We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, comfortable and well located”
Review of Bazpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bazpackers Hostel
Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Compact, comfortable and well located”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have used Bazpackers Hostel as a base for exploring Inverness and the surrounding area on a number of occasions and always find it to be welcoming and friendly. Returned in November 2011 for two nights and was not disappointed. Received a warm welcome from Mike who showed me round before booking me in to a six-bed dorm room at £15 a night. The dorm was small but clean and well maintained. The beds are great with really comfortable mattresses and clean duvets and pillows. From the window, there was an excellent view over the river. Toilet and shower facilities were very good and, again, spotlessly clean. The main lounge/dining area is small but warm and inviting with a great fire while there is a tiny TV room just off it and a little garden out back. The kitchen is also petite but well equipped and there is free tea and coffee available at any time of the day or night. Bazpackers is a couple of minutes' walk from the centre of Inverness and there are some good restaurants and pubs close by. The neighbouring Castle Tavern has a great selection of ales and whiskies and also does reasonably price food - highly recommended for a pint or two! The hostel - which sleeps 34 - was quiet when I visited, so found it very relaxing but not short on atmosphere. In short, great staff and a warm, comfortable and well equipped hostel.

Room Tip: Dorms offer cheapest stay, but there are also twin and family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimcarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    89
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
10
65
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hostel is nothing special. iI's exactly as you can expect from a hostel: Shared room, shared bathroom, shared kitchen. The location is good, the staff is nice, the kitchen is reasonably well equipped. The bad thing is: You cannot lock your door and the bathroom is absolutely freezing! Other than that I had no complaints, it was clean and the beds were comfortable enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed in the co-ed dorm room with my boyfriend. It is a rather tiny room in which 6 people sleep. This resulted in the room being very smelly and stuffy by morning.

The staff were very nice and helpful, the place was clean, and the common space was lovely. The fire was warm and there is a nice area for eating. The location of the place is wonderful, too.

Room Tip: Great view from room 2, but it is pretty crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaed87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississau
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Heard about Inverness with very good B&Bs, but opted out for the Bazpackers instead, for the flexibility of schedule in lieu of breakast, and very glad we did, or we wouldn't see Inverness the same.
Located not far from train station & bus station, ~5-7min walk, but the highlight is: It is almost right in front of the Inverness Castle, and right beside the river, we could see both from our room window, we got the best room in town and only Bazpackers has it!

The place is very cozy and clean as described by other reviewers, our room was very simple, two twin beds, mirror, nice pictures, asked for bed sheets, which has a very neat design, never seen bed sheets that can let you slip in and at the same time function as a pillow cover. Though room size is definitly not comparable to North American sizes, but the cozy size is a good experience of living inside one of those British apartments.

Quiet and well maintained place, perfectly a traveller's haven. Has highly recommended to family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here just as Summer was turning into Autumn and it was lovely and cosy with the wood fireplace in the common room burning away.

I had a room upstairs and it was standard hostel stuff, good kitchen with plenty of 'left behind by previous guest condiments' to help you cook, clean toilets and showers, 5 minutes walk down a hill into the town, places to park nearby. Spot on.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
603 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at the Bazpackers hostel for 1 night at the end of a 3 week camping tour of the highlands so it was a welcome break to be somewhere well located to everything in Inverness in particular the bus station,clean and comfortable.

We had a double room in the seperate building next door to the main one which was very quiet with no noise at all in the evening or any other times for that matter,it had a clean,modern bathroom across the hall with a shower the the room was spacious.

We did not use any of the other facilities i.e the kitchen etc as we were only there over night but from what we saw it all looked very nice.

If you want somewhere clean,affordable and in a good location (right opposite Inverness castle & 5 minutes from the high street) then this is the place for you,it would be a 1st choice for us should we find ourselves in Inverness again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough,UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the stay in a twin bedded private room for only £22 a night. The kitchen, toilets and bedroom were very clean and having tea, coffee and milk always available a real bonus. It is not a hostel just for young couples, we are in our 50's and didn't feel out of place and certainly slept well without any disturbances. Small but comfortable lounge and TV room and radiators in the rooms to dry wet clothes on!
One way to improve our room would have been a couple of hooks to hang coat or towel on and /or a small bedside table.We had intense rain on one day and it was great to have a radiator which was turned on at times but we had no where to put anything else which was damp or dripping!

Room Tip: A couple of hooks and a bedside table would have been a great addition to room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southpacific53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazpackers Hostel

Property: Bazpackers Hostel
Address: 4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bazpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazpackers Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing