We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have score 5 if security had been better.”
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King's Highway
Ranked #34 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would have score 5 if security had been better.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The room was really nice & the overall look and feel of the hotel and pub was nice.
The place (mainly the pub side) was still having a refit but even though they seemed to be working 24 hours a day didn't disturb my sleep.
There are two doors which you need to swipe your room card to enter, one from the street to reception and the other from the pub directly to the lift/stairs to rooms bypassing reception. These were generally left unlocked even when there was no-one at reception (I presumed to allow the workmen access).

However, upon returning to room on first night and placing card in slot to activate lights, we were shocked to see a man lying asleep on our bed !
The night receptionist came and checked all our room cards to find that this other mans cards did not activate our room door.

In his drunken state he had gone to the wrong floor and, because his card obviously didn't work, went to a member of staff who let him into our room without even checking his card !!
The receptionist couldn't apologise enough and said a full investigation would be done.

Apart from this one incident, we really enjoyed our stay and would have considered this and other Wetherspoon hotels again.
But 2 weeks after this we still haven't heard a thing from Wetherspoons, even from the direct complaint I sent to them after returning home, so can't add their response about it to this review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    211
    82
    31
    24
See reviews for
63
229
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, was surprised at how spacious the room was and how fresh it was. Apparently just recently refurbished hotel. Great location in the heart of the town, handy for the local restaurants and bars. The street outside was a bit noisey at times but this was to be expected as revellers left the bar next door. My stay here was very enjoyable and my wife agreed. Only downside was the fire alarm activating 3 times over the 2 nights we stayed. This was a fault in the system we were told by staff but at 2:30 am this was no joke. Would stay here again if they rectified the fault. Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels supplied.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry to hear the alarm activated and ruined your sleep. The alarm was recommissioned by Global Fire on the Monday but faults in this new work caused the activations. I'm pleased to say the alarm was fixed on the Wednesday though that won't help your lack of sleep.

I hope you will stay with us again, and my sincere apologies about the faulty alarm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at Wetherspoons hotel on our honeymoon as we had just 12hrs in Inverness on our way north. Knowing their pub grub to be of consistent quality and pretty much exactly what you pay for we thought the hotel would be the same. It was better!! Lovely lovely room. Newly decorated. Amazing shower. Food served til 10pm, affordable breakfast. We will be using the Wetherspoons hotels again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClearlyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review of the King's Highway. I'm pleased you were happy-what could we have done to get a 5?

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Another Wetherspoons pub that is well worth a visit. It is being redecorated at this time which is good as it is a bit dark in there.
We have been there many times and the staff are always excellent and the food very nicely cooked and the beers, SUPERB.
I had fish & chips served with garden peas and my wife had chilli.
My fish was perfectly cooked and the chips, supreme. The only thing that stopped me giving the meal 5 was food on cold plates and the peas, perfectly cooked but not very hot. My wife's chilly was excellent and not to hot. Again cold plate!
Tim Martin, THE BOSS, is a brilliant caterer and if most caterers followed his way of catering the standards of food in this country.
Value for money, 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review of the King's Highway. I'm glad you enjoyed the food. You mentioned cold plates-it's is a bug bear of Tim's but it's never been highlighted as an issue at The King's Highway. One for us to look into! You mentioned it was a bit dark, I'm pleased to say more lights have been installed int the pub as part of the recent works as this was a common complaint. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights last week in a newly refurbed room. Very large comfortable bed, large room and everything spotless. What's more it was very quiet - just what we like.
The Wetherspoons was fairly busy but not noisy, and good service.
Location is great - close to all amenities. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the King's Highway. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room was at the back of the hotel,noisy with the kitchen extractors,the shower cubicle was mouldy and not draining away.I complained to the web site and had no reply,this was June 2012 !The bar staff were great,The receptionist was not helpful when we complained.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi,
thanks for review of the King's Highway from June 2012. I'm sorry you dodn't receive a reply if you ever have any issues the best thing is to talk to our customer services team if you feel the pub tea weren't helpful. As it was so long a go I can't really deal with the issues you've raised, but i can say that we are undergoing a massive refurbishment so should you stay again you'll see the vast improvement in the quality of the rooms.

Thanks

The King's Highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on two separate nights last week. First night in a lovely room, king size bed, super shower, clean and spacious and obviously one of the newly refurbed rooms. Second night in what can only be described as a dire excuse for a hotel room. It was cramped dingy and the bathroom was a horrible tired space. n saying that this hotel is very close to the bus and train stations and the shops and the food is very good in the bar so when all the rooms are brought up to the standard of the first room i stayed then it is definately a good choice in inverness. The hotel has a very small car park so if you cant get parked the Rose Street car park beside the bus station is handy and safe and very reasonably priced (£4 for the day and £2 for each day after that). For the purposes of my review i have based my ratings on the refurbushed room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and at the rear of the hotel if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review the King's Highway. In a way I'm glad you saw both rooms so you could see the amazing improvements underway. I'm glad to say that as of Monday the 3rd there will be no old rooms left as the last 9 are being refurbished. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Thanks

The King's Highway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Property: King's Highway
Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing