We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER EXCELLANT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ness Guest House
Ranked #6 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SRQFLORIDA44
2 reviews
“SUPER EXCELLANT”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Susan is 2nd to none. Hospitality is super and the cooked breakfast and the continental exceptional. Nothing is too much trouble. Close to the town, and Hotels for evening meals. the room exceptionally clean and well supplied.
See you soon Susan & Richard. A very Happy Successful NewYear to you both.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRQFLORIDA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for giving us such a great review, really kind of you. It was lovely to meet you, I particularly enjoyed our 'soapbox' sessions in the mornings, putting the world to rights! We'd love to have you stay with us again. If the whole family are coming over to Scotland, then look us up, as it would be nice to meet them all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
245
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such a lovely stay. Warm welcome, great hospitality and dining/entertainment recommendations. Our room was tastefully decorated and perfectly cleaned, bathroom also very nice. Breakfast was made to order - so very fresh as well as lot's of home baked choices! Lovely neighborhood only 5 minute walk from town. Nice pub literally across street. The hospitality we experienced here was dare I say - perfect! Thank you Ness Guest House for making Inverness a highlight of our trip :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you Michael for a lovely review. It was great to meet you and Renae. We're pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Glad too that you liked everything that Inverness has to offer. If you come back to explore the Highlands again, do come and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Warm friendly welcome. The standard of the room was excellant, wide variety of options for breakfast. The ownwers were always on hand if you ever needed anything, well situated close enough to the town centre, woud highly recommend The Ness Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masonman1 K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. It's always good to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay. Lovely to meet you. Have a great Christmas with the family, all the best for the New Year and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely guest house for two nights in December. Location is excellent with parking - just 5 mins walk to the heart of the city. The hosts were so welcoming and warm with some great suggestions for things to see and do, and places to eat. Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed, and fantastic shower in the en-suite. There were lots of lovely homely touches and tasty homemade goodies. We enjoyed the breakfast, really filled us up for the rest of the day! Definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for a super review! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. It was lovely to meet you both and it would be great if you stayed with us again. Glad you also enjoyed Inverness and especially your wee trip to see the beautiful scenery at Stac Polly. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Well tripadvisor was true to its word on this guest house. It was lovely and I can see why it gets such high reviews! Susan is very friendly, warm and welcoming. Her attention to detail in the breakfast choices ( fresh fruit, vegemite and Scottish pancakes plus much more) and even in the breakfast jam dishes and spoons is really special. The room was cosy and the guest house is central to downtown and an easy walk. Will definitely stay here again in summer months.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Canberrachooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you Suzanne for writing us a great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we'd love to have you stay with us again the summer. It's a shame Winnie never got to see Inverness in the snow, we had a wee flurry the day you left, typical eh!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a warmer reception than we received from Susan. Her attention to detail & helpful nature was exemplary. The house was neat as a pin, the room pretty & comfortable, breakfast kept us going all day, & the shower fantastic! We highly recommend The Ness Guest House & thank Susan & Richard for making Inverness a special place to visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Maureen and Ross for such a wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, especially as you're still on your holiday! It was lovely to meet you both and it's great to hear you really enjoyed your stay. Also good to hear that you had a good time in Inverness.
P.S. Hope the ferry crossing isn't too choppy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Susan was terrific! The room was cute as a button and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding! Susan is very talented and the presentation was amazing :)) Very close proximity to downtown (able to walk to grab a quick bite). We would definitely stay again. Thank you so much Susan for making our stay a warm, welcoming stay at home feeling. Would recommend to everyone!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiangals2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_and_Richard, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review. It was great to meet such a lovely family. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Inverness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 231 in Inverness
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness Guest House

Property: The Ness Guest House
Address: 48 Union Road, Inverness IV2 3JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation at The Ness Guest House in Inverness, Highlands. Centrally located at 48 Union Road, a quiet residential street in the Crown district, only a few minutes walk to Inverness Castle, the river Ness and the Eastgate shopping centre. A wealth of information on activities. Free private off-street parking. All rooms with modern en-suites. Free wireless internet access for guests. Tasty full Scottish or continental breakfast. Sorry we are unable to accommodate babies or children under the age of 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ness Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing