We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grea place with a personal touch”
Review of Moyness House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moyness House
Ranked #17 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grea place with a personal touch”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A perfect B&B to stay, from A to Z, starting with Richard & Jenny's warm welcome, through the wonderful Ness Soap products in the bathroom to the individually prepared breakfast (the fresh-cut fruit salad is just gorgeus :-) and the overall quality unrivalled).
Our bicycles were looked after and safely stored, too.
We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Our room - Morning Tide - was one of the smaller ones, but perfectly ok. Bathroom with bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heike1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    41
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
83
280
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This was a fantastic B&B. We had a large, spacious room and bathroom. The location was quite central with only a short walk into town and off street parking available. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth19m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I have traveled extensively and stay in B&Bs whenever we can. The Moyness House definitely ranks in our "Top 5" worldwide for many reasons.

1) Jenny and Richard Jones -- Friendly, personable, outgoing, informative and ready to help. They make their home seem like your home-away-from home for whatever length of time your stay entails. Their breakfast menu (yes, there is a menu) has something for everyone and it's all freshly prepared to your liking (yum).

2) The House -- We had the Highland River Room (No. 7) for two nights and were very comfortable in the king-sized bed. The ensuite bath was very modern, clean and with plenty of water pressure. The toiletries supplied were top shelf and produced locally. The towels were plush. The room was sufficiently spacious enough so one can easily walk about and also enabled us to put two suitcases atop folding luggage holders we discovered in the closet.

The public sitting room is bright and spacious, with comfortable chairs, and is equipped with many books and brochures about Scotland and all it has to offer.

The house itself is situated about a 10-minute walk from downtown Inverness (restaurants, shopping, castle) and five minutes from the riverwalk, which is a beautiful experience, as you can walk away from town, cross to some islands, and then walk toward town on the other side, with the castle straight ahead of you.

Parking is in the rear of the property, adjacent to their beautifully manicured garden.

This B&B would serve as a good base for day trips to other parts of Scotland's west coast (Ullapool) and the isles, such as Skye.

All in all, an incredible experience and I wish we had stayed another night or two. Kudos to Jenny and Richard. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room just so you can avoid carrying your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler4833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our second stay at Moyness, having been there in 2011 as well. Wonderful location just a few minutes walk from downtown Inverness. Richard and Jenny are excellent hosts and Richard always has great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We especially enjoyed (again) his recommendation of Hootenany's for a nice pub with great Scottish music. This time were were in the Neil Gunn room (second floor) which is very large and spacious. The breakfasts were delicious. We highly recommend this B&B and will always stay there when in the Inverness area.

Room Tip: Highland River Room is located on the first floor, if that is a concern. The Neil Gunn room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickwithsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found this Bed and Breakfast Inn to be very cleanly and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The owners/operators, Richard and Jenny, were most accomodating. Richard was very helpful - each morning answering all our questions about Scotland and the local area. He suggested evening restaurants that we might enjoy. Told us of their favorites and gave us his thoughts on pubs and restaurants that were not on the "top of his list". We appreciated that very much. Jenny's made-to-order meals were very much enjoyed. We were an all adult family of six and we were all very satisfied and pleased with our seven-night stay at Moyness. Our hosts could not have been more cordial and accomodating.

Room Tip: If you require a large room, you will prefer the Neil Gunn. Otherwise all the other rooms that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just went to Scotland a few weeks ago and stayed at Moyness House. Jenny & Richard were great. We loved the breakfasts!! Jenny and Richard also were very helpful about any question we had, and any directions we needed! On top of all of this - it is a great buy!
PS-They have wash cloths for Americans!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Richard and Jenny are excellent hosts and the house is very nice. The rooms are reasonably large - the Neil Gunn is very big. We stayed at Moyness for 7 nights and I do not have a single complaint - only praise for this five star bed and breakfast. Moyness is a quick 10 minute walk into the heart of Inverness and a short 5 minute walk to bakery, grocery and pub and a 15 minute walk to the local pharmacy.

Room Tip: The Silver darling and Highland are on the first floor and both quite comfortable with king beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polstermills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#19 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyness House

Property: Moyness House
Address: 6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyness House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and immaculately restored Victorian house was once the home of acclaimed Scottish author, Neil Gunn, and is now a highly regarded bed and breakfast inn, offering high quality accommodation and warm hospitality. Moyness House is ideally located in a quiet residential street, less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre and many excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moyness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moyness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing