We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with excellent customer service”
Review of Redcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #139 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with excellent customer service”
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed at the Redcliffe with my husband for 2 nights between Xmas and New Year, we just wanted a relaxing few days and this is exactly what we got.

Great location right in the heart of Inverness with free parking so that was an added bonus not having to worry about the car. Our room was so comfortable, totally modernised, large, clean. Everything you want and don't always get. Shower was hard to get out off!

The staff are a credit to this hotel, very attentative. Also worth mentioning that this is a small hotel so you are not just another customer passing through the door.

We plan to go back to Inverness in the future and it's good to know where we'd stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and spacious room. Also location
  • Disliked — Nothing - all perfect (and I'm hard to please!!)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    33
    22
    17
See reviews for
27
44
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

One poster mentioned Room 6 being horrible. Room 7 was a nightmare also. It was a tiny, dirty single located over the kitchen. The vibration from the ktichen fan and noise continued to 10:00 pm and made sleep impossible.

I am used to small hotel rooms in the UK but in this one you could sit on the bed and work at the desk. The worst part was the drapes that hung over the bed and you as you slept. I had nightmares all night and barely slept.

I had planned to spend two nights here but checked out after one. I also would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. I found a late room at the Thistle for the same price I was paying here.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Judyfr0mMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2008

I had a really bad experience. Food was bad (burnt toast etc) and the room was extremely noisy at night. I then posted an unfavourable review on another website which obviously didn't take my privacy seriously. They contacted the hotel which then called me up to insist that I retract the bad review. Not a good experience overall. You could stay 1 night here but more than that would be too long.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Receptionist
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hellopandaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Redcliffe Hotel for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the small side but it was clean and quiet which are most important to me. The bathroom was also very clean although also a bit small (my arms would hit the sides of the glass shower when washing my hair!)

The location of the hotel is great as it is only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. The hotel staff was very helpful in suggesting great restaurants in town. Also, there is free overnight parking which was a plus as we had hired a car.

  • Liked — clean and good location
  • Disliked — room and bathroom were small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank res1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Finding the hotel was a problem because of roadworks but once there, overall impressions were good, especially when we were helped in with our cases. We were allocated rooms 4 and 6. Room 6 is small, even for a single and noisy because the extractor fan for the kitchen is loud until 22.00 hours when thereafter there is a continual humming sound which is very very annoying.The female receptionist suggested earplugs (already tried), then try a double whisky in order to rest and sleep. At least in room 4, which is a double ,the humming noise was controlled by closing the shower/ toilet room door The food was excellent as was the location for walking into town. Dining staff were polite and friendly.On food, I wish the breakfast menu had a wider choice - kippers? continental?

  • Liked — Food in the evening
  • Disliked — My friend's room - number 6
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We only stayed at the Redcliffe one night on a two week trip to Europe, but wished we had planned to stay longer. We had a nice room for 4 with a king bed, sofe bed (double) and they brought in a roll-away single. It was a little cramped, but gave our college age kids their own bed each. We had a nice view of the castle. The furnishings are new, the bath renovated, and there was a large plasma TV. We especially enjoyed the restaurant and bar. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. They have room to park cars and a nice terrace. We thought it was the best place we stayed. We would definitely recommend the Redcliffe Hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Liked — Nicely renovated room, great food, and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiego18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this small hotel recently with my family.We found the facilities to be very good.The room was large and newly decorated.The bed was so comfy!!!. The only thing we missed in our family room was a bath as we have a 7 month old baby.(She liked the shower however) All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pigpog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#42 of 231 in Inverness
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#154 of 231 in Inverness
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe Hotel

Property: Redcliffe Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Terrace, Inverness IV2 3HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner two minutes walk from the city centre. Free off street parking. All rooms recently refurbished to high standard. LCD TV Freeview and Wi-Fi. Local knowledgeable staff, slick professional service. Popular restaurant and conservatory with heated terrace. A true Inverness hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing