We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and stylish home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trafford Bank Guest House
Ranked #19 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NZ and London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant and stylish home”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lorraine has a beautiful home and we were made to feel very welcome there. We stayed in the Trafford Suite, and enjoyed the lovely comfortable bed, stylish furniture and facilities. Location was ideal - an easy walk to the town centre, but also just a few minutes away from the Caledonian Canal. If we'd had more time, we'd have loved to do the walk down to where the canal meets the sea.
Lorraine puts on a lovely breakfast - I can recommend the porridge - and includes fresh home-baked scones, a different recipe every day. We really enjoyed our stay here, so much so that we felt tempted to move to Inverness and buy the house up the road!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetenCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
263
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely welcome and good explanation of facilities and public areas. Room very nice and very comfortable, again good attention to detail. Free standing cabinet and unsecured basin furniture a bit tricky!! Lovely breakfast, nice atmosphere!

Room Tip: Good quality guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs030cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for our second night in inverness, as Lorraine could only give us the one night. The interior decorations in both our room an the public places is modern and appealing. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great sleep as it was also very quiet.
The delicious breakfast was served in a recently added sunroom, surrounded on three sides by a beautiful garden.
Next time we will book well in advance to ensure we can stay longer!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This house is historical and lovingly restored with a high degree of attention paid to all details. The breakfast room surrounded by glass and looks on to a truly lovely garden. The guest rooms are beautifully decorated with modern en suites. I only wish it was located a little closer to the town center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
399 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Lorraine you have done a great job, we enjoyed our stay immensely , lovely setting and detail was great. Breakfast was fantastic, only comment was the shower in the Tartan room was a tad small for a tall person. Loved our stay. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had 1 night in Inverness unfortunately (end of trip) and our Travel Agent booked us into Trafford Bank Guest House, which we LOVED. Lorraine was friendly and informative and the House is beautiful, wonderfully decorated with a little bit of whimsy. I seriously loved pretty much all of the Art throughout the house and I think my husband was ready for me to shut up about how much I loved everything. She gave us some helpful suggestions for dinner as well. Our room and bed was super comfy, the most comfortable bed we've slept in for our entire trip and there were many thoughtful touches throughout the room and house. Our breakfast the next morning was seriously delicious and once again, I loved all the pottery she used, it was the prettiest set table. Coffee was delicious, breakfast as well. We sat in the 3 season room overlooking the garden and then unfortunately we had to leave to catch our train. Lorraine called us a cab that arrived promptly and we chatted with her a bit before we left as well. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it. The walk to downtown was about 15 minutes, straight shot, no hills. It was very easy to get around and I would definitely say a convenient location. We took a cab home because of the rain and I believe it was 5 pounds if you choose not to walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Trafford Bank guest house on the first night of our honeymoon in the Highlands last night and would certainly recommend it to anyone. We stayed in the Tartan Room and found it well proportioned and with a fantastic en-suite. Lorraine made us feel very welcome and Breakfast was absolutely tremendous. There were a host of touches that made the stay so special. You won't find many better B&Bs in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
1.0 mi away
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Bank Guest House

Property: Trafford Bank Guest House
Address: 96 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trafford Bank Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 Trafford Bank was the house sof the BIshop of Moray and Rosshire. A Boutique style guest house full of orignal art and local pottery and furniture. 5 ensuite double rooms furnished to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Trafford Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Bank Guest House Hotel Inverness
Trafford Bank Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing