We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing dining experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a great evening, everything was excellent, from the minute we arrived to be warmly greeted, the special touches in bar for drinks, i.e. olives and nibbles, then taster, then to restaurant, the meal was amazing. We had set menu, the presentation was a work of art and the taste was delicious. I have no negative comments as the whole dining experience was exquisite. Thank you for a wonderful evening, i felt very special. Next trip to Inverness we shall stay at rocpool reserve too, i cant recommend highly eneough. *****

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. It is always good to read that our guests enjoy their dinning experience as our team of highly trained chefs work tirelessly to create some fantastic looking, but of course, fantastic tasting dishes.

We hope to have you back in the not too distant future and as you mention, perhaps for a stay over to complete the experience.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    101
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
57
407
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, Scotland UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for one night with an itison.com voucher in a decadent room.
The location is great for walking into town as it's very central. The room was beautiful, fantastic size and lovely decor with a seperate living area. Only thing is the location is a bit funny with no gardens etc so looked onto a neighbouring house so not that private.
We dined in the restaurant which was excellent, highly recommended. And if you went for the set menu would be excellent value for a high end meal.
The bar is very nice if not very busy, typically just one or two couples on a Saturday night waiting to dine.
In the morning we had breakfast in our room which was lovely and at no extra cost.
The best thing about our stay was the staff. They couldn't have been more accommodating. We enquired at short notice about an in room massage, when that wasn't possible they arranged it for us at a nearby salon which was fantastic.
Overall was a wonderful stay. Would have been perhaps a bit too pricey in our view without a voucher/special offer though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for deciding to write such a lovely review of your stay at Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. At Rocpool Reserve we strive for excellence in all areas and aspects of the Hotel in order that we may receive such accolades as you have offered in your review. I am fortunate enough to have a wonderful team behind me and if not for them, Rocpool Reserve may not be as highly regarded as you or others. I thank you for your comments with regards to the staff and I will pass them on.

All the staff at Rocpool Reserve hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Looking for a lunch venue we decided to try this Roux establishment. Location very convenient, front of house staff highly trained, facilities high quality but sadly, food below the standard expected from an establishment of this standing

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I wish to thank you for deciding to join Rocpool Reserve for the afternoon. There is a lot of choice in terms of where to dine in Inverness so to be first on your thoughts is wonderful. I am indeed pleased to read that you noted the high level of service that we wish to portray at Rocpool Reserve. I will pass these comments on to the team for their benefit. I am of course very saddened to read that the food wasn’t to your expected standard. Within our Chez Roux restaurant and under the close guidance of Albert Roux OBE KFO, we wish to produce an outstanding standard of cuisine. We are able to boast that we have some of the finest produce that Scotland has to offer and along with our team of highly skilled and trained Chefs, we wish to promote not just Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux but Scottish cuisine mixed with a Classic French style as a whole. Of course, my sincere apologies that on your recent visit, this wasn’t evident. I do hope that in the not too distant future, you will be able to join Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux for a better experience.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen-shire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the Rocpool Reserve and can only think of one word to sum it up. Awesome!

I booked the hot tub room, room 10, as a surprise present for my girlfriend. And it was everything we could have dreamt of. The service received was amazing. From the moment we parked the car the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Room was fantastic, the hot tub was just amazing.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night and it was simply out of this world.

We will definitely be returning later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reply with regards to your visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. I have to agree, the hot tub rooms are very special and that little something different for any occasion. I am happy to read that you also took the opportunity to dine in our Chez Roux Restaurant and it was enjoyed so much.

I look forward to you delivering on your word of a return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Second visit to the hotel. Can't fault it in any way. Stayed 2 nights in a chic room and had breakfast in bed both days. Effortless service that was attentive but not overbearing. Breakfast each day was gorgeous. As for the cheese soufflé - can only describe it as eating cheese flavoured clouds!! Looking forward to returning at New Year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve and I thank you kindly for reviewing your stay.
Breakfast in bed is a rare treat which I am glad you made the most of during your stay and enjoyed the food prepared by our fantastic Roux Chef’s, hopefully setting you up for your days of exploring Inverness and the surrounding area.
You have certainly described our Cheese Soufflé in the best way I could imagine and I hope you can look forward to enjoying it once again during your stay with us at New Year as much as we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
David Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Loved the Hotel from the minute we arrived. Had been last year for lunch and decided to go back for a Birthday celebration. Staff were outstanding and we were certainly looked after and attended to. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 2 nights in an extra decandant room No 10 which was lovely. We had a sauna and hot tub on the patio, luxurious. The bed was so comfortable and it was so unusual for me to have such a good nights sleep. The bathroom was huge with a walk in shower and seperate bath, and face cloths which most hotels do not provide.
We had dinner both nights which was great. We are not big eaters so we had one course from the a la carte. My husband has a shellfish allergy and the chef altered the whole fish dish to suit him. Breakfast is outstanding, everything is freshly made and served beautiful. Try the fresh fruit plate!. The Hotel is well situated, a short walk to and from the town centre. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the web site, we chose the extra decandent as it was a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review based on your recent stay with us, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your previous dining experience with us so much that you chose to come and sample what the Hotel has to offer.
Our Extra Decadent bedrooms certainly provide something which is that extra bit special and I am glad to hear that you made the most of the private hot tub and sauna. A great nights sleep is essential to the enjoyment of a stay and it is wonderful that we were able to provide this for you.
Our experienced Roux Chef’s are outstanding and will cater as much as is possible to any dietary requirements or allergies which we are aware of, so I am glad that you could take advantage of this option and enjoy your meal.
I hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocpool Reserve in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
David Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid January. From the greeting when we arrived, to the goodbye when we left, the service was second to none. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and furnished with real style and flair. Our room was extremely clean and well equipped, and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! The little touches such as champagne, the bathrobes and lovely toiletries, along with the wonderfully old-fashioned turn-down which magically happened whilst we were at dinner (bed was made, cushions removed, chocolates and bottles of water put on the bedside tables) made our experience so much more special. As for the food, we were blown away by the quality and service. Our midweek break package included dinner from the set menu, but this certainly didn't mean there was any lack of choice. We were really impressed with the attention to detail shown in each dish, each were cooked to perfection, and the restaurant staff were outstanding in their efficiency of service, unerringly polite and discreet, yet attentive. The breakfasts were also incredible, so beautifully presented and very filling!!
All credit to the management and staff at the Rocpool. We would not hesitate to recommend to anybody, and hope we will be able to stay again some time soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve Hotel.
Our current Mid-Week Break Package is certainly good value for money and I am so happy to read of your expectations being exceeded and the enjoyment experienced during your stay with us. Our Front of House and Kitchen team strive to provide perfection for each and every customer that joins us at the hotel and I hope that your stay left you feeling relaxed and rejuvenated as I’m sure was well deserved. Our decor and furnishings definitely add to the charm of Rocpool and provide that extra element of luxury to compliment the ‘home from home’ atmosphere which we aim to maintain.
I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our wonderful team and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back down Rocpool Reserve’s red carpet in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing