We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a warm and cosy place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazpackers Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bazpackers Hostel
Save
You added Bazpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're looking for a warm and cosy place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, fireplace, friendly staff, light bedrooms, free towel and padlock. Good asmosphere & price. Best hostel @Inverness. One Thing, the place isn't very clean... So better take your flipflops.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
55
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly receptionist, helpful and shows you around. Nice clean kitchen, perfect location. and a really nice relaxing lounge, with a nice fire which was very welcome in this cold weather !!! I travelled alot round NZ so this free internet was a surprise and very nice ! towels are also free which is great :) had a good night sleep and for me, i would recommend this place and not be afraid to do so :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The standard of cleanliness in this hostel is poor. The kitchen and toilets need a good clean (e.g. there was old faeces underneath the toilet seat and at the back of the bowl and thick layers of dust on the rubbish bins). And, we were not sure when the duvets were last clean - they look and smell dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Cosy common areas with a small fireplace. Kitchen with common
Kitchenwares if you want to cook
On your own. Walking distance to city. Not for the super fussy. Clean washroom and free wifi. Friendly receptionist

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Bazpackers Hostel while on a trip to Northern Scotland. The rooms were a good size and a great price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position was unbeatable. Just across the road from the Inverness Castle and next door to a Pub with great meals. The building was very old and interesting. Would stay there again. There was 8 of us travelling together, so we had two x 4 bed rooms. One of us left some items behind. Staff were happy to post them onto us. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Party of 4 females stayed overnight here in May 2012. We are the type of travellers who were looking for cleanliness, comfort and location for our accommodation and this certainly met our expectations. Staff were helpful and friendly. This place is about 20min walk from Tesco if you need to buy supplies. The room we stayed in is actually an apartment of sorts, just a short walk around the corner of the main hostel so if you have a car with lots of luggage to bring in, I suggest you find a nearby parking spot, check in, then grab your luggage to take it straight into the room. The apartment was cosy consisting of lounge/dining room, kitchen, bedroom with two bunks, bathroom off bedroom. The heaters were excellent! The bathroom was a little bit wet due to a leaky shower. The only downside to this place is that I had booked us in for another night on our way back through Inverness and they got the date wrong so we had no place to stay - I accept part responsibilty of that for not insisting they send a booking confirmation, so to avoid our mishap, ask they email you a booking confirmation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplesneakers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My group of four opted for the apartment unit which is situated 2 doors away from the main hostel. As we arrived late and left early the next day, we did not get to see the hostel itself but when we checked in at the hostel reception, we could see the lit fireplace and that was ever so inviting.

The apartment unit itself is a no frills place but it has everything for a comfortable stay - a separate 4 bedded- sleeping area, a kitchen and a living room area. A nice self contained place which provided the space and privacy we were looking for. Not bad for a hostel accommodation. I would recommend this place for small groups.

There were ample street parking places and the location is ideal for working around Inverness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.0 mi away
Inverness Student Hotel
Inverness Student Hotel
#7 of 31 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#11 of 31 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazpackers Hostel

Property: Bazpackers Hostel
Address: 4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bazpackers Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing