We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcome but .......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Talisker Guest House
Ranked #147 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly welcome but .......”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We recently booked a one night stay at this establishment for ourselves and our 10 year old son. Prior to arriving, we were advised that he would be sleeping on a sofa bed in our room which was absolutely fine. I appreciated being warned about this in advance. Upon arrival, the welcome was very warm and friendly and the room spotlessly clean as was the en-suite. All fine so far. However, the room was far too small for us because by setting up the sofa bed, we could not walk around our own bed. This made the use of the wardrobe redundant as it was on the other side of the room and also meant that we had to climb over the bed either to get in or out of bed or worse, climb over one another to get to the bathroom during the night. Neither of which we found acceptable. Also, we were only given one pillow each when we believed there should have been two or at least, there should have been additional pillows available in the room if we needed them. The room was located on the second (attic) floor and as such, you had to bend over to reach the tea/coffee and more than once, we banged our heads. At breakfast, the hostess was very friendly and again, everything was spotlessly clean but the breakfast was less than filling. As I don't eat beans, my cooked breakfast consisted of only one sausage, one piece of bacon, one egg and a triangle of tattie scone. Nothing more. In fairness, there was fresh yoghurt to eat as well as bananas and apples on offer plus cereal AND we were offered more coffee or toast. However, with neither tomatoes, mushrooms or black pudding on the plate, I believe the breakfast should have been much more substantial with at least two sausages and two rashers of bacon plus the egg and beans or tattie scone we were given. It was by far, the smallest cooked breakfast we have ever had and as such, will not be returning unless they reconsider the portions and the size of the 'family' room. The room cost £105 for one night which on reflection, was far too much for the squashed surroundings and disappointment we experienced at breakfast time. We cannot however, fault the quality of cleanlieness or the hostess's warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerchicEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We where trying to find a B&B for the next 2 nights online during our recent tour of Scotland, but they all appeared full up. So we stopped at the Tourist information office on Loch Lomond and asked for there help.

We assumed that they had a better data base than we had online, but all the women did was look on the internet and found this place. So running out of choices we booked it and paid the fee.

We arrived here early evening and was a little surprised by the old boarding house feel of the place when we entered. The room we had over looked the river with its nice walk way on each side.
The room had a small shower and toilet built into at. The whole feel of the place was traditional B&B.
The women that was running the place made as feel most welcome and went out of her way to offer my wife something different from the normal B&B breakfast.

She said that most of her customers where regular visits and not people that booked via the tourist board.

The place is in a very good location with its on car park and just a few minutes walk from the town center.

The walk also out of the town along the river and across the 2 islands is very nice.

Overall this is a throw back to B&B like it used to be.

The warm welcome made up for the lack of what was missing in the house.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea-triper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Up in the highlands area so I used Inverness as a base camp. . Location was excellent looks onto the river 2mins walk into town. Room had ensuite bathroom and TV so I was happy with that. room was very comfortable and fresh great water from taps and the breakfast was excellent! warm welcomed by the owner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We recently spent three delightful nights at the Talisker Guesthouse in Inverness. Located along the river bank, it is ideally located for exploring the town, and is only five minute’s walk from many good restaurants. Our room was delightful – very clean and well appointed, with a lovely view across the river. It was also pleasure to have a nice hot shower in the spotless ensuite bathroom, something we have found a bit lacking in other guest houses. I’ve read a review here that complains about the beds and décor, but I would have to disagree – our bed was lovely and comfortable, and the décor was modern and fresh. The cosy atmosphere of the house, along with the friendly owners, made it feel like a home away from home. The owners, Moray and Phuong, were friendly and helpful, and they made sure that we had everything we needed (I asked for a chair in the room and it was there in a flash). We also had a nice breakfast each morning, personally cooked to order by Phuong, who is a lovely, bubbly lady. She insisted on sharing her Vietnamese coffee with me (delicious!), and cooked up some tasty noodles for Andrew to try. If ever we get back up that way, I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Front rooms have river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I must say that this is one of the best guest houses I have ever been to. First of all it is situated next to the river ness with a great view. On top of that there are several other benefits such as private parking, internet access, breakfast etc. Each morning I could customize my breakfast from the menu and also decide when I would like to have it served. Very nice hosts and rooms! I warmly recommend this guesthouse!

Room Tip: The rooms toward the river ness has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTROAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We ended up here as the MacRae Guest House, next door, was full. We give Talisker top marks for location and parking; on the river and off street free parking. There was only one room available at Talisker when we arrived at 4 pm. Being on the back side of the building it was very quiet, however, the bed was the old spring style and the mattress was lumpy. Being in such a great location and offering free parking this guest house is very popular, however, we found it to be overpriced (80) considering the quality of the bed, linens and towels in this room; all need to be upgraded. Some of the other rooms may have better beds, linens & towels. It does have a great location and it is only a few minutes into the centre of the city or across to the theatre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Really enjoyed our one night stay here. Elegant and relaxed this place has it all. Our room was spotless and decorated with care.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#55 of 231 in Inverness
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#9 of 231 in Inverness
374 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#110 of 231 in Inverness
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talisker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talisker Guest House

Property: Talisker Guest House
Address: 25 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talisker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive period house conveniently situated on riverside within 5 minutes walk of Inverness City Centre and close to restaurants and bus and rail stations.Private car parking and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Talisker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisker Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing