We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value hotel for a city centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columba Hotel, Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value hotel for a city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

satyed for two nights fantastic room and welcoming staff from the moment you walk in the door great location also a minute walk from the city centre and with front facing rooms an excellent view of the castle and riverfront will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_chef1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review on your recent stay. I was so pleased that it was an enjoyable one and I know my team will be equally delighted. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With kindest regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    372
    292
    159
    112
See reviews for
130
588
53
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
624 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a short trip to Scotland. We found the location to bed perfect, very close to all of the amenities and right on the river Ness even though we didn't have a room with a view. The wood panelling and tartan carpet certainly help you know you're in Scotland.
We the bed was two singles clipped together and one was soft and the other firm so that's wasn't ideal and the bathroom although clean and well equipped is small with the toilet too close to the wall and the bath very narrow that said for a sort stay it doesn't matter.
The breakfast was plentiful but is left out for a while so becomes dry and over cooked. The service was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for you recent review on Columba Hotel. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words will be shared with my team, who I know will be delighted. I hope we have the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With kindest regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our tour group spent 2 nights here in mid October. The hotel is an older building but had lots of charm,and a Scottish feel to it, exactly what we were looking for. Being an older building we did have to navigate several small stair cases with our luggage ... did not have direct elevator access to the floor our room was on. The location of this hotel was fabulous ... walking distance to wonderful shops and restaurants. Across the street, and river, beautiful Inverness Castle sits perched atop a hill. I would love to return and spend more time in this lovely town and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will share this with all the team. I do hope you will return soon and please feel free to call hotel direct to get a fabulous return rate. With kindest regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Though I was assured prior to reserving that the hotel bedding was non-allergenic, I found that the decorative bolsters on the bed were stuffed with feathers, the big clue was finding feathers on the carpet. All the rooms are similar, so, of course, the whole hotel was affected with feathers and their dust. I did take this issue up with the reception staff, one of whom, remembered my call requesting information. Reception placed the blame with housekeeping for not checking the day's bookings.

The room had an ensuite facility which was clean. The mattress on our bed was dreadful, we sank through to the base of the bed, which, at least, gave us some support. The view from the window was a wall. Our room was at the bottom of a short flight of stairs. The corridor decor had seen better days.

The hotel is very old and has many split levels and a number of narrow staircases. There is an elevator, but, it would not be very useful for a room situated up or down the staircases. The main benefit is location. The Columba Hotel is very central.

There is no parking at this hotel. On-street parking is available in nearby streets, though it is time restricted. I was advised that there is a public car park a block or so away that charges a 24 hour rate. There did not appear to be any special association with the car park mentioned or the hotel .

Breakfast arrangements were mediocre. We both chose scrambled egg and we both found large and small pieces of egg shell cooked in with the egg. The waiter was called and shown the quantities of eggshell on our small breakfast plates. He disappeared, we understood, to the kitchen. We received apologies and were offered fresh plates of breakfast. We declined.

Room Tip: This hotel may not be suitable for people with disabilities. The pro is the location of this estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts and comments on your recent stay with us. It is a great disappointment that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and I will ensure we use this valuable feedback to ensure we are continually improving on our services. With best regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Another great stay at the columba hotel in inverness, a beautiful view over looking the river ness and inverness castle is a must for anyone visiting inverness. The room was spotless well heated and the food and service by brian and his team in the bar was fantastic. A great central location and ideal for families, couples, business or single traveller.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on us. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed another good stay with us and your very kind words will be shared with all the team. I hope it is not too long before we can wlecome you back at The Columba. Best regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Isles
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently for a long weekend with my partner and young son. The central location seemed perfect, so thought we would give it a go. As mentioned previously there is no parking at this hotel. We did not find this to be a problem as there is a cheap carpark just down the road. On arrival the reception staff were courteous, but not over friendly. The hall decor was tatty and old fashioned. My first impression on entering our room was a large dirty mark on the wall and a strong smell of smoke, despite it being a non smoking room. The room was small but had everything you could need. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were terribly thin. The bathroom was tiny, just fitting the necessities in. There was no towel rail, the sink would not drain and the floor was dusty. However there were plenty of big towels, replaced daily. The tea tray resembled one you would find in a budget hotel. The window which was permanently full of condensation looked out on to a dirty alleyway. It was clear that the room was not hovered at all during our stay.
One good thing about this hotel was the staff at breakfast. They could not have been more helpful and cheery. However, the breakfast was average. On our final night we thought we would stay in and eat in the guest lounge. When my partner went down to reception to ask for a menu and to have our babies food heated, he was told it was against the hotels policy to heat baby food and that despite being told on arrival that we could eat in the lounge, we could not. Later in the evening when getting a drink from the rowdy public bar I was told that we could eat upstairs and that it would be no problem to heat the baby food. Strange!
When we went to check out, the reception staff were rude. They did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay, or wish us well on our trip.
All in all, the hotel was acceptable, but I will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on us. I am sorry that we did not meet all your expecatations and your constructive feedback will used to ensure we imporve on all our services and products. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Columba in the furture. With best regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

stayed here recently for a long weekend. the location is great, close to all amenities. Although the
hotel could do with fresh decoration the room was very comfortable, one thing to point out though was the double room was two single beds, but very comfortable. The staff were first class as was the food, at both breakfast and evening meal. We would recommend this hotel and would use it again if we returned to Inverness at anytime. The only reason for four star is the decoration in need of updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, Inverness, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Columba Hotel. I was pleased to read you had a good stay and your kind words will be shared with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel, Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Property: Columba Hotel, Inverness
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing