We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Always wanted to stay here and it didn't disappoint. We were greeted in the car park by one of the front of house staff which was a lovely touch. Even better that we were upgraded to a suite with the most amazing bathroom downstairs! Can't comment on the restaurant for dinner but the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and beautifully presented. Look forward to a return visit soon.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely words of praise with regards to your recent visit to Rocpool Reserve.

It is very welcoming to read that after your long awaited visit to Rocpool Reserve, you didn't leave disappointed.

In your review, you describe the room you had which is room number 1. You are very much correct that the bathroom does possess an amazing bathroom. Forgetting about the Extra Decadent rooms with hot tubs, I think room 1 is my personal favourite on the basis of the bathroom. I am happy you enjoyed and appreciated the complimentary upgrade.

Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 626 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were lucky to arrive in Inverness on a gloriously sunny day. All we really wanted to do was to relax in our own company (my wife and I). We had splurged and booked an "Extra Decadent" room, and Room 5 was just that, filling the bill for us perfectly. The bed was huge and comfy. The bathroom was very well laid out with a waterfall shower and an extra large bath. Then there was the private balcony with hot tub where we spent the next couple of hours catching the sun, drinking champagne, and being at peace - magnificent.
We had not booked to dine in the hotel as we wanted to leave our options open till the last minute, and as it was such a lovely evening we wanted to walk down into town. The manager was very helpful in booking us a table at the "Rocpool" in town (no connection seemingly) which was a 15 minute stroll, and where the food was magnificent.
Just a great night away from start to finish (the breakfast in bed the next day was also fantastic).

Room Tip: Room 5 (Extra Decadent) will have the sun from midday till sunset.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you first of all for choosing to stay at Rocpool Reserve and secondly for such a pleasant review of your time here.

I'm so happy that you managed to enjoy Room 5 to the extent that you did. It truly is a lovely room and for it to offer a terrace and private hot tub, it really does leave a "WOW" factor with guests.

I hope you'll be able to return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff at this hotel is beyond excellent! They were not only attentive and friendly, they treated my like one of the family. There are only 11 rooms in this hotel, so the whole staff knows which room is yours, so there is never any need to sign for drinks or food in the excellent restaurant.
The room was very comfortable, with a fireplace and heated towel rack.
The food in the restaurant was wonderful, easily the best I've had in Scotland.
The only very minor suggestion concerns the stairs in my room: the bottom stair was not very visible, especially at night, and I almost missed it once. Perhaps it could be lighted? Or carpeted like the rest of the stairs? Otherwise, my stay in this hotel was as close to perfect as it could get.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La-arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very valuable feedback and kind words.

At Rocpool Reserve, we like to think of it as "a home away from home" so to read that you found our hospitality to be similar to how you'd be treated by a family member, is quite the accolade indeed.

With Rocpool Reserve being a small 11 bedroom boutique hotel, we feel it very much within our capabilities to offer a more personal style of service that you may not always receive elsewhere. I am so happy that this impression was noted by yourself.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the neat future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a road trip around Scotland.
From the personal welcome in the car park to the settling of the bill our stay was perfect. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable and the food was excellent.
We stayed in room 6 and didn't notice any noise pointed out by a previous reviewer.
I left a pair of cuff links on the bedside table and they posted them to me without delay. Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulandjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful and very much appreciated review of your stay at Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux.

It is because of feedback such as yours that we continue to go from strength to strength in providing the highest of standards possible for all guests who visit.

I will make sure to share your kind review with my team who I'm sure will be as thankful for it as I am.

I hope to welcome you back at Rocpool Reserve in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just back from a lovely break at this gorgeous hotel. To start with we were greeted by a member of staff with a brolly as it was raining. Showed to our complimentary upgraded room and it was stunning. The attention to detail was amazing. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was gorgeous, and cocktails in the bar. Compared to cocktails in a bar in town this was amazing, and again the small details made it even nicer. Once we retired to our room we found the beds turned down, a card on the bed for breakfast in bed and also water and shortbread. Breakfast - amazing! The best I have tasted. Even the check out was flawless, you really deserve the fantastic reputation you had, keep it up. You made a birthday girl very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portaventuralovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Tripadvisor the praise kindly given with regards to your recent stay at Rocpool Reserve.

We believe very strongly that the little things and attention to detail are very important to every guest's stay so every effort is given to hopefully surpass expectations and offer an unrivalled service from check in to check out.

It is indeed a privilege to receive such a glowing report from you and indeed very pleasing that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room, to the bar area and of course the food.

It would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A great experience in a quiet ,excellent location close to town ( a walk).
The hotel staff were extremely helpful,friendly and could do nothing more to help us enjoy our stay.
Our room was an Exclusive double room - could wish for no more. Beautifully decorated, well laid out lots of room and a bathroom to die for with an enormous shower with lots of personal touches with Mugler toiletries.
The Michelin stared restaurant food was magnificent and the Scottish breakfast was the best, no fat, with beautiful local ingredients.
On the downside we found the bar area too warm as confirmed by the staff 'it's always like this' but we adjourned to the lounge so all was well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such an insightful review regarding your recent stay at Rocpool Reserve.

We believe very much at Rocpool Reserve that the small things are what makes a stay very memorable so the intricate touches to the bedrooms, the high standard of toiletries and whatever help all staff members can be, go along way to making any stay a favourable one. I am so happy that this shone through for you and helped make your stay so enjoyable.

Yes, on those occasionally warm days in Inverness, the Hotel can become warm but with the vigilance of the staff we will counteract this by opening additional windows and doors as well using the air conditioning. Our guests must be comfortable in all aspects and through this vigilance, it perhaps goes a little way to ensuring so.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night and organised a joint 40th birthday for 6 friends in the restaurant. The room was lovely and the bathroom massive.
The staff were extremely helpful and some nice touches in the room, like a bottle of water and a glass plus a plate of chocolate macaroons awaiting me after my night out.
Staff in the restaurant were lovely, helpful and very patient.
It was very warm in all areas of the hotel, but it's an extremely minor gripe as everything else was lovely.
Thanks for the birthday cake and making our evening memorable and special. The effort from the staff at Rocpool does not go unappreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, a happy belated Birthday. I am so happy that you chose to share such an important milestone with Rocpool Reserve.

We wish to make every guest feel welcome and also to give an experience to savour and from your review, it seems very much that we had done it on this occasion for you.

It was a delight to have you and your guests join us in the Bar and Restaurant and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future for I'm sure a very similar experience.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
644 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $184 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing