We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless Service and beds”

Eastgate Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastgate Backpackers Hostel
Inverness
1 review
“Hopeless Service and beds”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Service - not helpful, reception is closed more than opened, can be abrupt, wasnt helpful when turned up at wrong time
Beds - some bunks were held together with electrical ties, others had no bottom legs and were sitting on floor
Sinks in room out of use

Whole hostel could do with a little more love and care

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpherson_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    9
    8
    18
See reviews for
1
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I turned up at 8 pm in Inverness, looking for somewhere cheap to stay, and was glad just to be certain of finding a bed without too much phoning around.

It's in the middle of the city, about five minutes walk from the Ness bridge, close to the main shops. The reception is on the 2nd floor, with other dorms on the 3rd floor (I'm from the UK - the entrance is ground, not 1st floor). Staff are reasonably friendly, if sometimes a little busy. Forget about any twin rooms unless you book ages in advance, but there are quite a few 6-bed dorms which are OK. Decor is your standard hostel style, as are the bunk beds - I've seen better and I've also seen worse, but for 12 pounds for a night's sleep it' all seems fairly priced.

Not somewhere I'd race to go back, but if you're watching the pennies and are arriving in town late in the day, it'll do for a night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed in hostel for 3 nights with my partner and best friend. Hostel in an excellent location and good price. Hostel needing a good clean though, not great when you need to pull hair out the plughole! Beds not the most comfortable and rooms were a bit hot especially after a big sesh the night before!

Would recommend to those wanting to travel or stay in the "Ness on a budget.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Littleroundone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The first impression was bit shabby, clean beds though. The cartoons on the doors made up for the lack of communication amongst guests. The kitchen and the bathrooms needed some attention from the cleaners. Staff was friendly but rather incompetent. Only for hardcore backpackers. Take care with the steps.

  • Liked — cartoons
  • Disliked — dirty kitchen
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joss36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

A bit hard to find if driving - I'd recommend getting out & following directions from train station!! Staff were a bit standoffish, but still helpful. Nice rooms, great location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — standoffish staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jemkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2003

had a great time at this hostel,the staff were fantastic,helpfull and knew all the best places to go.The rooms were clean,the kitchen spotless and the lounge just right.They have great paintings on the walls representing different countrys...definitly the place to stay in inverness.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 25, 2003

An OK. hostel... Just very creepy sleeping arrangements. The hostell was rather full, and as I was travelling solo I ended up in the same room with the manager, on a bunkbead. Which was apparently broken. A replacement bed was soon brought in. That meant that I slept for 2 whole nights in the same, queen sized bed WITH the manager. Thank goodnes he & I both had some sense of humour...

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Black Isle Rooms
#29 of 43 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#212 of 229 in Inverness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Backpackers Inverness
0.1 mi away
Inverness City Suites
Inverness City Suites
#4 of 43 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastgate Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Backpackers Hostel

Property: Eastgate Backpackers Hostel
Address: 38 Eastgate, Inverness IV2 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Eastgate Backpackers Hotel Inverness
Eastgate Backpackers Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing