We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gask House Farm Cottages
Ranked #37 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent a weekend at Gask House, staying in the Clava Cottage. The accommodation is first class with tasteful decor and great furnishings, special mention for the huge comfortable bed. The kitchen is very well appointed and the best I've seen in a self catering facility. The location is brilliant for touring and also easy access to Inverness.
The cottages have a great relaxed feel with the McNicol Family( including Misty the Dog) hosting in a friendly and helpful way.
All the little differences which make the place special include the firewood for the wood burning stove,bread. milk, eggs and even a welcome cake along with free wi-fi, the blackboard with "what's on ", the list goes on.
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80HoopsMcCann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gask, Owner at Gask House Farm Cottages, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Week long family break at self-catering cottage 10mins drive from central Inverness. Warm welcome. Accommodation spacious modern spotless and well equipped - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We could not have expected or wanted better. Happy to recommend without reservation. Ideal base to explore the Highlands. A true home from home. We are sorry tobe departing but have many happy memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gask, Owner at Gask House Farm Cottages, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Here are the facts:
1. Beautiful surroundings which you can enjoy by walking through the farm's fields or from the stylish windows in your bedroom. (Genuinely one of the best places to wake up I have ever been)
2. Immaculate cottages and cleanliness.
3. Warm friendly hosts who are very helpful and delightful to chat to, but also manage to seemlessly give you your own personal space.
4. Breakfast is provided in your fridge (so much nicer than having it made for you at a specific time) and consists of home laid eggs from the resident chickens, local scottIsh bacon, an excellent selection of healthy cereals and homemade jam and bread.
5. Close but not too close to Inverness. Taxi is about £13.

I would definitely revisit this place and would highly recommend it to anyone who is planning on visiting the loch Ness / Inverness area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy951357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gask, Owner at Gask House Farm Cottages, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed Tordarroch cottage for your short stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

From the friendly email welcome when we booked, through the personal and thoughtful touches in the lovely accommodation, we had a great couple of days in our wee cottage. This was so much nicer than an impersonal hotel. Great views, the freedom to come and go as we pleased, a good welcome pack including homemade marmalade and free range eggs from the farm (delicious omelettes for breakfast!) and we were instantly relaxed. This was a great find and somewhere we would highly recommend and return to. It's great for kids too - sheep, lambs, chickens and shaggy highland cattle!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachcomber17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.1 mi away
Antfield House
Antfield House
#3 of 5 in Dores
104 reviews
5.3 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 231 in Inverness
777 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#17 of 231 in Inverness
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#4 of 231 in Inverness
410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 231 in Inverness
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#44 of 231 in Inverness
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gask House Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gask House Farm Cottages

Property: Gask House Farm Cottages
Address: Balnafoich Inverarnie | By Farr, Inverness IV2 6XG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gask House Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gask House Farm Holiday Cottages are situated in a beautiful rural setting in the Highlands of Scotland. A fifteen minute drive from Inverness city centre, Gask House Farm is a converted steading with three high quality, pet friendly self catering cottages for hire. This small farm is home to Highland cows, sheep and hens.  We are ideally situated for golfing, walking, whisky trails, mountain biking and winter sport breaks not to mention the chance to see Loch Ness, castles, distilleries and enjoy all the culture of the Highlands. Only fifteen minutes to Castle Stuart, 35 mins to Nairn Championship course and one hour to Royal Dornoch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gask House Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gask House Farm Cottages Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing