We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant B&B in Inverness”
Review of Moyness House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moyness House
Ranked #25 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband, myself and my parents stayed at Moyness House in Inverness as part of the Rabbies Loch Ness-Inverness tour package out of Edinburgh. I have to say this was a beautiful, elegant B&B in a lovely part of Inverness. The Moyness House is furnished in high quality, tasteful decor, with many lovely antique pieces. Both bedrooms were very nice size and both were ensuite. Our bedroom was luxurious on the ground floor with a queen bed, flat screen TV and modern granite bathroom. My parents room was on the first floor and had two twin beds with flat screen TV and modern granite bathroom. What sets Moyness House apart is the attention to detail for the guests. There was high end Botanics lotions, soaps, shampoo in large refillable dispensers, sumptuous Egyptian cotton towels, bath robes in the closets, fully stocked tea/coffee facilities in both rooms. Breakfast was served starting at 8:00 am and was very nice in the lovely dining room. Breakfast was elegantly served with juices, coffee, tea, hot eggs cooked to your order, breakfast meats, choice of toast, cereals, fruit & yogurts. We walked into downtown Inverness from Moyness House in 10 minutes. Our hosts, Richard and Jenny Jones, were very gracious. I would highly recommend Moyness House if you are staying in Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank USExPatinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Moyness House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 521 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2007

What can we say - we know feedback and constructive critisism are helpful in the service business, but we really can't think of anything that could have made our stay any more enjoyable and comfortable. From our (accomodated, late) arrival on Friday night to our departure on Sunday, it was a thoroughly delightful stay. The room was nice and warm, the towels white and crisp and the breakfast delicious. The hosts' friendliness and assistance in our cycling plans and the loan of a map were also greatly appreciated.

We will recommend Moyness House to everyone who is going to Inverness!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed at Moyness House for 5 nights. GREAT LOCATION! For us, great location means walking distance but quiet street. We were less than 10 min walk from city center. Great great breakfast. Wonderful and friendly service. We would recommend this B&B for anyone. Rooms were average size, very very clean, great sheets on the bed with nice pillows. Richard and Jenny are great. We'll be back to visit Moyness House!!
For chauffeur service for the day (not as expensive as you think), contact Reah: [--]. She drove us all over the highlands, great service!!

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank mobeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Moyness House is a beautifully restored Victorian home within an easy stroll of Inverness city center. The owners were wonderfully accomodating, and gave great tips on dining, sightseeing, etc. The rooms were very comfortable, and nicely decorated. Breakfast was superb, and everybody in our group of four enjoyed their meal (full Scottish breakfast for me, and a variety of bread, fruit cereal, yogurt, etc. for the others). My only regret is that this was our first night in Scotland, and only one out of 5 of our subsequent B&B's came close to the same standard of quality and comfort. Would definitely recommend.

Frank, Atlanta, GA USA

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lollersby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stay at Moyness House recently. It was ok but at £50 pp per night I think it was over-priced.
Good points
- nice substantial house
- good lounge and dining room
- rooms nicely furnished

Bad points
- Not overly friendly
- Totally inflexible about time for breakfast - 8-9 on a Sunday morning - you;re having a laugh!
- opposite a council scheme
- a bit out of town - 20 min walk I reckon to get into town

Probably would not repeat my visit.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank DAFCNo.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyJo, Owner at Moyness House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2007

Unfortunately these guests booked themselves the wrong type of accommodation - a late breakfast was clearly extremely important to them, and a hotel, with more extended breakfast service times, would have been more suitable for their requirements. As much as we would have liked to oblige their request (made via a note left on the hall table late at night/in the early hours of the morning) for a late breakfast, our breakfast service times are constrained by our need to clear and clean the dining room and kitchen, bid farewell to our departing guests, and complete all housekeeping tasks before new guests arrive. This is the case for all guest houses and B and Bs.

The comment regarding price is misleading, suggesting as it does that these 2 people were charged £50 each to share a room. In fact, they chose instead to each reserve a double room for single occupancy - at £50 per room and including breakfast (which they received and appeared to enjoy).

Most people find that the walk into town takes less than 10 minutes - but for a general opinion check out the other reviews.

We have been welcoming guests (many of them returning many times) to Moyness House for 15 years, and make a point of being warm and friendly to all our guests, and we made no exception in the case of these particular guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We are a family of eight and we stayed at the Moyness House for three nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts were great. I have travelled around the world a bit but have never enjoyed the kind of hospitality that Richard and Jenny offered. They have thought of the small little detail that makes a huge difference.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank BangaloreOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

This is our second visit to Moyness House, Inverness and is excellent value for money. It is in a very good location , only taking about 7 minutes walk to the city centre.The house is beautifully decorated and the breakfasts are to die for. Richard & Jenny Jones are the perfect hosts being very friendly and welcoming. We will certainly return to this superb guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brendaredfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.9 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#11 of 232 in Inverness
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#8 of 232 in Inverness
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#24 of 232 in Inverness
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dionard Guest House
Dionard Guest House
#7 of 232 in Inverness
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyness House

Address: 6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $104 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyness House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and immaculately restored Victorian house was once the home of acclaimed Scottish author, Neil Gunn, and is now a highly regarded bed and breakfast inn, offering high quality accommodation and warm hospitality. Moyness House is ideally located in a quiet residential street, less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre and many excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moyness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moyness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing