We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inverness Student Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
$311
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
49
62
42
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
62
42
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomcozy hostelcoffee and hot chocolatecommon areascity centrerooms are comfortableplace to staybedsloungebackpackersreceptionistmattress
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 176 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was in Scotland for the first time and by my self. I could not have hoped for a better welcome:) staff was so sweet and remembered me from the emails I had sent concerning booking. Rooms were nice and clean. Shower was a little small, but suited my needs. The common room was very cosy, people giving private concerts on the guitars. Good advice about places to see and pubs in town. Thank you all for a nice time in Inverness

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villemo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review!

We certainly try and give everyone a warm welcome & aim to make it a friendly, sociable and comfortable place for groups and solo travellers to relax in - so we truly appreciate such wonderful feed back, especially in the height of Summer.

You'll be very welcome back any time and we were very lucky to have such talented guests who were musicians passing through who could entertain us all with their playing. Live music is always welcome and appreciated!

Thanks again and hope the rest of your travels are going as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

a bit more basic than some other hostels I have stayed in, but very nice. common areas are well used so easy to meet other people, bathrooms are a bit small and iffy and showers weren't super hot, but rooms are all nice and the staff are friendly. recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

I'm sorry to hear that the showers weren't super hot whilst you were here - we've just had the boiler serviced and replaced recently so it is in working order - unfortunately we must have had guests having super long showers and a full house - so I do apologise for that.

We're certainly an old building and are getting a paint job as soon as things get quieter after the Summer madness, so hopefully if we see you again we'll be looking a lot fresher after a lick of paint!

Thanks again for your review - all feedback is certainly acted upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Third hostel we've stayed in on our trip so far, and by far the friendliest! Staff are wonderful (especially Paul!) and provided us with a warm welcome. Made new friends within five minutes and learned all the best places to go in the area from knowledgeable locals. Thumbs up and woo hoo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorythegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

So glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves - Paul is certainly a welcoming face when you first come in for sure!
Hope the rest of your travels go as well as the start and you'll be welcome to return for another visit when ever the opportunity arises.
Thanks for giving us such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had everything to be expected from a hostel. Clean rooms and facilities were sufficient. Kitchen was somewhat cramped but areas to store your food labelled in baskets. Location and parking were fine and close to town centre. We used the hostel as a base to drive around Loch Ness and so it was comfortable. The 6 bed dorm was quite small and got very warm at night, although we were there during a heat wave! No major negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyp137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write us a review.
It certainly was delightfully unusual weather for us up here - infact it still is.
Thankfully we're getting a wee bit more wind - so it helps to keep the rooms cooler with the windows open.

Our kitchen certainly is 'cosy & intimate' as we like to refer to it!
We'll hopefully see you back up in Inverness some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have been here a couple of times with a group. Each time we've been welcomed warmly by staff, who remember who you are throughout your stay and if you return. They're always quick and ready to help and are so friendly and social. The atmosphere is amazingly friendly, and even a shy person like me can feel totally at home in a room full of people they don't know.

Plenty of spaces to sit, arranged to allow easy conversation in a group or with another guest. Kitchen is small comparative to the number staying, but everyone is so courteous and friendly, it's actually a fun experience to cook in it! And your food is safe. We've never found any of our food to have been taken.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the beds are named so you know where you're sleeping! The bed's are lovely and comfortable and I've always had great nights there. The whole place is clean and pleasant, and I would never hesitate for a place to stay in Inverness, it's my first choice.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank aislingg171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Aisling - we'll be looking forward to welcoming you back again on the next visit when ever that may be.

Thanks so much for giving us such positive feed back - we really appreciate it - especially in the Summer months when things can be so busy.

Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews