We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home on your Travels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigiewood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigiewood
Ranked #44 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home on your Travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were treated like one of the Family,with nothing being too much effort for Minty and Gavin.The rooms were great full of lots of unusual bits and pieces and the breakfasts were to die for.Can totally recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Bernie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We much enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time from your catching up on your return home to write a review. It is much appreciated.

With best wishes from me and the Shoe-Gluer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our daughter and her family (husband and two children) joined my husband and me at this lovely B&B nestled in the woods outside of Inverness. The home is charming and the hosts, Minty and Gavin, are most accommodating. We found the rooms to be comfortable and clean and Minty is a great cook! We especially enjoyed having the use of the parlor in the evening to read and play games. It was quite cozy! Minty and Gavin ensured that we had reservations for dinner (we were 6 and it was a major golf weekend in Inverness) helped us with our sightseeing plans. I'd love to return to their lovely home sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaT46341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor - it is much appreciated. You were such a lovely happy family to have to stay and we were most impressed by John's chess skills not to mention your solitare skills!! Do, please, come back one day and stay with us.

With best wishes to you all from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for a week at Craigiewood in May. Minty and Gavin made us extremely welcome in their lovely home. They were very helpful about where and when to go in terms of the weather. It is the perfect setting for exploring the Highlands. Do take the train from Inverness to Plockton - a wonderful trip on a fine day. Enjoy too, the variety of birds feeding from the bird table!
Mark & Margaret, Brighton, England

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed your week with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed only 1 night at Craigiewood - a lovely place situated about 4 miles from Inverness but feeling like the middle of the country.Birdlife abounds in a rural garden.
Our room was bright, cosy and spacious and the breakfast next morning was great.
Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and generous with their travel advice and information.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice report on TripAdvisor. We did enjoy your brief stay and hope that, one day, you will return.

With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We throughly enjoyed our 3 days and nights with Minty and Gavin. They were wonderful friendly hosts who went out of their way to be helpful at all times. The facilities were very clean and took into account all the needs of travellers. The lounge was a beautiful but homely room where we felt very comfortable after a day"s touring. The gardens were alive with many birds and flowers etc and was a joy to behold. Breakfasts were delicious particularly the berries. When we left Craigiewood we felt we were leaving friends. Many thanks Minty and Gavin for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne46Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We much enjoyed having you both to stay but wish it was now as the garden is, at last, looking good and the weather even better. It was great that you had a precious 3 hours at Foulis.
I know Australia is a long way but come back and see us sometime.

Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Gavin and Mintie's lovely house is perfectly sited - you feel like you are miles from the world! When we drove up, Gavin was in the garden with the cat, and we had to shoo some pheasant out of the way. Perfect, perfect place to unwind. Mintie did a great job working through where to eat, what to do, and what to see. Great recommendations for our drive the next day, and they even predicted the weather to a tee! Can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We greatly enjoyed having you all to stay even for such a brief time and I am so glad that you felt you were able to unwind. Thank you so much for reviewing us. You do not an excuse to come back to see us! With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed just one night at Craigiewood but it was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the wonderful surroundings of the lovely garden, the cosy living room with the fire and the peace and quietness of the area. The hosts are very nice and prepared a delicious breakfast. Mintie's homemade fruit purres were the best. We had the best night's sleep ever. The only disadvantage being that it is far away from restaurants and villages but it is well worth the drive into the forest. Highly recommendable if you're looking for a relaxing place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindal3125, Owner at Craigiewood, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a nice Review - it really does mean a lot to us. I am only sorry that your stay was so brief but we will remember you fondly as you were just so sweet and sympathetic about our Cat Drama. Sadly he had to be put to sleep the evening you left us.With best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
0.8 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#21 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Old Drynie House
Old Drynie House
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
Mount Pleasant Bed & Breakfast
#141 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
9.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigiewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigiewood

Property: Craigiewood
Address: North Kessock, Inverness IV1 3XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rural location, yet only 10 minutes from Inverness, Craigiewood is ideally suited for touring the North of Scotland.On the Black Isles, we are between the Cromarty and Moray Firths and are close to Cawdor and Brodie Castles, Fort George and Culloden. The Isle of Skye, Applecross, Torridon and Ullapool are an easy day trip from Craigiewood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craigiewood Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing