We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trafford Bank Guest House
Ranked #19 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The B and B was very nice, and the rooms were modern and clean. Lorraine even let us store our luggage as we were traveling on our check out day. The breakfast was nice, and my porridge was fantastic.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Maxito968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night on a whirlwind tour of the Highlands. Lorraine was awesome--making our dinner reservations and the best bowl of "porridge" I've ever tasted the next morning. Room was absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Trafford Suite was perfect for our family of four. Children ages 12 & 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very nice B & B with a nice quiet location yet a short walk to the center of town. The owner was very nice and the breakfast was superb. The room was very clean and nice too. Inverness was a nice base for exploration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband, son and I just finished a four day stay at Trafford Bank. This is a B&B with a real difference. In fact it is far more than a B&B, it strikes the perfect balance between being a home away from home in terms of the comforts provided and with just the right air of elegant charm about it to make your holiday seem special. We had the Green Room and the Tartan room. The rooms were not very large, but because space has been optimally utilised, they were very comfortable indeed. Every possible comfort that could possibly be provided was there - including a Nespresso machine! The decor was outstandingly charming, a perfect showcase to Scottish art and decor. The bathroom of the Green Room has a charming skylight giving it a really quaint touch. The toiletries provided were top notch.
There are two beautiful and comfortable lounges for guests, with all kinds of entertainment options available - from a big DVD collection to the latest magazines. The lounges look out directly to the beautiful and lovingly tended to garden.
The owner Lorraine, puts together a wonderful breakfast as well for guests. The choice is very varied. As vegetarians, we did not feel that we got the short end of the stick, there was ample choice. The breakfast table was thoughtfully and elegantly laid, with the most charming crockery used. It was truly an outstanding breakfast served in a lovely light filled, glass walled breakfast room.
Trafford bank is located on a quiet and peaceful road, just a ten minute walk from the centre of town.
This is not a B&B that is run like a business enterprise. This is Lorraine's much loved and cared for home and one has the privilege of being a guest here. Lorraine herself is extremely helpful and attentive to her guests. We have traveled all over Europe and stayed in several such establishments and Trafford Bank clearly rates as amongst the very best. The rave reviews on tripadvisor are all well founded.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Trafford Bank for three nights as part of an anniversary trip. We loved everything about our stay. Lorraine has decorated each beautiful room with her own artistic talent, displaying works by local craftsmen and artists. Our room, the Tartan room, was immensely comfortable and charming, with warm soft blankets and a decanter of sherry and shortbread always waiting for us on our return. Lorraine's breakfasts are superb, particularly her homemade scones and her fresh fruit salad and some of the most delicious toast we've ever tasted. (She gets the bread from a local bakery, a friend of hers.) She also provided the most delicious hard candy that was a particular favorite of my husband; during the rest of our trip in Scotland, he kept looking for "Lorraine's candy." (Couldn't find it!) Lorraine made dinner reservations for us at two of her favorite restaurants, both of which we loved and were in the town center, an easy and enjoyable walk from Trafford Bank. I haven't even mentioned the lovely gardens and beautiful breakfast room, from where you can watch the many songbirds feeding at Lorraine's feeders. (She even provides bird books for birdwatchers!) In short, this is the perfect place to stay in beautiful Inverness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Trafford Bank Guest House. The only thing missing was more time to spend in our lovely appointed room with all the extras. We've only stayed in Hotel's before and this was our first try at a B&B, but we definately set the bar high now as we're spoiled now. The owners thought of all the little extra's and were very accommodating. Worth every penny of the price. We will definately stay here again when we come to town. We traveled from Houston, TX to enjoy the hospitality of Inverness and this was a bright spot of our stay. Quiet location, great bed, great food! Loved it!

Room Tip: I don't think any room would be bad....they all will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSmith214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed May 13-16 and wish we were still there. We stayed in The Green Room and just loved it. Comfortable bed, super warm bed covers, the best little shortbreads and great breakfast. Lorraine was more than accommodating, fixing breakfast early if you were off on a tour or even a quick breakfast on morning of an departure. The selection of breakfast foods was amazing too. You almost couldn't try everything :) The walk to town isn't bad and easy to find. The décor was truly unique. We found something new and interesting every time we walked in to a room. The little pottery toast racks on the breakfast tables were a personal favorite and Lorraine was quick to point out The Castle Gallery where they were purchased. All and all, so happy with our choice and stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#16 of 36 in Inverness
393 reviews
4.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#13 of 36 in Inverness
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Bank Guest House

Address: 96 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $109 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trafford Bank Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 Trafford Bank was the house sof the BIshop of Moray and Rosshire. A Boutique style guest house full of orignal art and local pottery and furniture. 5 ensuite double rooms furnished to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Trafford Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Bank Guest House Hotel Inverness
Trafford Bank Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing