We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Woodland Hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Well equipped kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed Twin room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed
Twin room
Living room with TV, DVD and freeview
The view across to the west from living room
One of our local visitors
The local Reelig glen forest walks are just a 3 minute stroll from the door.
Even the tallest people will feel short next to the giants in the 'Fairy Glen'
Stunning local sunsets, although in summer they are rather late in the evening.
Views to the North with Ben Wyvis and its longer walks.
Local beaches have stunning views and plenty of room to exercise dogs (and children!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Chipperdo...
Attleborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woodland Hideaway”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Satchwell was warm and cosy, tucked away in the woods and surrounded by wildlife. It was quite a way out but if you want peace and quiet this would be the place to go. Little tip:- Take your bird book with you as we must have seen about 14 different ones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wildlife
Liked least: The distance from Inverness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

If one is need of peace and quiet, a place to recharge battieries, Satchwell and Baillie are the places to be.

The area is abundant with a variety of wildlife, birds, as mentione. There have also been sightings of badgers, red squirrels and pine marten too.

Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Satchwell. We hope the dogs enjoyed exploring the garden and the surroundings.

Thank you agin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moira R
1 review
“Woodland Haven”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The surroundings are beautiful, and just a short drive into Inverness. There are lots of birds and we saw a red squirrel every day. The cabin has all the amenities required to make for a comfortable stay and the extra touches of wine, biscuits and milk made us feel very welcome. The only thing missing is a fan! We were there during some hot weather and the cabin was like an oven. However, that didn't spoil it for us - we just bought one. My teenager wasn't happy with no wi-fi, but we were grateful that there was none. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - its very peaceful with lots of wildlife
Liked least: There was no fan, and the cabin was very hot in the evening.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We don't advertise the welcome pack as we think its a nice surprise for our guests, especially after a long journey.

We have thought about installing wi-fi but haven't yet as the lack of it is not mentioned all that often and the majority of our guests appreciate the wildlife and the peace and quiet of the chalet and its surrounding area.

Having a fan at the chalet would be a good idea, thank you for the suggestion. We will look into them.

Thank you again and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Satchwell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D
1 review
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very comfortable chalet everything that you needed ,including a welcome pack which was very much appreciated The peaceful location and wildlife was amazing with daily visits from the red squirrels and numerous different birds .Could not have wished for anything more
Thank you Daniel and Sarah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful Location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so glad top hear that you enjoyed your time at Satchwell and that some of the wildlife came to say hello during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornajk
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic forest stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely stay. Greeted by a welcome pack of wine and shortbread, very comfortable and well equipped.
We loved the privacy, peace and quiet with a secure garden for our son and dogs to play.
The nature was amazing with an abundance of birdlife and daily visits from the red squirrels.
The Reelig forest on our doorstep gave us breathtaking walks and main attractions such as Loch Ness were just a short drive away.
We would love to return and would highly recommend.
Best escape from it all stay we've had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so lucky to live where we do and enjoy being able to share what we have on our doorstep with our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future for more peace and quiet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice W
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A comfortable chalet in a woodland location - fabulous red squirrel visitors!”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This chalet was everything it said on the tin! Clean, cosy, and in an easy location the holiday cottage was basic but adequate and very clearly cared for. The welcome package was such a lovely touch - thank you! There were red squirrels all over the place (we put nuts out and only saw them when we stayed put for the day) but unfortunately we didn't see any deer, badgers or pine martins! Would have loved a bit more of a snippet of an open view but that's my personal thing - it was nestled amongst the trees. The property was well placed to access Inverness, Loch Ness and the Black Isle amongst other places, and made for a lovely holiday base.
Overall a really lovely holiday and great place to stay - we hope to return next year. I would definitely recommend (though on my wish list would have loved a log burner and hot tub and some comfier sofas!!)
Thanks Reelig!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
We are in constant battle with the undergrowth and trees as we aim for there to be a view from the chalet and enough cover for the wildlife to get to the chalet but also try and keep some privacy for our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_mal...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights early Oct 2015 with our two children and dog. We all had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys the outdoors. The lodge is cosy, very clean and comfortable with everything you need. The Tall Trees walk is just a short stroll away and we were lucky to hear the deer calling in the morning during our stay. We also had regular visits from a red squirrel. A lovely "away from it all" spot but still close enough to pop into Beauly for provisions in just a few minutes drive. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you all had a lovely time. It is definitely a great "away from it all" spot, enhanced by the surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing