We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great B&B near the Centre of Inverness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moyness House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moyness House
Ranked #18 of 244 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A great B&B near the Centre of Inverness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have stayed at this B&B on a few occasions and have always found it to of a very good quality. On the occasion when we stayed this time everything we could possibly require was supplied. The room is always clean and comfortable, and adequately heated. Breakfast is very good, with a good variety of choice, including some fish options, which are often missing at nay establishments.There is off road parking provided. It is not the cheapest place to stay near the centre of Inverness, but the quality makes the price worth paying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
80
273
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A delightful B and B within easy walking distance of the city center. The hosts are warmly welcoming and eager to accommodate. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable, and breakfast is a treat -- I know no one who can poach an egg better than Richard. He has also compiled a most useful set of suggested day tours to many other parts of the country. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a great place to stay! Owners were fantastic ! Nicely located close to restaurants downtown! Beds were comfortable and clean, bathrooms were excellent! Parking on the premises! Oh...almost forgot..breakfast was great too! Would recommend the moyness house over and over! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a splendid welcome from Richard, and we were made to feel immediately at home at Moyness House. The room was spacious, well decorated in contemporary style, and equipped with an excellent television/dvd, nice shower etc. When we asked for some fresh milk in our room for our tea and coffee, we were brought a thermos flask of milk!

The breakfast was consistently the best breakfast ever. The ingredients are locally sourced, delicious andcooked to perfection by Jenny. My wife opted for the scrambled eggs and salmon which she couldn't recommend highly enough and I had the full Scottish breakfast, all delicious and including black pudding and haggis!

We were lucky to be able to stay for five nights. In all, a superb place to stay in the centre of Inverness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Inverness and it exceeded our expectations in every way but what really made our holiday so wonderful was our stay at Moyness House. Jenny and Richard are fabulous and immediately made us feel very welcome. Our room was absolutely lovely and really thoughtfully decorated which created a wonderful ambience. The next day we sat down to a delicious breakfast which my husband and I agreed was the best breakfast we have ever had at any Hotel or B&B. Jenny and Richard had a lot of interesting and helpful advice for our stay and were genuinely interested in us which seems a rare quality in Hoteliers these days.
We were also pleased to find that Moyness House is in a great location and only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Inverness. Overall, our stay at Moyness House was exceptional. My husband and I travel a lot but we both agree that Moyness House is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Thank you Jenny and Richard!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for one night in a fantastic room, clean modern and well kept, every bit as good if not better than a room at the Hilton. Jenny is a great host friendly interesting and very helpful
Location of Moyness house is only a 5 minute walk to town, took Jenny's advice on a local bar and resturant for dinner, have to say it was great advice
I'm not normally a breakfast person but the cooked breakfast was great and the poached eggs perfect...take a minute while waiting for the eggs and read the page in the breakfast menu about the history of Moyness House it's a short read but interesting
Just one further comment on the room ( Neil Gunn room) it is better than the Hilton and I will be staying with Jenny and Richard next time I'm in Inverness
Thanks
Jeff Booth
Ps thank you for sending my I PAD charger back much appreciated .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in Moyness house for 3 nights in September for the Loch Ness festival of running. We stayed in the Neil Gunn room for our stay. Everything about this guesthouse was perfect. The house is very well maintained and the rooms are very relaxing and spotless. The attention to detail is second to none. The breakfast is first class with an excellent menu to choose from. We were welcomed to the guesthouse by Richard who accommodated our late arrival without any hassle and gave us advice on Inverness and the surrounding area. I couldn't recommend this guest house enough and will hopefully return here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-Collum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#14 of 244 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#16 of 244 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#3 of 244 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#10 of 244 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyness House

Property: Moyness House
Address: 6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyness House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and immaculately restored Victorian house was once the home of acclaimed Scottish author, Neil Gunn, and is now a highly regarded bed and breakfast inn, offering high quality accommodation and warm hospitality. Moyness House is ideally located in a quiet residential street, less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre and many excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moyness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moyness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing