We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find”
Review of Ship Space

Ship Space
Ranked #15 of 86 things to do in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Free. 10am - 3pm. Includes 1:10 scale Titanic model and exhibit.No parking, drop-off only. Nearest parking Telford St Retail Park.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you are a Titanic enthusiast, don't miss this little free gem. It looks a little cluttered, but well worth the visit. We particularly enjoyed watching a film of the discovery of the Titanic. You have to park a few blocks a way, but well worth the walk.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank knightrider39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    10
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at this museum myself and the children were fascinated and as we discovered more we were amazed at the love and dedication gone into this place. The children enjoyed the quirky play area and we also enjoyed the pretty and quaint tearoom. I've never been to anything like this before and we had a lovely afternoon enjoying time together. The children enjoyed the interactive displays and dressing up. We met the creator and owner, he was a delightful chap. The Titanic museum is free with a donation box in which proceeds go to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution, what a fantastic cause! I highly recommend this place to families with children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Noemie-Marie-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bizarre, eccentric, mad but enjoyable!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Well, what can I say about this? The entrance to the museum scared me (especially after reading the reviews on here) - an old gate tied up with string which leads you to what looks like a scrapyard. It is to a degree - to me this place is the guy's hobby that he has transformed his house into, is passionate about it and wants to share it with everyone. There is no charge, so how can you complain??

You go up the stairs to the inside museum. We had our son who is 7, daughter who is 4 and cousin who is also 7 with us. There was a small area inside that had puzzles etc, and they happily played here for about half an hour with each other. Lots of memorabilia on the walls about all sorts of things. Then you go downstairs and there is a lifeboat dinghy which the kids can get in, a box of dressing up hats etc and an inflatable life raft. Again, all a bit bizarre but the kids LOVED it!!

Then you head outside - it is a health and safety nightmare, but if you look beyond that it is a great place for kids. If you don't like your kids climbing up trees or getting dirty etc then don't bring them here. There is a very small climbing area with a slide that they played on, a real life boat which they went on and in, a model Titanic which you can also go in (it is a bit strange with dummys the kids didnt like), and an underwater sea submarine - again which they went in.

We walked up the steps at the back which lead to the river to find somewhere for lunch, but the kids wanted to go back.

If my husband and I went here on our own, I think I would have been disappointed, but the kids loved it. Its free and as people have said on here before rather quirky!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank juddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb quirky attraction!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Took my two kids to this and they loved it, as did we. How refreshing for kids to be able to touch and feel things, this is what sparks their interest and keeps it. Had a great time and will definitely return on our next visit to Inverness.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Titanic Trash”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

After reading these reviews we decided to visit the Titanic Museum as part of our tour of Inverness. We walked half an hour from the city centre and were looking forward to having a look around! Don't be fooled by the glowing reviews on here........the so called 'museum' should change it's name to 'scrap yard', there is nothing remotely interesting about a mans strange fascination with making poor copies of titanic memorabilia and his obsession with security cameras. A very strange place that in my opinion shouldn't be marketed as a tourist attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank jigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Space also viewed

 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Ship Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing