We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inverness Leisure

Inverness Leisure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inverness Leisure is the largest sports, leisure and recreation facility in the Highlands of Scotland. Welcoming over 1 million visitors every year it is a major attraction in this part of the world.Our facilities offer access to leisure waters with flumes, river and pool as well as a conventional 25 metre 8-lane competition pool. We also have excellent fitness facilities, with the largest studio programme in the north of Scotland supplying over 110 classes every week.Inverness Leisure also boasts two dedicated indoor climbing walls; one for bouldering and the other for lead climbing with some awesome overhangs. In addition, we have a large sports hall that accomodates 8 badminton courts or two football pitches.We can cater for major conferences or meetings and have excellent catering facilities which use local, ethically produced and Fair Traid products where possible.Come along and have a chat with one of our friendly team members who will be more than happy to show you around or give you some more information about Inverness Leisure.Fun|Friendly|Family|Fitness
Bexley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Leisure Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

While we were in Inverness I took the children to the Leisure Centre twice...they loved it.

There are 3 different water slides, a current stream area and much much more.

It was clean, great value and the staff there were very welcoming

Highly recommending

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind and positive review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Inverness Leisure - we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    21
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great value for money on the exclusive plan. Water temp was fine. Sadly no flume to take young children done like some other pools. Thankfully changing rooms have chairs for young children to sit in

Helpful?
Thank 2012mrsjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review Inverness Leisure. Not sure what time you came but our flumes are closed during school hours, but generally open after 4pm and at weekends (as well as Highland School Holidays). We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

For an all inclusive card you can get into classes swim until 10pm in competition pool and 8pm for fun pool. Sauna jacacuzzi until 10pm also the gym until 10pm fantastic :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahm767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - we are really pleased you think the facilities we offer are excellent value for money. To be honest...so do we :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of hassle but enjoyed it eventually!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent some time online trying to get information on visiting the Aquadome but failed to find any information about opening times, adult-child ratios etc.
I rang and was told about alternating features in the aquadome after 4pm as it was Scottish term-time (but not ours as visiting from elsewhere).
When we arrived, the lady on the desk wouldn't let us in as I had a 7 and 4 year-old with me (left husband at home working!). Left the centre with two crying children.
Luckily my Mum agreed to look after 1 child while I took the other. These rules are for safety reasons but there is no information on website or offered on the telephone about this.
The ratios don't apply at weekends. Luckily I was staying 5 minutes away.

Back to the Aquadome for the 2nd time and we had a good time. The outside pool was closed both times we visited but they enjoyed the flumes, waves and river rapids although staff forgot to switch on the rapids a couple of times when it was time.
The pools and atmosphere were warm, plenty of changing rooms and staff were friendly and polite.
No cafe , which for a place of this size is pretty poor.

The Aquadone is a fantastic facility but needs to be properly staffed to allow all features to be utilised and please update your website for potential visitors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarahnurse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review Inverness Leisure and we are glad that you eventually managed to enjoy the swimming facilities that we have.

All of the information is located on our website including information about our "Safety Admissions Policy", our "Opening Hours" and our "Price List". These can all be found under our FAQ tab on the website - sorry you didn't manage to find them before you can along as this would probably have prevented the disappointment for your children.

Sorry if you have received any misinformation or haven't been able to find the information on the website. We hope you will visit us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Swimming Pool - Aquadome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Entrance is very expensive. The changing area is never clean and very often smells. The bottom of the pool is slidy which i think is slime.
This pool is horrible and I dread taking my children.
Very poorly kept facility.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write your review. Sorry you feel we are expensive - however at Inverness Leisure we offer the High Life card (£17.50 per month individual or £25 per month per family - which includes 2 adults and as many children under 18 residing in the same household) offering access to Swimming Pools, Swimming Lessons, Gym, Climbing Wall, Running Track, 2 Dance Studios with over 110 classes per week along with after school activities and many other activities. We feel this price to access all of this cannot be matched anywhere in the UK.

We are sorry you feel our changing rooms are not to a high standard - i will make sure this is passed onto our Operations Management Team. In relation to your comments regarding the "slime" on the bottom of the pool - we can absolutely assure you this is not the case. Our pool water is regularly tested independently in laboratory conditions to ensure its quality and standard for our customers. We are very proud of our water quality and our Maintenance Team who maintain it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverness Leisure also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing