We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craigiewood
Nearby Hotels
Bunchrew House Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$105
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$151
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Inverness Fairways(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$118
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
102
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack islesitting roomb bfellow guestslocal knowledgelonger stayhome from homea wonderful stayminute driveexcellent breakfastthe location is perfectstayed for nightsthe ground floorzingyhostesspheasanthighlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 110 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed only two nights at Craigiewood but it was wonderful, and we can't wait to return. We especially enjoyed the wonderful surroundings of the immediate area as well as the lovely garden, the cosy living room with the fire and the peace and quietness of it all. Gavin and Minty are fabulous hosts and prepared a truly delicious breakfast. We had the best night's sleep ever in an immaculate room which was filled with genuinely excellent reading books, I could have read at least 20 of them if we'd had the time ! Our hosts made us feel very very special and we came away feeling as though we had been welcomed into their family. Highly recommendable if you're looking for a relaxing place in beautiful surroundings and a fabulous home to stay in. without question we will be returning, hopefully very soon. Thank you Gavin and Minty for a wonderful experience. A & G (and Izzie).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhajh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Gosh - that it such a lovely review - so very many thanks for taking the time to write it. I never take anything for granted so it is always a real bonus when we read nice things about Craigiewood. We so enjoyed your stay with us and Izzy is one of my favourite 'dog' visitors! Come back again soon.

With best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spend the last two days of our week holiday at Craigiewood and this was our best B&B !!! It is a lovely place and Minty and Gavin are very nice and helpful. We enjoyed everything, the delicious breakfast, the house, the rooms, the garden and the early morning walks, it is a wonderful place to stay !!! We had a great time and we will definitely return next year !!!!

Nico and Margriet
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for telling TripAdvisor how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved meeting you all and hope very much that we will see you again in 2014.

Best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I can't think why I haven't written about Craigiewood before, having stayed here a few times. The warm welcome never abates; Gavin and Minty's retreat may be secluded in the woods, yet it is so accessible to Inverness and the Highlands; it is the perfect base and launch-point. Their wise counsel on what to see, and how best to use the time available, is invaluable. Additionally, one has to restrain ones appetite for even more of Minty's cuisine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about us. These days TripAdvisor is an important tool for the travelling public and we do appreciate the effort you make. We hugely enjoyed having you both to stay and just hope that your time on Skye was not too exhausting and that your energy and muscles survived!

With best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were treated like one of the Family,with nothing being too much effort for Minty and Gavin.The rooms were great full of lots of unusual bits and pieces and the breakfasts were to die for.Can totally recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Bernie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

We much enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time from your catching up on your return home to write a review. It is much appreciated.

With best wishes from me and the Shoe-Gluer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our daughter and her family (husband and two children) joined my husband and me at this lovely B&B nestled in the woods outside of Inverness. The home is charming and the hosts, Minty and Gavin, are most accommodating. We found the rooms to be comfortable and clean and Minty is a great cook! We especially enjoyed having the use of the parlor in the evening to read and play games. It was quite cozy! Minty and Gavin ensured that we had reservations for dinner (we were 6 and it was a major golf weekend in Inverness) helped us with our sightseeing plans. I'd love to return to their lovely home sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaT46341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor - it is much appreciated. You were such a lovely happy family to have to stay and we were most impressed by John's chess skills not to mention your solitare skills!! Do, please, come back one day and stay with us.

With best wishes to you all from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews