We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please touch (the exhibitions)!”
Review of Ship Space

Ship Space
Ranked #18 of 90 things to do in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Free. 10am - 3pm. Includes 1:10 scale Titanic model and exhibit.No parking, drop-off only. Nearest parking Telford St Retail Park.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Please touch (the exhibitions)!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A very interactive museum where visitors are encouraged to touch and play with the exhibitions. It is a fascinating collection of everything Titanic & naval by an avid fan, ex-electrician, friendly owner and host, Stanley. He is a local celebrity known for the Titanic prototype in the museum's backyard, whose construction has lasted for 12 years to this day. The inland ship has a lovely seating area inside, while on the exterior there is a horn and a funnel which produces real sound and smoke. There are also a wide range of Titanic posters and collectibles from all around the world on display. Kids (and adults alike) can play with the robotic, mechanical and computer exhibitions. Though people don't go to Inverness to see Titanic, you just cannot miss this one!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank regigigina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Ship Space, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks very much. Yes it has taken 12 years and it will take another 12 years to finish it to my satisfaction. It's a bit rough right now but once the hull plates are on the model it'll look a lot better.
Actually, I'll probably always be adding and refining parts to the model outside. I haven't done anything for a year to it as I've been busy with other interactive things for the museum.
Thanks again for your nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    45
    11
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to visit!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

An interesting place that creates a lot of fun! Free for entrance, Titanic model which contains a bed room, a coffee room and an engine room. You can enjoy a cup of coffee or tea in the cafe room in the model, which is funny!

Helpful?
1 Thank Perfect_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Ship Space, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your comment, we aim to please and we hope to add more exhibits. I am getting good comments about the museum and it is motivating me to add more exhibits. I am planning a pirate ship and perhaps a Viking ship next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love anything to do with the titanic so I jumped at the chance to visit this very unique museum, and I wasn't disappointed. The time and effort the owner has put into this project was amazing. He was an excellent host. Loved looking at all the pictures and watching the video on show. He said it is still a working progress so can't wait for a return visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cher9687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Ship Space, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Haste ye back, we have added many more movie posters such as A Night to Remember, Raise the Titanic etc.
I like doing the curator bit, moving stuff around, changing things and adding more, it's all good stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Long Way from Southampton”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a strange place to find The Titanic but well worth a visit if your ever in the Inverness area. Make sure you take your camera.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Ship Space, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your review, I've recently just added more Titanic movie posters to the exhibition. Some of them dating back to 1943.
Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Titanic! a unique experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a truly unique, wonderful experience in today's world. I wish the owner all the very best in making this venture a success. Good luck to you sir, and many thanks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S F, Owner at Ship Space, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your generous comment, I do want to add more things, boats etc but I'm running out of space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Space also viewed

 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Ship Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing