in but before I got to the bar a woman who seemed a little harassed came and got me, she seemed annoyed that I'd left reception but was polite enough afterwards.
The room was nicely decorated, much better than I had expected and I have to say I was overjoyed at the prospect of having a bath... We got rid of ours years ago and it's a rare luxury these days!
The room was clean and had everything I needed- plenty of tea and coffee facilities and more tv channels than most hotels have; the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and well cared for- for what I paid I wasn't expecting much so was pleasantly surprised.
Food is available at the wetherspoons pub next door (7am-11pm I think) though there are plenty of great places locally also).
My only complaint with the room was that both street noise and foot traffic in the corridor were fairly high and from upstairs a small portion of un-carpeted floor combined with my upstairs neighbours high heels made for a fairly poor nights sleep; every time it quietened enough for me to drop off, something else would happen to wake me. This ain't really something the hotel can sort unless the next round of renovations result in better window insulation, the hotel is on a fairly busy street so it's likely to have some noise- and I think it's unlikely that people regularly clatter about in heels at 2 in the morning- my bad luck on this occasion I think. My advice- for a good quality, low price room book here- but bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taintedrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a night.
Lovely comfy bed,tea,coffee making facilities,great shower.
Close to main shopping street and night life but we did not hear any noise during the night.

Staff not very friendly however when we checked in and out did not really make conversation with us as to how or stay was etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice room not large but good for a few nights. Coffee and tea making facilities always a bonus. Terrific shower. Bed very comfortable. Hootananny's across the road a must for everyone. Very central. Would stay again.

Room Tip: we were at the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its close to all the amenities of Inverness and the Weatherspoons down stairs is ideal for a cheap drink or food. My room was very warm but the staff quickly resolved this my helping open the painted window and the supply of a fan. Not the cheapest room but not bad for inverness. would stay again.
John Cavanagh 7/10 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pros: Comfortable bed
Very clean - excellent shower
Quiet
Great location, two minutes from bus and rail stations
Great to have a Wetherspoons next door, for easy, cheap, good breakfast

Cons: None. I'd thought it might be noisy, but it wasn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and was very pleased. Hotel is very convenient right in centre of Inverness.Very close to bus / railway stations. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and roomy. The Hotel is part of the Wotherspoon Group so we had expected it to be a bit busy and noisy.Did get a bit busy but found no problem being too noisy. Some very good offers with meals which we thoroughly enjoyed.Would certainly recommend and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 234 in Inverness
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armadale Guest House
Armadale Guest House
#93 of 234 in Inverness
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $66 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing