We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columba Hotel, Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an executive room on the top floor front of the Hotel with a beautiful view over the Castle and River Ness Bridge. Hotel Staff we met were friendly and attentive, particularly the receptionist on check in, no complaints. The Hotel Bistro food was good, breakfast was also nice. No Hotel Car Park, however free street parking if you do not mind a stroll up past Eden Court, after dropping off luggage. Central location ideal for City sightseeing. Would return again, to the same room!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your very kind comments will shared with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    371
    290
    158
    112
See reviews for
129
585
53
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is by the river and easy to walk into town. The long stay car park was only a few meters away and was just £2.00 for 24 hours. Oh yes, and free wifi.
Really good hotel.
PC

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, WOW, thank you for your lovely review, my team will be over the moon and I am so pleased we ticked all the boxes for you. I hope we can wlecome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights stay. We had a room which looked as if it had been refurbished. We found it comfortable and clean. The restaurant was well presented and the food was both varied and good. The staff were excellent and friendly especially the restaurant staff. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for oyur lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and you very kind words will be shared with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
243 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, with views over the river. Local restaurants are within easy walking distance. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable. I had a nice big room but unfortunately the heating didn't work and the small portable heater which had been put in was woefully inadequate. There was no problem when I asked for another room and I was given a choice. Breakfast is good, with a choice of buffet and dishes made to order. Wifi reception was poor in the part of the hotel I was in. Corridors are a bit tired and could do with a facelift.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly share your kind words with my team who will be equally pleased. I will ensure we address the heater problem and sorry for that. I hope we can welcome you back soon and once again thank you so much for your kind words. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

as i drove up to say i was disappointed would be putting it very politely.people standing outside smoking and the cigarette ends were disgusting.given room 205 as an upgrade would not have liked to have seen what we should have got.then came the real bonus if that was meant to be hot water i give in.there for 3 nights cant wait to get back down the road.although room was very disappointing the bar and restaurant were very good. we did not let it spoil our break in inverness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billywilsoncarmichae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry if your first impressions were not what you expected but I am sure you can appreciate we cannot control guests or general public smoking outside our building on the front as this is public property and of course we are a non smoking building as per legal requirements. I am sorry if you experienced any issues with water and I do hope the team looked after you. Your kind words on our food and beverage services will be shared with my team and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next visiting Inverenss. Your valuable feedback will be used to ensure we continually improve on all areas of our business. With kind regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent stay. Had a fantastic experience at this hotel. Staff were very attentive. Special mention to the reception staff GARY and JUSTINA who were always polite and friendly and done everything requested and more. Will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Castle view spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review following a recent stay with us. Your kind words will be shared with my team especially Gary and Justyna. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time and very much look forward to welcoming you back. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Check in was very quick and efficient. Receptionist was very friendly and welcoming.
Room was a double and was a good size. It had been refurbished at some point. I was more than happy with it. Also a bonus was the free Wi-Fi and I had no issues at all with it.
The breakfast was really good with everything you would expect from a Scottish hotel. As well as the buffet you were able to order poached eggs, smoked haddock with poached eggs, all included in the price. Everything looked and tasted fresh. Service of the tea and coffee was very prompt.
I didn’t try the restaurant or the bar but the bar area certainly looked well stocked.
Check out was just as quick and friendly. I will definitely stay again on my return to Inverness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following arecent stay with us, I was so pleased that we ticked so many boxes for you and your kind words will be shared with all my team. I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Property: Columba Hotel, Inverness
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing