We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”
Review of Pine Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pine Guest House
Ranked #68 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Angela is such a wonderful host. She made us feel so comfortable and being the first hotel in Scotland that we stayed in, she sure made a remarkable impression. Very friendly and helpful, she can be easily reached if you need to ask any questions regarding the city or what to do. Her breakfast was also super delicious and with such a variety! The room we stayed is was very cosy and spacious for three of us. It was indeed a perfect place with value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldnomad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
18
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Room comfortable and clean, breakfast excellent, friendly hosts, easy walk into the town centre. It is unfortunate that it is located on a very busy noisy road next to a retail park (Lidls is directly opposite). Large trucks rumble pass throughout the day and night which actually shake the window panes. If you want a good nights sleep do not book in here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexander75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Pine Guest House is a 5 when it comes to the proprietor, and the place itself. The woman who runs it was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was a good full Scottish breakfast, the lounge was very comfortable and well stocked with books, DVDs etc—the house looks historical and is well kept and the family room we stayed in was comfortable, clean and cozy. The only reason I gave it a 4 is that it is on a kind of busy road (though the road noise was not noticeable) and it is a bit of a walk along that road to the old part of town but certainly manageable (about 10 minutes). I would recommend this Guest House overall.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Great hostess - welcoming, helpful, friendly. Nothing was too much hassle - even my strange dietary requirements. The accomodation was really clean. There was plenty of parking space. Great location for getting to things in Inverness. Highly recommend to people looking for places to stay in Inverness. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krysta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We received a warm and friendly welcome from the family who own this establishment. Nothing was too much trouble for them. THEY MADE A GOOD STAY GREAT!
Will certainly be back and would recommend this guest house to anyone planning a trip to Inverness.

  • Liked — Warm and welcoming.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bridges5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

First impression was fine; though I was forced to lug my luggage around Inverness for several hours due to the fact that no one is there until 5pm. My bus had arrived at 12:33pm. Luckily it wasn't raining. Room was comfortable. I was warned that the shower took a while to warm up. 15 minutes later and on the highest heat it never got above luke warm. Having a luke warm shower both mornings in November is not a pleasure.
Then there was the bill. I had paid a deposit, which they denied. Not having my laptop with me, and no receipt, and therefore no proof I grudgingly paid the amount they said I owed them. On getting home I found out that I was indeed correct. Since getting home I have forwarded the proof to them and have received no reply. The tension during my stay was very uncomfortable and I just couldn't do justice to the breakfast which did look nice admittedly. I have travelled all over the world; and despite staying in some very basic and at times dubious accommodations this is the worst as far as bad experiences go.

  • Liked — Comfortable room.
  • Disliked — The attiude of the hosts.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilythehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineinverness, owner at Pine Guest House, responded to this review, November 16, 2008
Having just read this ladys review with what I can only describe as utter astonishment, I will do my best to address the so called grievances made by the lady. Firstly I must point out her initial booking was made for a total of six nights which consisted of a single room for four nights and a double room for two nights, she arrived on the 12th November and informed my wife that she was cutting her stay short and would only require a single room for two nights, at this point in time we would have been well within our rights to charge her the full balance of her original reservation as is common policy in the hotel industry, she having given us absolutely no prior warning of her intentions to reduce her stay, this would have been a total of £212.00, which she was informed of by Email on the 28th October, not as her complaint states £162.00. We however informed her that she would only require too pay for a single room for two nights at £30.00 per night. We in the meantime lost bookings for the room due too herr shortened stay.
She requested a room to the rear of the house, this request I may point out was made after the time of her initial booking, this we obliged relocating her from a single room at the front of the house to a family room at the rear of the house, this we did at no extra charge to her.
My wife did her best to explain to her that the deposit she paid at the time of her initial booking was paid direct to Scottish Accommodation Index and not too us as she seemed to believe. I even went to the lengths of contacting Scottish Accommodation Index on her behalf to try and obtain a refund against her deposit. This obviously I did not have to do as any complaints she had regarding her deposit were between herself and Scottish Accommodation Index with whom she made her booking. My wife knocked on her bedroom door to try and explain to her what was required to do in order to obtain a refund, she was clearly not interested. I would also point to the fact that if she had taken the time to look at the information I had received from Scottish Accommodation Index she would have realised that she would have received a refund of £9.00, which would equate to a total cost to her of £51.00, less than the £54.00 she felt should have been charged.
I must also point out that not once during the ladys two day stay did she mention that there was a problem with the temperature in the shower.
I am disappointed that she feels that she was so badly treated, however I can assure you that we did our level best to accommodate all her requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at Pine Guest House, while attending Rock Ness and had a wonderful time, the hosts could not have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly, the rooms were both spacious and comfortable and there was a lovely relaxing lounge where we could spend the evening if it were not for the fact we were out every night we stayed. Breakfasts were top class, they even gave us breakfast at 7.00am on our last day as we had to be off early. I would certainly recommend Pine Guest House to anyone visiting Inverness. The House is situated a leisurley 10 minute walk from the city centre, ideal for nights out or shopping trips. I will definateley be back !!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundalkJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.7 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lyndon Guest House
Lyndon Guest House
#61 of 231 in Inverness
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#40 of 231 in Inverness
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#17 of 231 in Inverness
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Guest House

Property: Pine Guest House
Address: 60 Telford Street, Inverness IV3 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in the capital of the Highlands at this family run Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation located within ten minutes walking distance of Inverness city centre and a fifteen minute drive from Inverness airport. The Guest House Accommodation consists of a traditionally built 1850's town house. Pine House is situated conveniently in Inverness for rail and coach stations, restaurants, bars, clubs and all local amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing