We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Experience Tours”

Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.12*
and up
Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness
More Info
$59.01*
and up
Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and...
More Info
$64.25*
and up
Royal Dee-side and Malt Whisky Day Tour from Inverness
Ranked #7 of 47 Tours in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansasville, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highland Experience Tours”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Last May, my sister I spent 5 days in Scotland and took 3 different tours to see as much of the country as we could. One of those days, we had our tour booked with Highland Experience Tours in Edinburgh to Oban. Our tour guide was Andrew and he was awesome! We stopped at Loch Lomond on the way over, spent the afternoon in Oban, stopped by the "whirlpool" before heading into town, stopped and explored Kilchurn Castle, St Conan Church and got to meet a Highland cow! We also spent some time in Inveraray. Andrew was very knowledgeable, had a great sense of humor and was just a lot of fun. It was a great day! Someday I hope to return to Scotland and when I do I'll be asking for Andrew at Highland Experience Tours! Thanks Andrew!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Sounds like a great day out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    44
    5
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood park
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great way to spend the day!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went on the long tour of Loch Ness. We started out by coach with our fabulous guide Kenneth. We toured up the loch to the sight of some ancient cairns. Going back we stopped at the Nessie exhibit and then on to ruins of the Urquhart castle. From there we returned by boat to Inverness. The scenery was very beautiful and the ride was very relaxing. All in all a wonderful experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One Day Trip to the Isle of Skye”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Skye is one of the most amazing places I have ever been - the pure beauty of the island is definitely breath taking and pictures cant really capture it.

However, if you have a car then you should drive there yourself rather than booking a day tour with Highland Experience. Don't get me wrong, if you like going in a group and enjoy having a stop-and-get-off-quickly-and-dont-have-time-to-enjoy trip and enjoy silly games then this is for you. I personally would have enjoyed going to only a few spots on Skye and have a walk around and enjoy the peace and beauty of the island rather than stopping several times for only 5-10 minutes to just get a picture and show people that you have been there rather than experiencing the island.

Furthermore, you will have the opportunity to have lunch and then later tea & biscuits with the group (which is not included in the price) and I suggest "Don't do it". First of all, the food is not really that amazing and instead of sitting in a hotel and eat your lunch inside, we went outside and bought some snacks at the near by coop and had a picnic at one of the breath taking beaches - the most peaceful moment we had on the island. We will definitely come back to Skye but that time around, we will rent a car instead...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Joining an organised tour is not for everyone and the more adventurous of us would prefer to hire a car and do it yourself. However many travellers enjoy the option of being able to sit back, relax and let someone else take the reins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to see the sights of the highlands”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Andrew our tour guide was an excellent guide, providing us with entertainment thoughout the entire trip. The sights and places we visited were breathtaking and i highly recommend anyone visiting Scotland to visit the highlands with this tour group, great value for money!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinjCaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Very Nice One-Day Tour to the Isle of Skye”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Overall, we had a nice one-day tour with the Highland Experience bus tour to the Isle of Skye. While it was pouring rain in the morning, Paul, our driver and tour guide for the day, made sure the tour was enjoyable. The fog was a little slow to lift but once we arrived at Eilean Donan Castle, the view was great and the castle looked beautiful and haunting set against the receding fog. There was ample time set for each of stops and, most importantly, we had a number of opportunities to get out and take in the scenery. One of the great things about this tour, was that Paul didn't just speak of the landscape, geology, and history of Skye. He talked of its residents, its local wildlife and flora, and even had played some songs by the group Runrig on the bus, a Celtic folk rock band based out of the Isle of Skye. We had some time devoted to exploring and dining in Portree, the largest town on Skye, which was a nice change from driving on the open road. We loved how the return trip took a different route than our original, going through vastly different scenery with dense forests and snaking rivers. We definitely would come back to see the rest of Skye and to stay a bit longer. Thanks Paul for a wonderful tour of the Isle of Skye!

Took the tour on September 11th, 2013.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland, Front Office Manager at Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Delighted your enjoyed the trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Highland Experience Inverness - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing