We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr J Lindsay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ness Guest House
Ranked #6 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at this excellent guest house. The place was spotless and very
nicely furnished with a huge bed. We will definitely be coming back to this place.

There is a lovely walk down by the river, and loads to do in Inverness.

We found Inverness very friendly.

Room Tip: the room we had which was room 4 had a fantastic gigantic bed. Was lovely and quiet, All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

It's great that you reviewed our guest house Jo, we appreciate it. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 383 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful guest house. Close to the town centre but still remarkably quiet. Breakfast definitely sets you up for the day ahead :D

Bonus points for having the sense to install shower heads that go higher than 6ft, rather than having to fold myself in half to get my hair wet.

Thank you Susan & Richie. We are looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yerocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Many thanks Lee for such a positive review, we always try our best to make the guest house as comfortable as possible for guests (of all heights!) and having decent powerful showers at a useful height was a must for us.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well, what can I say about this lovely guest house? Perfect from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The owners are a lovely, friendly couple who are very accommodating.
My husband and I stayed in room 4 which was bright, airy and comfortable. The bed, was huge and very comfy ( nearly didn't get up for breakfast). There also was a telly with a DVD player along with tea and coffee facilities in the room. The ensuite was clean and lots of goodies, soap, shower gel etc.
As for breakfast, well best meal of the day and such a large choice. I had a cooked breakfast as did my Husband which was very tasty. My Husband had haggis, black pudding and Tattie scones with his and thoroughly enjoyed it. Portions sizes just right.
The dining room is a nice room with a beautiful fireplace.

This is our second time travelling to Inverness but first time at this B&B and we will be back. It is ideally placed to walk into Inverness centre but also to get out onto the main routes for sightseeing. Combined with the warm welcome, comfy room and fabulous breakfast we would highly recommend.

Couldn't fault this guest house at all.

Room Tip: Room 4, large, comfy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hi Joanne, thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this and hope that you will stay with us again.
Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I booked last minute to this lovely Guest House and couldn't have been more fortunate. The accommodation is lovely, clean and very comfortable. The hosts attentive and helpful and the value for money was exceptional.
Our room was quiet and beautifully furnished. Ness Guest House is only a short walk from the City Centre of Inverness and all the local amenities and shops. Off street parking is great and the breakfast was second to none.
We highly recommend this Guest House which provides hotel quality accommodation for BnB prices! Fantastic. We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pammie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many thanks Pam for such a great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we're pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and see us when you're next in Inverness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Ness Guest House in July and found it to be one of the best we have ever stayed in. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We had a very good and comfortable nights sleep and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The facilities were clean and of a high standard. Inverness is always great to visit, there is so much to see and do. Hunting for 'Nessie' on the boat trips is great fun, the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre at Drumnadrochit is a must as is the Seal and Dolphin centre in North Kessock. We will certainly be visiting Inverness again and will definitely stay at The Ness Guest House!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us a great review. We enjoyed having you stay with us at The Ness and are pleased to hear that you had such fun in Inverness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at this great wee guest house in august for 3 days, the hosts Richard and Susan could not of been more helpful with making sugestions for local thing to see and do, the room we had was perfect and very comfortable, the breakfast was lovely and a varied choices, we will be going back next month.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many thanks Simon for reviewing The Ness Guest House. It was lovely meeting you and your wife and we're pleased your stay was comfortable. It was great that you returned later on in the year for another weekend in Inverness and chose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hosts, Susan & Richard Tocher were very nice & helpful with directions & information. The room was very nice, cozy. Ensuite was gorgeous! A bit off the beaten track, (makes it quiet) but only a 2 minute walk to the town centre. Breakfast was plentiful, best porridge I ever ate!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oastreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T, Owner at The Ness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, especially the porridge! Thank you so much for reviewing us. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you had a memorable vacation in Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#10 of 232 in Inverness
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#12 of 232 in Inverness
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 232 in Inverness
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness Guest House

Address: 48 Union Road, Inverness IV2 3JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $100 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation at The Ness Guest House in Inverness, Highlands. Centrally located at 48 Union Road, a quiet residential street in the Crown district, only a few minutes walk to Inverness Castle, the river Ness and the Eastgate shopping centre. A wealth of information on activities. Free private off-street parking. All rooms with modern en-suites. Free wireless internet access for guests. Tasty full Scottish or continental breakfast. Sorry we are unable to accommodate babies or children under the age of 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ness Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing