We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Looking for a cosy cottage. Look no further”
other travelers have booked this property
Bothy in July
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
side of Bothy in u-shape
Logs
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
Bothy front door
View of Cottages
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TomandCou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Looking for a cosy cottage. Look no further”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Along with a group of friends we took all three of the Balblair cottages and they were perfect for the weekend.
The Bothy in particular was exactly as describe online, if not better.
The location is perfect for the airport and Fort George as well as walks around Loch Ness (you would need a car)
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, you should stay here. If there are more of you, use one of the bigger cottages - they are great too!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia196...
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look no further....”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There us no better place to stay...it was beautiful, immaculate and had everything needed to make it a comfy home from home...I cannot recommend it enough. Barbara and her family were friendly and welcoming....I will definitely be back :-)

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2014
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Bothy cottage and that you highly recommend Balblair Cottages! We look forward to having you stay in the future. Best wishes, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley F
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“5 Star holiday accommodation - YOU NEED TO BOOK NOW”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked this Bothy on the recommendation of Trip Advisor and both my husband and I were blown away with the excellent standard of the accommodation. The Bothy is small, quirky and cute – if fact we started to call it home by the second day - it comes equipped with a washing machine, dish washer, a fully refurbished kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating and a lovely seating area outside.

We found this to be a fantastic spot for travelling up and down the coast and wonderful day trips like the Jacobite Railway which goes over the Harry Potter bridge, dolphin spotting and of course masses of castles. You will find a massive book of things to do also provided in the cottage.

Barbara and her family were the most wonderful hosts and were on hand if we needed advise for days out or places to eat.

I would honestly challenge anyone to find anywhere better to stay – and no, I am not a family member.

Lesley and Ian

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent accommodation
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the Bothy cottage and the facilities provided. The cottage is an ideal base for touring the Highlands and we are pleased that it felt like home when you returned every night. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you in the future. Kind regards, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Holiday Home!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Myself and 7 other friends stayed in the Bothy and Barn cottages at Balblair for 4 nights in May 2014. Directions were perfect, easy to find the cottages! The cottages were clean and easily accessed with plenty of space for cars. We all thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would highly recommend Balblair Cottages! :)

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable,very well equiped
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 16, 2014
It feels great to be highly recommended! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Bothy cottage and the location of Balblair Cottages. Thank you for your review and for booking with us. Kind regards, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peggy3019
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived at around 4pm on the Saturday to be met by home made cookies on the table, Barbara soon popped over and explained how a few things worked.
The cottage its self was cosy with all you could need for a weeks stay - we just wished the weather was a bit colder so we could light the fire.
The location is good, 9 miles east of Inverness on the A96 within 15 minutes your on the A9 heading north towards Thurso or south towards Aviemore, within 25 minutes you're driving along the banks of Loch Ness. A nice quiet location, close enough to amenities such as restaurants or supermarkets.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing