We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inverness Leisure

Inverness Leisure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inverness Leisure is the largest sports, leisure and recreation facility in the Highlands of Scotland. Welcoming over 1 million visitors every year it is a major attraction in this part of the world.Our facilities offer access to leisure waters with flumes, river and pool as well as a conventional 25 metre 8-lane competition pool. We also have excellent fitness facilities, with the largest studio programme in the north of Scotland supplying over 110 classes every week.Inverness Leisure also boasts two dedicated indoor climbing walls; one for bouldering and the other for lead climbing with some awesome overhangs. In addition, we have a large sports hall that accomodates 8 badminton courts or two football pitches.We can cater for major conferences or meetings and have excellent catering facilities which use local, ethically produced and Fair Traid products where possible.Come along and have a chat with one of our friendly team members who will be more than happy to show you around or give you some more information about Inverness Leisure.Fun|Friendly|Family|Fitness
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pricey, but Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is awesome!!!

Mr Roo and I were visiting my wee bro and his family this weekend up in Nairn and we headed here with my nephew for the afternoon.

Oh my word, this place is awesome!

Not only does it have a 25m competition pool, health suite, climbing wall, gym, courts and running track; they have a hilariously fun leisure pool, which is where we were.

Rapids, wave machine, baby pool and 3 flumes saw us all entertained for 2 and a bit hours (until a the Green Wrist Bands were called in).

I highly recommend the Nessie flume. The boys would disagree as apparently ones testicles end up somewhere around ones ears on this thing. It's essentially a vertical drop slide, that you do end up in mid air when you go over the bump at the start. My legs were like jelly when I came out it, and my brother and Mr Roo's voices had gone up an octave.

Great fun, £11.60 for Mr Roo and I 'for the baths', but it was worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Inverness Leisure and for your positive feedback on the facility - delighted you all enjoyed it.

If visiting again please bear in mind we have 3 happy hours in the week - Tuesday 1500 - 1600, Friday 1900 - 2000 and Sunday 1600 - 1700 when admission only costs 50p each!.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    21
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun family day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great time at the leisure pool during the hot weather. Staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly, and the variety of pools and activities were thoroughly enjoyed by my boys. We then played outside on the aqua wars, firing water balloons at each other via catapults. Left with huge smiles on their faces having had a brilliant time.

As with most swimming pools, it would have been good to have more family changing rooms and/or slightly larger cubicles. Had to change 3 of us in one tiny cubicle due to the family areas all being full. Didn't spoil it, but was a little claustrophobic given the heat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Inverness Leisure and for your positive feedback on water wars - it is certainly proving popular!

The Changing Village is due for refurbishment next year and we will be looking to increase on the provision of family cubicles as well as improving on air circulation.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I took my 3 year old and we enjoyed ourselves. As it has an outdoor pool you don't have to wait for a rainy day to visit.

The slides we very fast but the inflatable tires were more my thing.

The only downsides were slight mould on done of the ring floats and difficulty of hearing some of the announcements.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Inverness Leisure.

We are currently awaiting delivery of new rings and hope to replace all our current stock as soon as they arrive.

Your feedback on public announcements is noted and we will look to make improvements.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
269 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just right not too big not to small”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Something for everyone, we enjoyed great food, and fun in several pubs, the river walk was very nice, and relaxing, most people were fun and engaging not all. We did notice this is a dog loving country. Had a Good time, took some good photo's cab ride across town less than 10 dollars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hammerholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would be ok for somewhere with a smaller population, but no longer fit for purpose.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you arrive you'll notice that there are 6 disabled parking spaces, but only 10 parent and child spaces. These are the holy grail of parking so be prepared to park at the far end and walk with your toddler. The lack of family facilities continues in the swimming pool changing area. I love waiting around for one of the family changing rooms and its even more fun after you've been swimming, in the usually pretty cold pool, and are standing around wet and cold. I usually give up and get dried and dressed in a tiny cubicle with a 3 year old,It's great fun. The place is just too small to meet the demand and the rising population of Inverness. we could really do with another leisure centre being built on the other side of the town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Agric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness L, Guest Relations Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Inverness Leisure.

The ever growing population of Inverness and surrounding area does mean the facility gets very busy at times which, as is the case with any popular attraction, can lead to waiting time for various areas unfortunately.

There are plans to refurbish many areas of the facility over the next couple of years and we will certainly be looking to expand our provision of those areas required by families.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverness Leisure also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing