We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary, the room, service, dinner and breakfast were all divine!

5 star all the way!

I highly recommend this hotel especially if you are celebrating a special occasion, it's pure luxury and all staff are very professional, neat & tidy and have a very good knowledge of the food & drinks offered.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback with regards to your recent stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your special anniversary celebration with us, and thank you for your kind words I will certainly make sure and pass your comments onto the team here at Rocpool.

We very much hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 635 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just home after staying 2 nights at the rocpool this was our 2nd visit as I had said to my husband if we were going back to Inverness it would have to be the rocpool again but it was a little disappointed this trip our room was a chic downstairs the window looked into a wall we were in the basement so my husband closed the blind as it was a bit depressing bed side light is falling to bits and the hair dryer had to be replaced . Booked dinner in the restaurant that evening the food was very good quality we both had the steak for our main coarse so it was such a shame they got them mixed up,Saturday night my husband had a cold shower no hot water at all not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel on leaving on Sunday morning he was presented with a bill which included the meal we had the first evening which he had already paid for so I don't think we will stay again plenty of other good hotels to choose from in Inverness

Room Tip: Decadent rooms seem to be of a much higher standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the service we offer and I am disappointed that you feel .your second stay had not met your expectations set during your first visit.

I am aware the team at Rocpool, although challenged with issues which do not happen on a regular basis, had promptly addressed the issue at hand and had this rectified for you immediately.

With regards to the mix up of the Steaks, this I can assure you is not acceptable and not the Standard that we train our staff to. Please have my reassurance that this will be addressed, and should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocpool again I will most certainly do my upmost to ensure you have a flawless experience with us.

Kindest Regards,

Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Hogmanay in a Decadent room and every aspect of it was amazing.
As others have mentioned, the staff meeting you at the front door really makes for a warm welcome and the room itself only enhances this. Big room, big bed and an entire bath area taking up the whole downstairs area.
Didn't want to venture out at all because of what the room had to offer!!
Breakfast the next morning was also excellent...delivered in-room with silver service.
FYI we were in Room 1. Would completely recommend and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank astrange4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review based on your recent Hogmanay stay.

It is with great pride that I read your lovely review, our Front of House team aim to make every single guest feel like royalty, and a greeting at the front door is something which everyone should receive. Room 1 is certainly a very special room and I am glad to hear that you took the time to relax and enjoy your surroundings.

Breakfast in bed is another indulgence which we think each of our valued guests deserve, so I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience.

Again, thank you for your positive response, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Rocpool Reserve for another night of luxury.

Kindest Regards,

Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent welcome by very friendly staff, they cannot do enough for you.
Luxurious rooms ( they should be at full price) but always check for deals on internet..we got a great one.
Food was not as good as hoped for , but not un pleasant.
Overall 7/10...due to very quiet restaurant therefor hardly any atmosphere

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed two days at the Rocpool Reserve Hotel in Inverness just for a break before the Christmas stress. . Anyway the title of this review says it all. It started when we approached the front door. Before we knew it a member of staff was there to welcome us . I have got to say we felt sort of important over the next two days which was nice. Bedroom was smashing with a huge bathroom, bath and double shower area and a seperate sitting area . Two tellys and a quality coffee maker, DVD player Ipod player and WiFi. Very comfortable big bed, good housekeeping regime, excellent towels and toiletries, plenty of storage, slippers and bathrobes. Another good point was the central heating which worked very well. We dined one evening and the food and service was good as one would hope from a Roux restaurant - not 'fine dining' but very nice.. Breakfast was superb. The menu had lots of different stuff and I would strongly recommend the Arnold Bennet Omlette, the eggs benedict and the house health drink.
Funny how one gets spoiled but we were disappointed when on the second night our bed was not turned down , no evening biscuit and bottle of water. Oh well. But everything else was grand.
You should be aware however that prices are on the high side. But hey, you makes your choice and pays the price. Fortunately we had discount vouchers
We will save up and go back. Very enjoyable. Thank you Staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which was right next to the Bar and in the main thoroughfare which in busier tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at the Rocpool Reserve.

I am glad to read about your excellent first night experience with us and that you enjoyed your room along with the service and your meal. It is most certain that you, along with each of our guests, are the most important aspect of our hotel and each member of staff work very hard to maintain the level of service which has become one of the biggest parts of the Rocpool Reserve.

It is unfortunate to read about your second evening and the disappointment which you felt. This is certainly not our standard level of service, and I apologise for this. Please be assured that I will be looking into this matter and addressing it accordingly.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Rocpool in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We would like to thank Niki and the team who looked after us so well on our recent trip back to the Rocpool Reserve restaurant. Both the food and the service were of the highest standard and we greatly appreciated the special treatment which is synonymous with the Rocpool! We cant wait to return for another stay and sample the delicious food and superb surroundings. Many thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkubird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rocpool Reserve.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us as much as we enjoyed providing you with the special treatment which we strive to give every single one of our guests. I will certainly pass on your praise to our Front of House and Kitchen team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Way too expensive. 300 pounds for a night. The room is nice, bathroom is huge and everything is very exclusive, but a bit too pexpensive. The restaurant, on the other hand, is worth every penny. The food is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.
It is disappointing to read that you feel we are a bit too expensive. Our rates are based on the level of service, and accommodation which we provide. We feel the quality of our rooms, along with the service and food we offer, boasts our 5 star rating, hence this being reflected in the rate.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Niki Gillies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#16 of 36 in Inverness
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $150 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing