We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobbs

Cobbs
Ranked #168 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $5 - $64
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: friendly local cafe serving the best bacon roll in Inverness , real coffee , home baking , dishes of the day , traditional Scottish food ,
Inverness
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is one of the best value cafes in Inverness. The surroundings are not great; it is in an industrial suppliers in the Longman industrial estate but it is worth searching for. Prices are considerably less than many other overpriced cafes in Inverness and not at the expense of food quality. Service is always friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Cobbs, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We thank you for your kind review , and comment on the price being reasonable which is what we at Cobbs are about to give customers value for money with no compromise on the quality .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent soups and bacon rolls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Worth finding! Fantastic bacon rolls and good home-made soups! Self-service cafe really - not many tables and can be busy. Will be back though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FifeFlyerTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumnadrochit, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best value bacon roll in Britain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're ever in Inverness and enjoy a bacon roll then head for the Cobbs restaurant at HIS.

They do a bacon roll and coffee for £2.75. The coffee is great but the roll is phenomenal! So much bacon!

This is our weekly treat and is never less than excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Cobbs, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Keith ,

Thank you for your kind comments on our cafe at highland industrial Supplies , thanks for confirming that our bacon rolls are biggest and best in Inverness .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Our Kids love it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been visiting here for years to use the bar and restaurant and have never stayed.
The restaurant and bar need to update their proposition for the modern times and be a little more flexible and creative with customer needs and I agree with a previous reviewer in that after 10.00pm the hotel gives the impression of the world ending as their is no one around.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hopeless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Service is pretty much what you'd expect from a dog-eared local pub that doesn't really do food, and I think the staff would be more at home there. Not sure how this place succeeds, but I guess it's the sort of place where it doesn't really matter if you don't go back because there's another coach load of mugs due in next week.

Oh and if you complain to the duty 'manager' (think supervisor), expect apathy and the assurance that it's "not how we normally do things here". Clearly though, it is. Not the busiest of places on a friday night shall we say, which I think says it all.

I appreciate that good management is a skill, but in such a honeypot location surely this place can afford talented staff?

Helpful?
2 Thank lesaussice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCManager, General Manager at Cobbs, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I must admit we have never been compared to a "dog-eared local pub" before and you can clearly see that for yourself by looking at all of the fantastic reviews previous to this. We are graded by visit Scotland a 3 star hotel, and to get this grading each and every part of the hotel is inspected by an annomous person including the food and service in the restaurant. As you were just in for a meal, you would not have had the full hotel experience, however this is no excuse from my team as to why you did not receive the service you should have. We very rarely do business with the bus/group market, as we have a coaching hotel further down the road so I can inform you we succeed on our reputation of outstanding food and service and also our fantastic location. We regulary welcome repeat business back to the hotel, so much so we have special rates for them and have considered putting plaques above their doors!! Unfortunatly the night you were in for a meal our General Manager was covering a shift in the kitchen, as he is a trained chef and had been let down by one of the kitchen team this is why you were not able to speak to him. As mentioned to your family in my previous reply, it certainly isn't the way we work and I do apologise for the lack of service to your table however as you will notice on previous customer reviews our service is normally outstanding and we pride our selves on this. As the restaurant has such a good name locally, we are very busy and bookings are recommended. With the weather being so good on the day you were in, I beleive most guests dinned out!!

Once again I thank you for your comments, and assure you the staff have been spoken to re this one off incident and would welcome you and your family into the restaurant next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Rory Cameron
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobbs also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cobbs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing