We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Just lovely!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Tomnahurich Bridge House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tomnahurich Bridge House
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
24 reviews
Tomnahurich Bridge House
Living Room
Living Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Fully-equipped kitchen
From across the canal
Map from the 1790s
Side window
Guest book
Front window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whoopa
Paisley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely comfortable cottage which sits in a beautiful spot on caledonian canal. It is extremely well stocked with all essentials even down to herbs and spices in cupboard. We had a lovely relaxing comfortable break here with added entertainment of watching all the boats going up and down through the swing bridge right in front of us. I can't wait to book this lovely cottage again and have been back on the website already checking out availability. Loved the log burner too.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location beside canal
Liked least: Stairs bit steep
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beng 'Canalside'
Liked least: Only there for 4 days
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mrchrisjo...
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage let down by some avoidable niggles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is strategically located out of Inverness on the road to Loch Ness with easy access to all the Scottish highlands has to offer.

The cottage is very homely but let down by:

1. A dangerously hot and uncontrollably shower

2. Meanness by the owners in not providing anymore than a single toilet roll or any kitchen roll or dishwasher tablets

3. No welcome pack for visitors with basic groceries

4. A pest control issue as mice could be clearly be heard in the property

5 Disturbances every day before 8am by the Scottish canal staff accessing the property storage sheds for their lawn mower

Overall a nice cottage but not worth the money!!

2 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback – we’re always looking for ways we can improve our guests’ stays with us.

Regarding the issues with the shower, we have investigated but have found no faults in the equipment. We do provide a contact number for guests to report any issues, should a guest get in touch with us during their stay we do all that we can to rectify the matter.

While we do provide the essentials such as tea, coffee, linen, towels and toiletries, Tomnahurich is a self-catering property. Guests that would like a little extra during their stay can request one of our luxury hampers but we do ask that this is booked in advance.

We’ve found no evidence of any pest issues within the property but we do have sonar deterrents in place. Please note that Tomnahurich is more than 200-years-old and, as such, is prone to making the odd unusual noise in the night!

Apologies if our overeager staff disturbed your break. We will investigate the issues with access and look into alternative storage for the lawnmower.

We aim to give our guests the best experience possible and provide contact details should any guests wish to get in touch with us directly to discuss any matter more fully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything was great!
Liked least: It could have been a bit warmer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isle Of Lewis
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Isles
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing