We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal: very relaxing, cosy, comfortable...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bothy in July
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
side of Bothy in u-shape
Logs
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
Bothy front door
View of Cottages
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
V838
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal: very relaxing, cosy, comfortable...”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We arrived and met very warm, friendly and welcoming people; Barbara showed us where everything was and the bothy was fantastic; everything was there, including all the information that you could possibly need about the area - all neatly compiled in one folder. The stove was great - easy to light - and even though it was a cold week, we were always warm indoors.
The whole area was beautiful. We particularly enjoyed visiting Plodda Falls, Glen Affric and similar remote areas which were within striking distance of the bothy.
Food shopping etc was easy with a good choice of shops and supermarkets nearby. Eating out was really good both in terms of price and quality at the Cawdor Tavern. However, the Bandstand in Nairn did not live up to expectations - overcooked monkfish and veg is always a disappointment...
Overall, we had a fantastic week in a lovely property - so much so that we'd love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy property, friendly owners and location.
Liked least: No issues with this rental
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo H
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Bothy is in a perfect location and has a wonderfully relaxing aura.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in The Bothy, the four nights we stayed just weren't enough! The cottage was spotlessly clean, with everything needed for a self catering break. Barbara and her parents were very warm and although we didn't need to call upon them on our stay, we left with the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble for them to make our stay a good experience. The surrounding area is stunning but we would recommend a car as the location is a little 'out of the way', which is what makes it so quiet, we have never slept so soundly! We are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its hard to choose one thing, but possibly the location.
Liked least: The bath towels were a tad on the small side.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and Cosy”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a stunning week at the Bothy. Both myself and my partner needed a really good relax, and the cottage delivered this and so much more. We visited in February, and it was an absolute delight to return in the evenings to a warm and toasty cottage. The wood burner really sets it off, with plenty of wood available!

Location wise, Balblair cottages are perfectly placed to explore so much of the beautiful country of Scotland. The Cairngorms, Back Isle, Lochaber, Loch Ness, The Moray Coast and so much more are within easy striking distance. We were so lucky with weather, but are in no doubt that the cottage would have offered a perfect shelter if otherwise.

The Strachan family are so welcoming and friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending the week on their farm surrounded by the lovely animals (especially the beautiful ponies!). We will certainly be visiting the cottage again and would strongly encourage anyone who wants an uber-relaxing break in a fabulously cosy cottage in a gorgeous part of the world to pay a visit to Balblair Cottages and the Bothy.

Simply superb!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner and overall cosy feel of the place
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy, especially the wood burning stove. You certainly had fantastic February weather to get out and explore! We look foward to seeing you again one day. Kind regards, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPChrist...
Buchrain, Luzern, Switzerland
1 review
“It was a wonderful time in Bothy and the Highlands of Scotland.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Bothy and the Highlands of Scotland. The cake on arrival was simply delicious. Barbara and his husband are very friendly and accommodating. We found everything what we need for a good time. There is much to explore in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilea S
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
“The perfect way to really experience the Highlands.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Lovely little farm on the outskirts of Inverness, with a beautiful view and a couple of wonderful cottages. We had an excellent stay in Bothy. The family was wonderful and very helpful, the cottage was cozy and clean and provided everything we needed. I would highly recommend Balbair Cottages to anyone passing through the Highlands, and if I ever head back that way I know exactly where to book my stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homy, cozy feeling
Liked least: It was a little far from the city
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect countryside break”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Bothy at Balblair Cottages. The owners made us feel very welcome and even made us brownies! The bothy itself is absolutely spotless and very comfortable - anything you may need has been thought of. The area is very peaceful and feels very rural, and yet is only a short drive away from Inverness city centre. It is a great base to visit the surrounding countryside. The owners told us the best place to spot dolphins in the Moray Firth and you will be able to see from our photos that we very successful! Thanks again to Barbara and family for making our stay perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing