We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't trust this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't trust this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently visited Scotland and the only problem we had with the trip was with our reservations at the Rocpool Reserve. When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that they couldn't find our reservation. In the next breath, they told us the hotel was completely booked for a hen party. We believe that they ignored our reservation in order to accomodate the hen party. The hotel did find us another place to stay (the New Drumoisse Hotel), which was quite nice, and paid for our stay there once we were able to prove to them that they had received the money for our reservation. However, we were left with a sour taste in our mouths about the Rocpool. On our next trip to Inverness, ww will not consider staying at the Rocpool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest

I am disappointed to have read your review. I would like to reasure you that we give all reservations our upmost attention. It is unfortunate that we were unable to accommodate you as we would have been delighted to do so. As explained this was a systematic error out with our control. I would like to reassure you that this was not a result of prioritsing any other bookings.


Kind Regards

Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    98
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
396
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a decadent room ( No 4 ) and it was very impressive.Nice large bedroom and a small sitting area and a huge bathroom. The shower was great as I hate hotel bathrooms where you have to run round under the shower to get wet but this was 1st Class. Little disconcerting is the clear space round the glass in the bathroom door and as the pan was directly opposite the door you had a clear view in of your partner,we've been married 43 years but have never used the bathroom at the same time, old fashioned !! The meals we had were perfect and superb breakfasts. The staff were about the friendliest and most helpful we've met in all our hotel stays. Albert Roux was there during our stay and I had a short chat with him and he was very pleasant.All in all we had great 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us. We have certainly taken your comments on board with regards to the glass on the bathroom door.
We remember you fondly and it was a pleasure to host you both. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I were here over a year ago and were pleased to find the same exacting standards this visit. We stayed in a "decadent" room, which was very luxurious and extremely stylish. Lovely little touches, like a proper hairdryer (not those pathetic ones you sometimes get in hotels) and high quality shampoo etc provided. We borrowed a DVD one evening from reception. All of the staff were very polite, and worked extremely hard. I cannot remember all of their names, but the manager was a very professional lady who runs a tight ship! We could not find fault anywhere.

Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful. I had french onlon soup, and venison. Both were cooked to perfection. It's not cheap but it's certainly value for money. You get what you pay for, and this food was great.

I'm sure we will be back for a third time at some point!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Kindest Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the only 5 star hotel in Inverness and is owned by same people as Inverlochy Castle at Fort William. The Rocpool was one of the best hotels on a two week holiday all over Scotland. Much better value than the Inverlochy. Nice boutique hotel, with absolutely brilliant staff, and fantastic food, all in a very informal atmosphere. Would recommend this place to anyone. We would really like to go back there for another visit.

Room Tip: One with a hot tub is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was certainly a pleasure to read. We are very proud on the standards we thrive to meet and everyone within the team works hard to ensure all of our guests have the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. To receive feedback such as yours is most certainly appreciated by all at Rocpool.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently ate in the Chez Roux restaurant for dinner. Reception staff were very friendly and escorted us to the bar. For such a quiet bar we waited a long time for our drinks to be served. Canapés followed our drinks, these were cold and dry and didn't fill me with excitement for our dinner. I opted for the Soufflé Suissesse, a savoury twice baked Soufflé with cream and cheese. Technically I assume it was cooked correctly although it was very bland and boring. My partner had scallops. Very small portion for the price and they were very overcooked. Service in the restaurant was very slow and we felt like we were being ignored. After a considerable wait our mains were served. Unfortunately the price tag didn't match the poor quality of food. Both main courses were devoid of flavour and were disappointingly cold. All in all a poor night in a quiet restaurant which is not worth the amount they charge. I won't recommend or return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ironman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wow Wow Wow . What a treat. Absolutely fabulous 2 day break from start to finish. Met in carpark by lovely young lass to greet us . Helped in with bags. Had drink in bar balcony while she checked our room was ready . Bags were already put in room . I can only describe our first thoughts of room was WOW . Had breakfast in room first morning and what a delight . Just amazing . Second night for our anniversary we had meal in restaurant really fantastic staff and service brilliant . Food amazing really enjoyed. When we returned to our room bed had been turned down bathroom tidied fresh towels etc . Did not want to come home .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank val c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

It was with pleasure to read your review. I will certainly make sure and pass your kind comments onto the team at Rocpool.

We hope that you had a pleasant journey home and that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

pork croquette almost toxic with levels of salt. 32 day matured rib eye steak tender, but devoid of taste and flavour.chips bland and soggy, bearnaise sauce overly salty and more like a paste in consistency. staff pleasant and helpful, food dire. with hindsight i should have returned starter. a memorable meal for the wrong reason.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

I am saddened and disappointed to read your review with regards to your meal which you had with us. Our Chefs work hard to deliver quality local seasonal produce to our guests, and it is disappointing that we did not meet your expectations. We are always grateful to hear guests comments and on the evening we were more than happy to replace the steak dish which you mentioned was not to your liking. It would also have been our pleasure to replace the Pig Head Croquette should we have been aware you had not been enjoying it.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back one day so that we can ensure that you leave feeling fully satisfied.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing