We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back again”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Date visited 27-28 Feb 2013
Beautifully hotel
Room 224
Booked a twin room, but when we got to the room it was a double. Phoned reception & were immediately upgraded to a triple room. I presume they had no twin rooms left, hence being given a double in the first place.
Free WiFi, given codes for each individual device. 1 worked the other didn't but reception delivered another code to our room immediately.
Large room & lovely bathroom.
I had a shower at 8pm that night & my friend had a bath. Plenty of hot water.
We were able to adjust (turn down) the heating in the room when we wanted to.
Beds were comfortable.
Quiet location.
Massive choice for the buffet breakfast & not just the full English.
We ate in the Ash restaurant which we stumbled across. Right outside the train station (10mins from hotel) Would highly recommend it. Eat before 6.30pm & get a beautiful 2 course meal for £6.95 (massive portions) 3 of us ate there with 5 drinks (alcohol) Total bill £42
Staff could not have been any more friendly or helpful.
Nowhere in the hotel did I come across anything that I would say could be described as dirty or unclean.
We booked on late rooms.com £50 for our room including breakfast for the both of us.
Fantastic experience overall, apart from the fact I was in Inverness for a funeral.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 224 no noise at all from outside & we were at the end of a corridor so no guest n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharronElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and your kind words will be shared with my team. It truly is a joy to hear that the hotel delivered everything you wanted. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Columba in the future. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    381
    297
    160
    113
See reviews for
130
599
54
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here through late rooms, wasn't expecting much but was really impressed!

I loved the decor! Fantastic room. Extremely clean and really lovely.

Breakfast was fantastic too.

We had room service which was prompt and ticked all the boxes.

Only problem was some pigeons in the roof which woke me, but that's not something I would mark the place down on. Parking close by and such a gorgeous view of the river. So pretty

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_jane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. What an absolute pleasure to read and thank you for your kind words. I know the team will be equally pleased to read such lovely feedback. Thank you and we really hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

windows need updated staff need more training need to try better to please customers .breakfast cold and thats just when put out at 7am .needing to train staff a bit better one member of staff tells u onething and the other tells u something els need training

Room Tip: get a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed our location and the cleanliness of our hotel, but I am sorry that we did not carry this through all aspects of your stay with us. Your feedback will be used to ensure we are continually improving on all aspects of our services. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With best regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on the 23rd of Feb 2013 for £60 for bed and breakfast and at that rate cannot fault it at all. The location is just perfect, so central. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate with a huge bed though there were only 3 pillows which was bit strange but not a problem at all, had we informed reception i am sure they would have given us another pillow. Breakfast was fine, I opted for a full cooked breakfast which is served buffet style,it was just a wee bit cold for my liking but tasty all the same. Overall a good nights stay and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that overall your enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words will be shared with my team. I am sorry for any shortcomings over the pillows and the breakfast buffet temperature, this will be addressed. I do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you back at the Columba soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Columba, great room and very friendly staff, lovely breakfast and a great location to the town centre. Very good price as well , rooms are adequate for what you need and pay, our room faced the back of the hotel which was quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasbabes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. What an absolute pleasure to read and I am so pleased we ticked all the right boxes. My team will be over the moon with your feedback. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to the Columba hotel. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great points:
1. This hotel is situated perfectly. Right on the River Ness and we got a room the window opened with a terrific view of the river and the castle
2. Excellent Italian joint

Good points:
1. Good service though we were in hotel just overnight, so can't exactly vouch for it

Bad points:
1. Being a typical Indian, was travelling with quite a heavy luggage. The way to my room was quite fascinating. First their lift is right at the back and opens on a floor different from the one I was staying on. So, first I walked a couple of steps, opened the fire escape, then walked a couple of steps down, then climbed quite a few stairs, another gate and voila!
2. Room floor was definitely slanted. I understand old style housing, but that was too much

Overall, loved my stay here due to the view. But, there are far better options at similar price points.

Room Tip: Insist upon a room with the view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitSarawgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and will share this valuable feedback with my team. I am sorry if you did not enjoy the location of your room and will take on board your comments. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. With best regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night on 02.02.13. Our room was fine, small but clean and warm. We had requested a room overlooking the river in our booking however ours looked out on to a skip! Not a big deal as we were only there one night but it would have been nice to have the request at least acknowledged. Can't comment on the breakfast as our booking was room only. What was great however was the excellent customer service we received on checking in, the receptionist was lovely and friendly (blonde, can't remember her name). All in all I would come back to this hotel for a night's stay but if I wanted a bit of luxury I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear we could not accommodate you in a Front facing room, we do get booked up in advance for these rooms and although we do try to accommodate all requests, sometimes it is not always possible especailly if guests have paid extra to secure them. I was pleased that the team looked after you and this will be an equal delight to the team. Please do contact us direct when you are next in the area and we will try our best to give you a River view. Warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Property: Columba Hotel, Inverness
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing